We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 521)
Filter reviews
1 521 results
Traveller rating
561
694
188
48
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
694
188
48
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location nautical theme table mountain travel desk guest relations waterfront area minute walk small balcony victoria and alfred waterfront comfortable hotel stayed here for nights robben island breakfast buffet water front south africa restaurants and shops first stop
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 1 521 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We stayed for four days at this hotel- ideally situated near the V& A Waterfront
The staff were attentive and efficient, the breakfast was buffet and a wide selection.
Our room on the third floor was at the front and suffered from road traffic noise-but it was not that bad.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back( not the front)
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Cape Town is amazing. Waterfront area is popular. The Commodore hotel is taking advantage of it ...especially if you stupid enough for booking 5 days nonrefundable and through Agoda! Value for money is poor! Parking and breakfast are excellent. Tiny rooms. Old noisy air conditioners. And once problems occurred.... don't expect any understanding from reception and management. they offered us (after non sleeping night), a smaller room for the 2nd night with no apology, and the rest 3 nights, additional of 1500 R per night for a superior room. Pls think again before committing yourself for this hotel!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank momir694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented.

Please be assured that this is not the Standard of Service we pride ourselves in, and it is hoped that this experience does not tarnish your impression of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Regards



Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had four nights in the commodore at the end of march our room was on floor 6, we had a small balcony with a view over table mountain, the constant shrieking of the seagulls made it impossible to have the patio doors open for long, the noise could be heard throughout the night as well (seagulls don't sleep). Our room was nice with a spacious shower and all the amenities you would expect.
Breakfast was great with a chef cooking eggs anyway you want with a good selection of anything else you might want for breakfast.We didn't eat in the hotel during the evening as the restaurants nearby are fabulous. We had a cocktail in the bar one evening and it was delicious.
We had a hire care delivered to the hotel during our stay and the concierge were very helpful, valet parking was free of charge.
Free wifi not great keep having to re-connect, I think its works better in the reception and bar area. Swimming pool nice and clean, doesn't get the sun all day.
The check-in and check-out staff were very unfriendly, as we left the lady barely made eye contact and certainly didin't ask us if we had enjoyed our stay, not great for first and last impressions.
The morning we were due to check out the Maids were so keen for us the leave they were knocking on our door at 8am, check out time is 10am.
All in all this hotel is in a great location clean with a good breakfast, you won't feel special or valued but I'm not sure that matters as you've come to see Cape Town and it is fantastic

........

Room Tip: Higher floors have views of Table Mountain but beware of the seagulls
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank badgercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and perfectly situated by the V & A Waterfront which is very safe especially at night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although the lifts are a little slow and you can spend as long as 10 minutes waiting for them. The breakfast is great and there is a huge selection. We enjoyed our stay and were happy with it.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Hobbsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Just spent five nights at The Comodore. Don't book into room 2037 - its right above the service area at the back and you will be awake from 4.30am with the noise.
What a nice hotel though. Reception staff are not that helpful or friendly, but everyone else is warm and full of fun. Bar staff and waitress staff are especially friendly - and all football mad. Breakfast was included in our stay and definitely worth it. Good variety and excellent quality. Didn't need to eat till evening after breakfast. Fill a little bowl with ingredients and hand to the chef who will quickly whisk you up an omelette or great scrambled eggs. Good to eat in the restaurant in the evening as well - and cheap, but to be honest there is such a variety of restaurants on the waterfront complex we only ate at the hotel our first night. For location this hotel is very central. It has a really comfortable lounge where you can relax after a day of exploring. Very reasonably priced bar.
Was taken by surprise by Cape Town's beauty and charm and will definitely be going back and will definitely be staying at the Comodore - just not in room 2037!

Room Tip: Don't book a room overlooking the car park. It gets very noisy early in the morning.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruarimccallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews