We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$283
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
153
238
57
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
238
57
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompany gardensdistrict museumlong streettable mountaincentral locationgreen marketwithin walking distancedirect accessjunior suitesingle roomcomfortable bedparking garagedecent hotelgreenmarket squarethe hotel is cleanper dayafter dark
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

WONDERFUL Hotel Selected by GATE 1 TRAVEL - great location with a better than average staff, support, food and amenities.

While traveling in a tour, one does not have the selection process as everything is chosen by your tour company.

GATE 1 TRAVEL Always Has Exceeded Oue Expectations . . .

Room Tip: All was arranged for us and with great care to ensure a wonderful experience.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline967, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Charlie,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team made a good impression on you. We trust that when next in the Mother City, Townhouse would be your hotel of choice on your next trip; we certainly look forward to having you back with us soon.

Wishing you a lovely day ahead.

Kind regards,

Jacqui Williams - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with all amenities you can expect from a city hotel. Doing well to provide good service in a city challenged by drought. The location is great for doing business in the City Bowl. Great views of Table Mountain from the hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Monde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline967, Owner at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Monde,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes, with the drought we are doing all we can to help save our much needed water supply as best and as far as we can. Luckily we have been blessed with good rainfalls over the last week☺

We trust that this was not your last visit to the Mother city and that Townhouse would be your hotel of choice on your next trip; a return visit would be most welcomed.

Wishing you a superb day ahead.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

The location of this hotel makes it ideal if you want to explore the inner city of Cape Town. The hotel is within easy walking distance form the old Town Hall, the Fort, The slave lodge, Grootte kerk, Houses of parliament, the historic gardens, the natural and arts museums and the St Georges Cathedral and also Long street and Green Market square. The food at breakfast is good, but dinner takes a long time to be prepared until Sheree the manager on duty intervened. The rooms differ in views and sizes and fixtures.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the mountain. Definitely not room 810.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kdgarlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline967, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear kdgarlipp,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team made a positive impression on you. We are passionate about service delivery and strive daily to offer the highest quality services to our guests. Feedback such as yours confirms that we are still on the right track.

We trust this has not been your last to the Mother city and that Townhouse would be your hotel of choice on your next trip; we certainly look forward to having you back with us in the not too distant future.

Wishing you a delightful day ahead.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We spent 2 nights in this very nice and super located Hotel. The staff was very friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is super. At night you can spend your time at the Bar enjoying Drinks and good Food.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sarahvalerie177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Cape Town after a long 12-hours flight. I was not feeling well and the thought of having to wait another couple of hours for check in time was something I was looking forward. Even though we arrived earlier than check in time the front desk person didn't hesitate to check us in and send us our way to our room. The room was big and comfortable. Really liked the decoration (the books gave it a more personal touch). The queen sized bed was really two fulls put together. We didn't mind, others might. Nice big and comfortable bathroom. Happy to see the many reminders to save water. Felt good to be able to be part of the effort, even by doing something as simple as collecting gray water as we shower (in under 3 minutes). The breakfast menu had plenty of options. Liked that we could order eggs to be cooked as per our request. This hotel is not near the more touristy area (near the Victoria & Alfred pier). We took an Uber and in less than 15 minutes we were there (not expensive to Uber in this town). If you are looking for a hotel in the epicenter of the touristy area, this might not be the place for you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriela-EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqueline967, General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Gabrielamori,

What a pleasure to receive such positive feedback! We are truly delighted to hear that you had an excellent experience at The Townhouse and very, very happy to hear that the team were able to meet and exceed your expectations☺

We trust that when next in Cape Town, we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back home☺ A return visit would be lovely!

Wishing you a perfectly pleasant day further.

Kind regards,

Jacqui Williams - General Manager
Team Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews