We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$752
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
23
50
19
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
50
19
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen market squaretiny bathroomgreenmarket squarehotel is in a great locationtable mountainswimming poolnice roombuffet breakfastshort staythe general managerevery morningeasy accesslong streetstay there againhop on hop off busreception staffshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel and for a short stay it was just what we needed. Central, with decent size rooms and food on offer.

There was a market out the front of the Hotel, which although started early didn't affect our sleep or stay in any way. Surrounding the hotel are plenty of places to eat and drink depending on what takes your fancy......

The only thing that could be off putting about the hotel is the amount of homeless people that hang around the area begging for food and money. It highlights the issues still in the country. They can be quite intimidating especially if you were a bit of a nervous person or on your own at night as although the people who approached us were not aggressive they were persistent and there are lots together.

The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful. We needed to print our boarding passes out before leaving and they did it for us with no questions asked.

A negative about the hotel is the wifi signal as it does drop out and depend on where you are as to whether you get it or not.

Some light came through the window in the bedroom where part of the curtain had been cut too short but it wasn't enough to stop you sleeping.

They do have a pool but it is outside and wasn't particularly clean when we were there.

Overall a decent hotel, good food, attentive staff with spacious rooms. Ideal place for a short stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Coups247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotchefs, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Coups247

Great precise feedback which is so helpful for all the Tripadvisor users that make use of this useful platform. I am glad that your overall stay was pleasant and well enjoyed. Unfortunately any business have their negative aspects to deal with, but it comes down to how you deal with these aspects and possibly change this into opportunities rather than difficulties. The C.C.I.D. :Cape Town City Improvement District has been hard at work to make Cape Town and all it's surrounding suburbs a better and safer place. The Soccer World Cup in 2010 gave us the opportunity to shine and to fix what needed repairs in Cape Town. This is a vibrant city and we as a nation are building together to make Cape Town and the rest of Africa a better place for all. We sincerely hope that unemployment etc, will decrease and we all will have a better opportunity in life. Cape Town being a somewhat windy city at some times does make it slightly more difficult to keep the pool 100% clean especially at 8 floors up. We do however have increased daily cleaning increments to ensure the pool and pool area is well looked after.

Travel safe and we hope that you will be able to come and visit us again.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is well appointed and down the street from the hop on & off tour bus, allowing great access to the city. It is also close to restaurants. The rooftop bar has great views of Table Mountain. Helpful staff. As noted in other reviews, bathroom layout is a bit awkward as one needs to straddle the toilet to open/close the door.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wanderlust387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotchefs, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear wanderlust387

Thank you for taking the time to write a helpful review. We are glad that you could enjoy great weather and the great rooftop swimming pool view of our lovely city.

With revamps being planned in the near future we will keep your feedback regarding the bathroom in mind.

Safe travels!

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Looked after very well from moment of arrival.
Clean, spacious room. room - we had a great view of table mountain from our window.
Breakfast was nice.
Noise from market starts very early, but it’s to be expected from a hotel right on the centre.
Close to restaurants and bars. Also very close to the us tours.
Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a central hotel in Cape Town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotchefs, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Emily E

Thank you for your review. It is precise and tells everyone all the correct information required. Thank you for the breakfast and rooms feedback.

Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights here. The staff were really great and full of helpful advice. The breakfast was also completely reasonable and the dinner is fine too, with very amusing waiting staff. I would say that the location is great and value of the room is well worth it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotchefs, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Peter R

Thank you for your feedback and review.

I am glad that we could be part of your quick stay over in Cape Town.

I share all the information with my staff and it is great to hear we have funny and helpful staff.

Kind regards

Mynhardt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Overall, a must visit! Amazing history! Cape Town is a wonderful, colorful & inviting city. JoBurg (& surrounding townships) is truly metropolitan with all of the glitz, grime, skyscrapers & shanties.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NAK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotchefs, General Manager at ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear NAK1970

I am so happy that you are so excited to have written this great review. You help a lot of Tripadvisor users out there to make up their minds in visiting us!

Safe travels and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews