We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
160
248
58
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
248
58
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews company gardens district museum table mountain long street within walking distance central location nice hotel green market comfortable bed junior suite business district direct access parking garage single room rooms are small greenmarket square per day
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

This has to be the best modern furnished bedroom we have stayed in for a long time. Great design bathroom. Staff are helpful and a good choice of food for breakfast. If only the hotel was nearer to the V&A Waterfront it would be perfection

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaida R, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Marilyn B,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

What a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope your next trip to Cape Town will see you back at the Townhouse?
A return visit would be lovely.

Wishing you a pleasant day ahead.

Kind regards

Jacqui Williams - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We spent 5 nights here. The hotel is right in the centre of the city, excellent for exploring the city on foot with restaurants, shops etc all nearby - better for us than staying at the smart tourist hotels by the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. The room was standard and had all we needed plus a lovely view of the mountains.The service was outstanding, helping us whenever we had a question. The Trees restaurant was very good too - we had the pre-theatre menu twice: great value and quiet. We would definitely use this hotel again

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaida R, PA to the General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear GBeef,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. What a pleasure to hear that you had a good stay over and found our property and services satisfactory. Like you said, although we are not situated in the Waterfront, we are centrally located in the City and this in itself is a gem as we are situated in the city's arts and culture precinct, which has for the last two years mushroomed substantially with coffee shops, art galleries and various other places and businesses of interest.

We thank you for your loyalty in confirming that you will definitely return to Townhouse again in the future☺

Wishing you a lovely day further.

Kind regards,

Jacqui Williams - General Manager
Team Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We stayed 4 nights at the Townhouse Hotel. It was located near the flower and street markets as well as Common gardens and museums. Rooms were large with a large bathroom. There is a severe water shortage going on it Cape Town so this hotel is taking many steps to conserve water. There was a 5 gallon bucket in the shower to collect excess water from showering, that water was used to water outside plants and trees. Staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast service was good for the buffet, but service was poor for our goodbye dinner on our last night. WiFi was very good and large desk area was very nice. Good place to stay

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I stayed for a three day business trip booked by my hosts for its nearby location. It is very comfortable, a proper desk to work at, nice view over the back of Table Mountain when it is not under cloud. But the restaurant menu was a bit pricey and limited, and its location is not great for alternative dining. With the city's anti-crime programme it is perfectly safe to walk 4 or 5 blocks toward the main commercial area but plan where to go in daylight hours so that you are sure of where to go and do it with purpose. I was very pleased to see that they were very pro-active with the drastic water shortage -- positively encouraging guests to save water and only changing towels and linen every 2nd day.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cameronbrisbane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaida R, other at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Mr Brisbane,

Thank you for your time offered assisting with feedback on your last stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your constructive feedback on our Menu pricing - this information was shared with our Executive Chef for review.

We trust this has not been your last visit to the Mother city and that Townhouse would be your hotel of choice on your next trip. We certainly look forward to having you back with us in the not too distant future.f

Wishing you a delightful day further.

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Townhouse is a friendly, very clean and modern place to stay in a central Cape Town area. Rooms are of proper size, modern and very clean.
Very good breakfast in a nice and big room. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
If you come by car, parkade is directly located next to the hotel and be accessed directly from the hotel; please advise if you require a parking lot and you receive proper information how to use the parkade and how to open the gate with your smartphone - quite comfortable!

All in all a very good and valuable place to stay and even to relax. Will definitely come back next time.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 8UnknownStuntmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaida R, PA to General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Good day,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback given.

We are happy to hear that your overall experience at the Townhouse Hotel was a positive one.

The staff are passionate about service delivery and will be excited to hear that they left a memorable impression on you and that they were able to assist you with your requests.

Thank you for the feedback on our parking app it is great to know that you were able to use it with ease.

We trust that when next in Cape town, Townhouse would be your hotel of choice as it would be wonderful to have you back.

Wishing you a splendid day further,

Kind Regards,

Zaida Rhodes - PA to General Manager

Team Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews