We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location near V&A Waterfront”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this a very comfortable hotel in a great location within easy walking distance of the V&A Waterfront. Friendly and attentive staff. We did found the air conditioning in our room noisy, however.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1 384 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We asked our travel agent to find us somewhere within walking distance from the V&A waterfront and this location was ideal. The room was a good size, clean and well furnished, the only down sides were that it overlooked a building site and was above the service entrance. Early of a morning the staff could be heard taking a break below our room. On our arrival after a long flight we sampled the hotel restaurant, which was fine. The pool was only open for a few hours of an afternoon due to the severe water shortage being experienced by South Africa at the moment, but that did not detract from our stay. The bar served excellent margaritas!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the building site to the rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactusjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reception staff not friendly, the room was great, nice bathroom with white decor, room balcony full of crouch, great location with short waking to V&A waterfront. Breakfast was great, varieties. A bit over price.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thanchanok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented.

Please be assured that this is not the Standard of Service we pride ourselves in, and it is hoped that this experience does not tarnish your impression of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Regards



Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Commodore recently for three days, I enjoyed the location and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. On my first night I had an old air conditioner unit at the foot of the bed and the noise level ensured that I had no sleep. The next morning I requested a different room and was moved to a room where there was an updated air conditioner unit. Given the price of the room there is an expectation that the amenities are at an acceptable level, ensure if your air conditioner is 'loud' request to be moved so you will get a better night sleep.

Room Tip: review the air conditioner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna201627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Commodore can be a reasonably good business hotel but I will not recommend it for family holiday. Though I must say that the location is good. Very close to Cape town water front. Hotel restaurant is average with not so variety. But it is not a major problem as you get number of restaurants at the water front mall. My major dissatis faction was the unfriendly staff. I fell sick at mid night and had to rush to the hospital. I requested the the hotel to arrange a transport and charge it to my hotel bill as I had no cash at that point in time. But the staff insisted that I visit the ATM to withdraw cash and pay the taxi. They insisted despite seeing me that I was under severe pain. This was the worst experience I had during my many years of travelling and hotel stay. May be the particular staff was not trained properly. I don't want to blame the staff. But request hotel management to arrage proper customer service training for the staff.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chandan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented.

Please be assured that this is not the Standard of Service we pride ourselves in, and it is hoped that this experience does not tarnish your impression of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Regards



Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,3 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
0,1 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
806 reviews
0,2 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
0,9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
1,3 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 513 - R 4 804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing