We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
82
73
38
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
73
38
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loader street village cafe small living room staff at reception bedroom apartment self catering table mountain breakfast included felt very safe quiet location stay in cape town accommodation waterfront bath cabs dishwasher proximity
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We would not come back to this place.
The location may be convenient but with uber you can get cheaply around the whole city.

Otherwise, where should I start!
We were first put in an apartment with tile floors and stairs!! We have a crawling baby!!
He was on the floor for 2min and got completely black! The floors haven't seen cleaning for a long long time!
We complained and got placed in a new apartment with wooden floors. Better, but still dirty! Asked to get our money back and go looking for another place, once with the money you pay here I'm sure you can get much better, we didn't get it! That's why you should not pay in advance I guess... you will not be well served!

Dust on the furniture, not to speak under it... furniture due a cleaning or just a renovation once it was full of stains.

We ended up cleanup by the whole floor with my babies wet nappies and on the last day we had visitors! Cockroaches! Super!!!
So... use your money elsewhere!

Ah and to top it off, I forgot my favorite scarf there and surprise surprise! It was not found!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carnaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Start with some positives. The main De Waterkant House is lovely, the shared kitchen, lounge and outdoor area is great. The resident ginger cat is a beautiful (he loves to visit you in your room though so beware). General location is fantastic close to local bars and restaurants. There are far too many negatives though! The management is chaotic and some reception staff surly and disinterested. On checkin they took us to the completely wrong room (a two bedroom apartment 0.5km away)! We then had to return to reception walking in blistering heat with our cases. After locating our correct room we were then told breakfast wasn’t included even though it clearly stated it was on our confirmation. After arguing with them they finally gave us the correct breakfast vouchers! The day before we were due to check out they called and asked us to check out. Again they got the wrong guest and booking! Utterly shambolic! The Courtyard Room we stayed in had no air con just a static noisy fan. The bathroom door is broken, there is black mould on the ceiling and it’s far too small for two adults and two suitcases! In conclusion stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MartinThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Having read some negative reviews prior to leaving we were not sure what to expect. We found a nice sized flat with 2 bedrooms, access to laundry, a small living room, kitchen and dining space. It was clean and comfortable. There was daily maid service, though the last day the toilet tissue was not filled and the next morning one of us had to go out and pick some up at the grocery store. However, walking distance to some top restaurants, proximity to all sight seeing attractions, grocery and shopping, made the quiet location perfect. Note that you will have to pull your luggage from the registration to your unit, ours was a block away. Then also up stairs depending on the unit. For us that was fine, but may not be for everyone. Staff at reception was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2000KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Unit 5 Loader Street. We agree with all the other reviews that this is a a great location for Cape Town and appeared safe.

The two bedroom apartment was clean and well fitted out. Equipment and furniture were clean and newish (settee and outside table ready for replacement). Cleaners came each day and cleaned up and made the beds. The main problem was the renovation of the balcony and entrance way using a flame thrower that came under the back door and set it smouldering while we were inside. This took place on two days.

Reception (Charlie Cafe) were very friendly and helpful. They handled questions and a couple of problems quickly and efficiently. We mentioned the renovation and the flame thrower to reception on the first day. They seemed as surprised as we had been and said they would mention it to the management for our apartment. So we were more surprised and upset when the flame thrower team returned the next morning. Seemed no point in bringing it up again as we were just leaving.

This apartment clearly needs a full check over by the management to ensure everything is in working order and cleaning staff to flag problems rather than waiting for guests to find the problems. For example the shower doors were in obvious need of attention and only one air conditioner remote control worked. None were holiday wrecking issues, but the maintenance man who came to resolve a pre-locked safe said he would get them resolved (but not in time for us) as no one had brought up these points before.

There was free wifi in reception but not in the apartment.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank familly54A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My room smells like mold i complain but nobody take care, it was a promo but nobady mentioned me , so i pay the whole price.

My room was small at the down floor smell like mold, and lots of rats around the area. Living room beautiful and small kitchen and pool. Do not compromise for those amenities and look for some place without rats.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews