We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gate 1 hotel ...location is super”
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #81 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Indeed the WiFi is weak and limited time / data allowed. But decent room and bed. So so breakfast buffet but ok dinner. Super location however and Bucco around the corner. Great eatery. And easy walk to central district.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank OregonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights over the Xmas period 2017.

Positives:
- Good, Central location and walking distance from a trendy area in town. Literally down the road from the Table Mountain cableway entrance and Signal Hill drive.
- Spacious, clean rooms with a comfortable king size bed - Room was cleaned daily.
- Good TV channels
- Great view of Lions Head and part of Table Mountain
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Nice pool area, although we never used it

Negatives:
- The floor we stayed on (6th) was noisy early in the mornings. However this was due to loud guests and due to no fault of the hotel
- The room is a bit old/dated
- No free wifi, which was a big disappointment. Wifi is charged at R100 for 500MB. I have not heard of a hotel in the past 5 years that charges for wifi. This was not stipulated anywhere that wifi is chargeable.
- The parking situation is not great. We learned on check-in that we have to pay R60 per day for parking. This was not specified anywhere upon booking. Also, there is not enough space at the hotel, so the valet service might double-park / block your car. However, they are in operation 24 hours so if you need to leave, they move cars if necessary.
- Breakfast seems to be overpriced
- We would've preferred a couch in front of the TV instead of two chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room. They're bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Seyyah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Firstly they lied to us and said that breakfast was included in the payment, upon checking in, we discovered that breakfast was not. So we paid an extra odd R300 for a breakfast we didn't get. From there on I knew it would go downhill, but thank God it was just for one night. I have travelled and went to hotels, and I expected this one to be the best, yet it turned to be the worst. From the TV, the service, the lies about breakfast, the internet and pictures on the internet that showed a mountain view. All we got was a replica of what we left at home. I only gave a rating of 2 because the bed was comfortable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nomaphelo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

The internet connection is very bad, at least on 8th floor. I asked the hotel reception to fix it, although they re-set it several times, the connection is still very very weak. I ended up in not to bother to complain and simply buy my own internet 500MB from vodacom shop. In addition, the room is very noisy facing the road.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Durbanscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I spend a few nights at the hotel on business. It is easy to gain access from any side of town and I like the easy way out towards Camps bay. The great restaurant in the hotel is a great asset and is worth the stay. Breakfast are more than ample. Rooms are not the most modern , but clean and offer all that one requires. The Cape Town red top bus passes by the hotel , so it makes it easy for tourist to hop on.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
858 reviews
0,6 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
0,9 km away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
275 reviews
0,7 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
0,6 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#83 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#61 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 767 - R 3 348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing