We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
US$110
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$93
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$209
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$142
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
186
326
157
43
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
326
157
43
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutchers grilllong streettable mountainbo kaaprooftop poolbree streetwi ficentral locationgreen market squaresuperior roomhotel restaurantsecure parkingenjoyed my stayspent nightshop on hop off bussouth africawaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Ideally placed to enjoy consideration. Misses the mark on EXCESSIVE PARKING fees – only a DAILY rate available. NO FREE WiFi??? Unacceptable! Chamber staff excessively noisy! Slow counter service at peak am checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We stayed for only 2 nights at this hotel for our short stay in Cape Town. The room we had was huge (very long and narrow), beds were clean and reasonably comfortable but we were glad we only had 2 nights as they were a little too firm for us. The location is OK but you do need to take a taxi to be right in the heart of the city and it isn't in the sort of area we felt comfortable walking around at night. Hence, we made sure we had our main meal before we returned to the hotel each day. They do have a restaurant but we chose to eat out. We did ask at reception if it was possible to get a bus into town but they recommended a taxi and to be fair it cost only R45 which works out at about £2.50 so not worth the hassle of waiting for public transport we felt. WiFi is available for R100 (about £5.50) and we left before I had used all the time allocation. We would consider using the Cape Town Lodge again but would prefer to be a little nearer the centre of town.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This hotel is great value for money, situated in central Cape Town and is perfect for people who want to experience Cape Town night life or if you are on a business trip. The hotel is also close to theV&A Waterfront and for an extra fee you can use their a shuttle service which can take you to places around town. This is handy if you don't have a car.
I found this service very useful and the driver was friendly and helpful.

At the Hotel there is a restaurant called the Famous Butchers Grill which is a great place to have dinner, the food was fabulous. There is also a pool bar and a cigar lounge.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, although the room was not big but it was clean and it had everything you would expect from a hotel.

My only negative comment is that there is a R200 deposit which needs to be paid up front and all the little hidden costs like parking and so on.

Room Tip: Choose a floor higher up to stay and a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whatilikedabout u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015

I visited this hotel with my partner and stayed there for 2 nights. Perfect location. Rooms are clean and lovely. Views are great. Sweet melodies at breakfast. It was a beautiful experience in general. Parking is a bit of a problem though, it could do with more space but at least it is very safe with 24hr security!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelleratheart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

This is a lovely hotel in a very good location and it is also very good value for money. The rooms are great, it is very clean, the bar and restaurant are very good, if a bit expensive, breakfast is marvellous...BUT the reception staff are bloody awful.

I arrived at 10am, hoping to leave my bag for the day. I had paid in advance. There was no 'Hello' or 'Welcome'. I was told 'I'm very, very early'. Yes? And? I only want to leave my bag...

Can I have some more sugar in my room? Properly checking in and out. I think I turned into the invisible woman.

Dreadful, dreadful...the worst service I have experienced in South Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abbey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews