We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Town Hollow
Nearby Hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$975
US$949
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
138
114
33
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
114
33
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompany gardensboutique hotellong streetsouth african museumafrican pride hoteltable mountaindirectly across the streetcompany's gardenstayed here for nightscity sightseeingfree shuttleshuttle service to the waterfrontmountain viewqueen victoriawithin walking distancethe hotel staffhop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The standard of internet at this hotel is terrible and completely unacceptable in the modern age. Our data fees were probably more than the cost of staying at the hotel. If you need wifi didn't stay here otherwise nothing wrong with the hotel. Would never stay at this hotel again until they sort out the wifi it was like going back in time,

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Our Christmas break at the CTH was a lovely experience! Great hospitality from the Front Office team and the housekeeping team! The hotel is comfortable and ideally located in the middle of town, and walking distance from a number of museums, open areas and restaurants. We would recommend CTH without reservation.
All the best to the CTH team in 2018.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hulda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

What an awesome stay. The views, stunning. The staff, warm and friendly and the rooms are perfect and cozy. We had breakfast every morning in the hotel and had dinner there one night. The food was outstanding.
We had to pay for parking, but we were informed before choosing the place so it was no problem for is.
There was a park right opposite the hotel and uber services was quick.
Definitely a place we're we will want to go back to again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Belinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our incredible 2 week trip to SA for our honeymoon. Unfortunately it definitely didn't live up to expectations and the other places we stayed during our trip. Granted this hotel was a bit cheaper and you get what you pay for - so I would recommend Honeymooners not to choose this hotel for their special trip. No idea how they class this place as "Boutique", it does not feel like a boutique.

Like a couple of others have mentioned there were clear pros and cons here.

Pros - friendly staff at times, clean, relatively quiet, prepared us a nice takeaway breakfast one morning when we had an early morning trip. There are nice dressing gowns in the room!

Cons - 2 loungers and tiny pool, this is not the place to stay if you want to sunbathe or relax in the hotel one day. The manager's response when I asked why they only have 2 loungers was: "You shouldn't be sunbathing now anyway, it's too hot". Odd

- Small bathroom. We also had an issue with our hot water, but to be fair they sorted this quite quickly

- Breakfast... they seem to host a lot of corporate events at the hotel meaning breakfast is mayhem!! they ran out of orange juice and we struggled to get a table and noone asked us numerous mornings if we would like coffee. Pretty hectic start to the day

- The location isn't great in comparison to other places we stayed. You will get stuck in HEAVY traffic if you get an uber towards the waterfront at certain times. Also big minus is there is no free parking, you have to use the carpark block just down the road and pay. Not their fault, but again not ideal if you've hired a car.

- The wifi connectivity is rubbish. Very hit and miss - and they blamed the provider, but after reading various reviews, it seems this is a problem with the hotel as I had perfect wifi everywhere else in Cape Town

Maybe this wouldn't be so bad if you were looking for cheaper less fancy accommodation, and it's not a special trip. Also could be decent for a work stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Good location, gardens right opposite, Taxi rides very cheap, fairly clean, half the staff are good and half are bad!
However massively let down by Communication between staff is awful. Things like, One staff member put us down for early breakfast takeaway and when we went to check out and pick it up - The staff knew nothing of it.
Free shuttle to v&a waterfront is good when they decide to actually turn up. We got stranded there due to Very bad communication.
Breakfast was nice & good variety!
Restaurant dinner was also nice and well priced but the bar ran out of everything we wanted which isn’t helpful when your advised to not leave the hotel after dark for safety.

Overall good but let down by few bits

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank SunluvvaSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews