We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Days in Cape Town”
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Commodore
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. We had an executive room with a small balcony on the fifth floor with a wonderful view over Table Mountain. The room was always kept clean and there is a tuck down service with their own branded chocolates.

The concierge and reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

The free parking in our package included valet service which was useful for us as we had a mobility scooter. The staff always helped us to take the scooter in and out of the car.

The breakfast was excellent with a very large choice. We also had a few evening meals which were also very good and reasonably priced. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 1 382 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017

We stayed for four days at this hotel- ideally situated near the V& A Waterfront
The staff were attentive and efficient, the breakfast was buffet and a wide selection.
Our room on the third floor was at the front and suffered from road traffic noise-but it was not that bad.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back( not the front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Cape Town is amazing. Waterfront area is popular. The Commodore hotel is taking advantage of it ...especially if you stupid enough for booking 5 days nonrefundable and through Agoda! Value for money is poor! Parking and breakfast are excellent. Tiny rooms. Old noisy air conditioners. And once problems occurred.... don't expect any understanding from reception and management. they offered us (after non sleeping night), a smaller room for the 2nd night with no apology, and the rest 3 nights, additional of 1500 R per night for a superior room. Pls think again before committing yourself for this hotel!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Momi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented.

Please be assured that this is not the Standard of Service we pride ourselves in, and it is hoped that this experience does not tarnish your impression of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Regards



Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had four nights in the commodore at the end of march our room was on floor 6, we had a small balcony with a view over table mountain, the constant shrieking of the seagulls made it impossible to have the patio doors open for long, the noise could be heard throughout the night as well (seagulls don't sleep). Our room was nice with a spacious shower and all the amenities you would expect.
Breakfast was great with a chef cooking eggs anyway you want with a good selection of anything else you might want for breakfast.We didn't eat in the hotel during the evening as the restaurants nearby are fabulous. We had a cocktail in the bar one evening and it was delicious.
We had a hire care delivered to the hotel during our stay and the concierge were very helpful, valet parking was free of charge.
Free wifi not great keep having to re-connect, I think its works better in the reception and bar area. Swimming pool nice and clean, doesn't get the sun all day.
The check-in and check-out staff were very unfriendly, as we left the lady barely made eye contact and certainly didin't ask us if we had enjoyed our stay, not great for first and last impressions.
The morning we were due to check out the Maids were so keen for us the leave they were knocking on our door at 8am, check out time is 10am.
All in all this hotel is in a great location clean with a good breakfast, you won't feel special or valued but I'm not sure that matters as you've come to see Cape Town and it is fantastic


........

Room Tip: Higher floors have views of Table Mountain but beware of the seagulls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank badgercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and perfectly situated by the V & A Waterfront which is very safe especially at night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although the lifts are a little slow and you can spend as long as 10 minutes waiting for them. The breakfast is great and there is a huge selection. We enjoyed our stay and were happy with it.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Hobbsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,3 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
0,1 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#44 of 112 in Cape Town Central
806 reviews
0,2 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 440 reviews
0,9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 854 reviews
1,3 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 485 - R 4 924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing