We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A h brits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on St Georges
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel in Cape Town.
They need to fire al there management and start again.
Can one off the board members contact us.
Aircons not working.
Lifts not working.
Management very poor .
They chased us away at
Midnight because off there aircons not working

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is quite lovely, but also clearly 50 years old. Well maintained and clean, but feels like a set piece from a film. The lifts are cluttery and clangy and stop on odd floors, the windows don't open at all and the interior is dark. Also can't park your own car - only valet parking and a handy note lets you know that they don't take responsibility for the car once the valet has it? (Odd) The location is a dream and the breakfast was lovely, but the stay itself was decidedly odd.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tiaan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel between dates 23-26 November for holiday. It has very good location close to Long street but you can not walk around hotel in the evenings. Rooms are clean but furnitures and bath needs renovation. Elevator was a little bit crazy, always stops at 7th floor. Ideal for low budget holidays with not much expectacy

Stayed: November 2017
Thank ardrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

When you enjoy travelling the world, sometimes one hotel can look very much like the next. We checked into this modest three star establishment on November 3rd for a three might stay before flying back to the UK. On the day before we were due to fly,we were on a tour of the peninsula when I was taken severely ill with a heart attack. I was whipped into the Christiaan Barnard Memorial Hospital where I was stabilised then given an angiogram which revealed a triple bypass was necessary. My wife, meantime, was stuck in the hotel, not knowing where to go or what to do. For three weeks, the staff and management of The Hotel on St Georges could not have been better. My wife was given every assistance and staff cared for her every day. They gave her a special room rate and even moved her to a large corner room with a view of Table Mountain because they felt we might ned the extra space when I finally emerged from hospital. When I did return to the hotel, everyone was welcoming and concerned for me. Hotels can often be impersonal places with little contact between staff and guest. The Hotel on St Georges is a shining example of what we might all hope for in an emergency and I will never forget what they did for us.
Apart from that special report, the hotel is clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts, served downstairs in a linked establishment is good fresh and varied. Some might call the room decor 'dated', but I would prefer to say that it is perfectly serviceable with a nice traditional feel - a change from the glitzy and ultra modern! The location in the centre of town is good - very close to the train station, not too far from the hoho bus office and handy for the V & A Waterfront - oh yes, and the hospital!

Room Tip: corner room 619 is a cracker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We visit Cape Town regularly and this is the second time we have visited this hotel. It never disappoints us. Staff are always attentive and professional. It may be a little tired in places but the rooms are of good size with a comfortable bed and sufficient en suite. There is a safe in the room where you can set up your own combination code. The Hotel on St George’s is good value for money in a city that has high prices at the height of the tourist season. Breakfast is served on the lower floor of the hotel and has a fine choice that should suit all tastes. The warnings about drawing money from ATM’s applies to all hotels in the city area at night. Common sense is necessary here, as with any city in the world. A taxi to the lively V&A Waterfront, with its huge choice of restaurants, bars and shops is really worth the effort. A taxi fare is around R50-R75 but the reception staff will advise. We always use Unicab where we can. One feature we love is the free parking for guests. The hotel staff will park your car for you in a secure area. When you want to go out they deliver back to the front of the hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jezza321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,5 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0,5 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
0,3 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#55 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,1 km away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#87 of 112 in Cape Town Central
557 reviews
0,5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
860 reviews
0,8 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on St Georges

Address: St Georges Mall | cnr Riebeek St, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 868 - R 1 513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel on St. George’s is conveniently located on the foreshore, the major hub of Cape Town’s legal, financial and publishing district. This location enjoys the convenience of being a few minutes’ walk from Cape Town CBD, Cape Town International Convention Centre and the world renowned V&A Waterfront and 22 kilometers from Cape Town International Airport. The Hotel offers affordable accommodation as well as a trendy Nail Salon less than 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel backed by a professional and dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Cape Town
St Georges Hotel Cape Town
Hotel St Georges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing