We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
47
72
26
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
72
26
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green market square greenmarket square omelette station great location table mountain water restrictions decent hotel comfortable room central hotel swimming pool buffet breakfast checking in every morning easy access long street stay there again hop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel on the Historical Green Market Square just before Christmas for a period of 10 days.

To the best of our knowledge we understood this hotel had some mixed reviews in the past. Therefore, we did not know what to expect.

However, we were pleasantly surprised and from the time we checked in until we checked out, we enjoyed every single moment of hospitality from all departments. Any time we needed help or assistance, respective members of staff were there, went out of their way and could not do enough for us.

Very generous breakfast with freshly cooked egg dishes, selection of top range cheeses, variety of cereals and different breads for a healthy choice amongst other things. There was ample quality food to start a good day. Enough to feed an Army!

To sum it all up, we feel this place with the new Management of Onomo (and under the leadership of Mr. De Jongh, the General Manager) is flourishing better than ever and will be going from strength to strength for years to come.

Overall, we left Onomo Inn on the Square with such warm memories, and no doubt will be back soon.

Ahmet and Maralyn TAN.
United Kingdom

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisdair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Alisdair T

This is the way you need to start a year! We at ONOMO Hotel IOTS are truly grateful for the time you have taken to write this review! You have nailed each point right on the head as this is what true hospitality is all about. The transition to ONOMO Hotel has not always been smooth sailing and one can read this in our reviews, but with all the training from management and commitment from our employees we will ensure that ONOMO Hotel IOTS be the flagship for hospitality and ONOMO great Smiles for 2018 and beyond.

We sincerely hope that ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the square will be your choice of hotel when you return to Cape Town

Be Blessed!

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager ONOMO Hotel Cape Town IOTS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here twice. The staff is professional and friendly. Check-in was fast and efficient and all with a friendly smile. The WiFi is fast and reliable on both the floors I stayed on (2nd and 7th). The location is central. There is a big African arts market daily in the Square in front. At night the rooms are quiet. Breakfast was included and all fresh and tasty

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank JRArndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear JRArndt

Thank you very much for the time taken to do a stunning posting about your great stay at ONOMO Hotel IOTS. We are truly grateful for your positive feedback and this motivates all our employees to go above and beyond for all our guests.

May you have a prosperous 2018 and we would love to welcome you back at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town IOTS.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Service was excellent from the reception staff, chefs and waiters to the Dining Room Manager. Staff were extremely courteous at all times. Rooms were always kept clean and were very comfortable.
Location was perfectly located to restaurants, banks and highways. Ten minute drive to V&A Waterfront as well as Table Mountain.
The swimming pool and sauna were always kept clean. Sizeable gym for a good workout.
Overall a fantastic experience and a highly recommended hotel.
The General Manager, Mr Mynhardt De Jongh was regularly interacting with his guests.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms on the 7th floor and were extremely happy.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mandlzatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Good afternoon mandlzatta

What an amazing mail to receive so close to the end of this year! As discussed prior to your departure, I am the new GM at ONOMO Hotel IOTS and a mail like this makes me so proud and excited for the years to come.

Thank you for choosing ONOMO Hotel IOTS for your visit to Cape Town. Thank you for your kind words and thank you for being whom you are in order for us to be welcoming you and assisting you and your family.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor as you share your thoughts and experience with the world so that they know how well ONOMO prides itself through great service . This also assists with an additional motivational tool for all management and staff.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback, your smiles and your wishes. May 2018 be a stunning year for the Zatta family and we truly wish all the best in your lives.

Be blessed!

With best regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Our tour chose this hotel and we could not have asked for more. To us, location is the most important and this hotel was located on Green Square, where the peddlers from all over Africa come to sell their wares - from ostrich eggs, to shawls, to little souvenirs, to paintings, to everything you would want to take back from Africa.Our room (very clean and neat) overlooked the square and it was worth the wait to see the vendors set up in the morning and take everything down at night. The food and breakfast buffet was good and filling. On Sunday morning we walked to the Jewish Museum and had no problem at all, nor did we when we went to restaurants nearby, although the staff insisted on accompanying us to the nearby bank to an ATM machine, which we thought unnecessary, but was apparently necessary when you obviously have cash and it was much appreciated. All in all, while not a fancy waterfront hotel, it you want a true flavor of the city, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the market, above the second floor.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJFXKE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Shalom KJFXKE77

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is appreciated that you tell the rest of the word exactly where the hotel are situated, and you are so right The Hotel is situated in the CBD and you can experience life as it happens.

I sincerely hope you will be able to re-visit Cape Town and visit our stunning Cape Town ONOMO Hotel IOTS.

Be blessed and we are looking to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager Cape Town Inn on the Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 9 nites here and couldn't be more comfortable. Location is centralized and easy to walk around the nice food / attractions. Staffs here are very warm and looks after you. However, more than a handful of undesirable people loitering around. Just standing outside the hotel will attract 2-3 people asking for handouts. Other than that, all are good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SingaporeSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynhardt D, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Good day. Thank you for your kind words. We at ONOMO IOTS is grateful that you could have experienced our great city and hotel. Being the peak season for tourists you will unfortunately find the increased reality of today's socio-economic pressure. ONOMO Hotel Cape Town IOTS is very involved with the development and assistance of unemployed public in and around Cape Town. We will continue to do our best.

IOTS is so glad that we could be part of your great visit to Cape Tow.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager ONOMO Hotel Cape Town Inn on the Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews