We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Service”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #52 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2017

My mother and I stayed here during our stay in Cape Town and I have to admit I was more than pleasantly surprised. I was not expecting too much considering the price and some of the other reviews, however our suite on the second floor was spacious with an outstanding balcony and views of Table Mountain. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating to us, and the facilities were clean and well located. We did find the bathtub in the middle of the room a bit uhm "odd" but other than that everything was very good for what we paid. I would definitely stay again if work or play ever bring me back to Cape Town.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank mckan514w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Last minute booking in CPT during peak season, so I didn't have a lot of options and chose this simply because it was one of a few available. Not in the most picturesque place in Cape Town, but was a surprisingly comfortable stay. Food at the restaurant was spectacular!!

There was a dumb Afrikaans guy at reception who couldn't understand anything but once he was replaced, everything went smoothly. Will likely repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ndgonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 3 nights. The hotel is in the business centre of Cape Town - near a few tourist hot spots and a 10 minute taxi ride to the V&A. We stayed on two separate occasions on B&B and found that both our rooms where clean, modern and a good size (and very comfy beds!) ..... Our only negative was that the bathrooms where just a little odd! In both rooms we stayed in there were no privacy to the toilet or shower. The walls / door were frosted and the sliding door didn't close all the way across leaving quite a large gap between the rooms and toilet. Just a small negative as it might not be to everyone's taste!
However All in all we had a lovely stay and I would just like to add a big thank you to Tracey on reception who was very friendly and helpful in telephoning our not so great tour provider on more than one occasion !!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed for three nights at the Townhouse Hotel. We preferred the Townhouse location to being at the V & A waterfront. The waterfront is definitely worth visiting but we would not want to have stayed there since in our view it is a little bit out on a limb.
The Townhouse is a good hotel, very comfortable lounge area, restaurant was good for dinner as well as breakfast. Our room was comfortable although a little on the small size but we were not spending much time in our rooms. The staff were very helpful. Would be happy to return to this hotel. Also taxi's are inexpensive as long as you choose one with a meter.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank terenzio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaida R, PA to the General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Terenzio 22,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Wishing you a pleasant day ahead.

Kind regards,

Zaida Rhodes - PA to the General Manager

on behalf of

Team Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Greeting was good, refreshing drink on arrival & room was very comfortable (11th floor) & quiet.Breakfast was a grand affair with a huge selection of fresh fruits, muesli as well as cold , meats ( if that is your thing in the mornings ), also cooked options on order.
Location to the cities attractions is also good, walking distance to many. A good guide is in the Hotel.

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaida R, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Mr Eric

Thank you for your feedback offered. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team made a positive impression on you, in particular Ruby, our Guest Relations Manager. Your kind compliments was conveyed to her and received with a huge smile:)

We trust this has not been your last visit to the Mother city and that Townhouse would be your hotel of choice on your next trip; we certainly look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Wishing you a pleasant day ahead.

Kind regards,

Zaida Rhodes
PA to the General Manager

on behalf of

Team Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 112 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 086 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 982 - R 2 863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 107 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel is a attractive 12 story hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town
Townhouse Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing