We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
42
69
24
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
69
24
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen market squaregreenmarket squareomelette stationgreat locationtable mountainwater restrictionsdecent hotelcomfortable roomcentral hotelswimming poolbuffet breakfastchecking inevery morningeasy accesslong streetstay there againhop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Super friendly front desk staff. Excellent tour desk for arranging local activities. Rooms comfortable with very cosy bedding. Free WiFi in rooms + computers in lobby area. A little bit of noise from setup of markets outside every morning, but the bonus is that markets are just outside the front door of the hotel! Plenty of food options in and around the square and a short walk to Long St pubs and restaurants. We’d stay there again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Forest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Forest4

Thank you so much for choosing ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square as your accommodation of choice. Thank you kindly for your brief description of our lovely hotel and its vicinity to markets, local attractions and restaurants.

We pride ourselves for most probably the most comfortable bedding for a 3 star rated hotel.

May you travel safe and management and staff of ONOMO Hotel IOTS wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Location is great, near many good restaurants for dinner.
Green market Square was a fun place to bargain and shop.
Free ( tips only) 90 minute walks begin less than a block away.
Personnel at the front desk are very helpful, cars, dinner reservations, etc.
Buffet breakfast has lots of variety.
Try to get a room with YORK a/c. Much more effective.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Jane K

Thank you for your review on ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square. You are 100% correct and thank you for telling all the potential Cape Town visitors about the Complimentary 90 minute walking tour. It is literally on the Green market Square +- 3 minutes away.

I am so happy you could experience our ONOMO friendly service and smiles!

Looking forward to your next visit

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
Onomo Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from 17th December to 27th December in room 711 with a great view over green market square and table mountain. It was a nice room and kept clean to a high standard. We had a problem with the safe upon arrival and within half hour a new safe was fitted. We were room only so can't comment on the breakfast. All the staff within the hotel were very friendly and only too happy to help with any questions or bookings. Thank you for our lovely stay and hope to see you on our next visit.
Regards Bev & Mark Arnold

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wolves2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Wolves2014

Thank you so much for choosing ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square for your visit to our beautiful Cape Town visit.

Thank you for your positive comments. Pity that you could not experience our stunning breakfast as this is well known in Cape Town and not just hotel guests come and visit us for this plentiful breakfast spread. I am also glad that you could experience the ONOMO smiles from our ever willing staff members.

We truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back and continue to experience the rest of our facilities.

Be blessed and travel safe.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager ONOMO Hotel IOTS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Clean comfortable room. Wonderful staff. Great Breakfast buffet. Only negative is room is a bit small. The plusses more than compensate.
Bar is pub style, laid back and welcoming. Rates better than 3 Stars

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Doug C

Thank you for your great feedback. You help the ONOMO team to tell the rest of the word what a great Hotel Group ONOMO Hotel is and above all what a great Hotel ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square is. The rooms are standard size, but the amount of time spend outside the room in our beautiful Cape Town more than compensates. Soon ONOMO Hotel IOTS is planning a revamp of the public areas and Cobble Stone Bar. I am glad that you liked the bar area as it is welcoming.

Please travel safe and we at ONOMO Hotel IOTS wishes to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel on the Historical Green Market Square just before Christmas for a period of 10 days.

To the best of our knowledge we understood this hotel had some mixed reviews in the past. Therefore, we did not know what to expect.

However, we were pleasantly surprised and from the time we checked in until we checked out, we enjoyed every single moment of hospitality from all departments. Any time we needed help or assistance, respective members of staff were there, went out of their way and could not do enough for us.

Very generous breakfast with freshly cooked egg dishes, selection of top range cheeses, variety of cereals and different breads for a healthy choice amongst other things. There was ample quality food to start a good day. Enough to feed an Army!

To sum it all up, we feel this place with the new Management of Onomo (and under the leadership of Mr. De Jongh, the General Manager) is flourishing better than ever and will be going from strength to strength for years to come.

Overall, we left Onomo Inn on the Square with such warm memories, and no doubt will be back soon.

Ahmet and Maralyn TAN.
United Kingdom

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisdair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Alisdair T

This is the way you need to start a year! We at ONOMO Hotel IOTS are truly grateful for the time you have taken to write this review! You have nailed each point right on the head as this is what true hospitality is all about. The transition to ONOMO Hotel has not always been smooth sailing and one can read this in our reviews, but with all the training from management and commitment from our employees we will ensure that ONOMO Hotel IOTS be the flagship for hospitality and ONOMO great Smiles for 2018 and beyond.

We sincerely hope that ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the square will be your choice of hotel when you return to Cape Town

Be Blessed!

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager ONOMO Hotel Cape Town IOTS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews