We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo looking for my genealogical history”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #40 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What I love about Parliament is first, second and third, is the staff. Everyone is genuinely pleased to see me and are quick to come to my aid - anticipating my needs before I even think about them. My room is always cleaned well, with all the necessaries in place so that I feel I'm on holiday in my own home. They are very informative and can guide me in where to go and when and seem to have a very good relationship with transport companies so I don't need to fret. Thankyou to all those good people.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vepower99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Although Parliament Hotel is not in the nicer neighborhood of Cape Town it is well situated as a base to visit. The v7A is a short and cheap taxi ride away. The bathrooms are a bit old style but very clean and the rooms have been fully renovated, large and bright. Above all, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They will help you with taxis, tours and restaurants. This is the big plus of this hotel! The breakfast is also very good and the italian trattoria next door, "The Cousins", is excellent. Very good italian food, as in Bologna! Make sure you reserve.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lmarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Freda, Brian, Harvey at the front desk my stay comfortable and very pleasant. Their verbal directions were so detailed and they were such a wealth of information I did not need a map to get around.
Room: VERY SPACIOUS could easily sleep 6, clean and bed very comfortable. If I had one suggestion, update the curtains. But otherwise I was not there to remain in my room. Kudo's to the inclusive breakfast--the hot food was cooked to order. Attached to The Cousins Restaurant--not part of the hotel but they do offer room service to the guest and it was delicious after a long day of walking, sight seeing and tours,.
Less than a 6min walk was the District Six Museum and at it's doorstep was a bus stop for the Hop On/Hop Off bus. Lots of quaint shops in the area. Very busy during the day but quiet at night.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. I plan to stay again next May when I return with family members

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wilmalinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We were extremely happy with our choice of this hotel. From the moment we arrived the service was at a 6 star level. The staff were always smiling and wanting to help in any way. The location was a little out of the centre, but within 10 minutes walk we were on Long Street. Breakfast was more than adequate, with a generous cold buffet, toast, juices, coffee, yoghurt, cereal, cheeses and meat - as well as the ability to order eggs, bacon and sausage. The room was very spacious (we booked an Executive Double) with a fridge and large King bed. It is a 3 star hotel, but the service here is at a much higher level. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The Italian restaurant "The Cousins" was an added bonus - always busy with the locals eating there each night. We were lucky enough to eat there twice!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in October. The Parliament Hotel is simple but very comfortable. Our room was recently renovated, clean and quiet. The hotel is within a few minutes walking distance to Long Street and many of Cape Town's sights. Wifi was good and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
847 reviews
0,6 km away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
0,3 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
1 km away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
0,8 km away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#77 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R909 - R1 548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing