We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights after a Safari in the North of the country and it was a welcome of luxury!
The staff were all very welcoming and helpful upon our arrival. We had a Piaza facing room and it was beautiful. Such a well looked after hotel, I really liked the decor.
The daily breakfast was a great way to start the day with great views of table mountain.
Perfect location for getting around the waterfront without having to get taxis or drive.
I loved our 3 days here and would recommend this place for short stays in cape town.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wils87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 533 of 1 617 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Perfect central location for discovering Cape Town and its surrounds. Our organiser Sandie from Destinations Africa planned an ideal 4 days. V&A exceeded our expectations for service and quality. What a spectacular view of table mountain from our rooms.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay196552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I'm normally a person who likes to stay in-town, however for Cape Town this was a terrific location as a home base for 5 days. The hotel services -- from the fabulous Matthys at the front desk to the restaurant staff and porters -- were AMAZING. The hotel is a 50 Rand ($5-ish) ride from the center of town. Our room was pin-drop quiet, even facing the front street (versus the other side which faced the water and Table Mtn.).

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank ChristineNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I stayed with my wife in a entry level room which are the loft rooms situated on the 3rd floor. Perhaps this was just a problem with the loft rooms but there was a lot of noise. Anytime someone walked passed our room you could hear their footsteps as if the door was open. Hotel staff barged in unannounced quite regularly, we made it a habit to make sure the door stopper/chain was on. It just wasn't 5 star in my opinion, I felt like i was in a nice motel. Honestly, besides from the great location I wouldn't stay at this hotel again especially for the rates they charge, I'd rather walk a bit more.

Room Tip: Don't get the loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duhyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This was an excellent first hotel stop for us after our long flight from the USA! very warm and welcoming from everyone! the location, the location, the location is the best of cape town!!! the rooms are more like suites with an exceptional view of table mountain and the water front area! we always felt very safe and the hospitality was top notch!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelleOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 447 reviews
0,1 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
754 reviews
1,1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
0,3 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 384 reviews
2 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 501 - R 5 327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing