We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Cape Town Hollow Boutique Hotel”
Review of Cape Town Hollow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Town Hollow
Ranked #49 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our Christmas break at the CTH was a lovely experience! Great hospitality from the Front Office team and the housekeeping team! The hotel is comfortable and ideally located in the middle of town, and walking distance from a number of museums, open areas and restaurants. We would recommend CTH without reservation.
All the best to the CTH team in 2018.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hulda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an awesome stay. The views, stunning. The staff, warm and friendly and the rooms are perfect and cozy. We had breakfast every morning in the hotel and had dinner there one night. The food was outstanding.
We had to pay for parking, but we were informed before choosing the place so it was no problem for is.
There was a park right opposite the hotel and uber services was quick.
Definitely a place we're we will want to go back to again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Belinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our incredible 2 week trip to SA for our honeymoon. Unfortunately it definitely didn't live up to expectations and the other places we stayed during our trip. Granted this hotel was a bit cheaper and you get what you pay for - so I would recommend Honeymooners not to choose this hotel for their special trip. No idea how they class this place as "Boutique", it does not feel like a boutique.

Like a couple of others have mentioned there were clear pros and cons here.

Pros - friendly staff at times, clean, relatively quiet, prepared us a nice takeaway breakfast one morning when we had an early morning trip. There are nice dressing gowns in the room!

Cons - 2 loungers and tiny pool, this is not the place to stay if you want to sunbathe or relax in the hotel one day. The manager's response when I asked why they only have 2 loungers was: "You shouldn't be sunbathing now anyway, it's too hot". Odd

- Small bathroom. We also had an issue with our hot water, but to be fair they sorted this quite quickly

- Breakfast... they seem to host a lot of corporate events at the hotel meaning breakfast is mayhem!! they ran out of orange juice and we struggled to get a table and noone asked us numerous mornings if we would like coffee. Pretty hectic start to the day

- The location isn't great in comparison to other places we stayed. You will get stuck in HEAVY traffic if you get an uber towards the waterfront at certain times. Also big minus is there is no free parking, you have to use the carpark block just down the road and pay. Not their fault, but again not ideal if you've hired a car.

- The wifi connectivity is rubbish. Very hit and miss - and they blamed the provider, but after reading various reviews, it seems this is a problem with the hotel as I had perfect wifi everywhere else in Cape Town

Maybe this wouldn't be so bad if you were looking for cheaper less fancy accommodation, and it's not a special trip. Also could be decent for a work stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Good location, gardens right opposite, Taxi rides very cheap, fairly clean, half the staff are good and half are bad!
However massively let down by Communication between staff is awful. Things like, One staff member put us down for early breakfast takeaway and when we went to check out and pick it up - The staff knew nothing of it.
Free shuttle to v&a waterfront is good when they decide to actually turn up. We got stranded there due to Very bad communication.
Breakfast was nice & good variety!
Restaurant dinner was also nice and well priced but the bar ran out of everything we wanted which isn’t helpful when your advised to not leave the hotel after dark for safety.

Overall good but let down by few bits

Stayed: December 2017
Thank SunluvvaSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

First of all, the location is fantastic and most sights are within 5 minutes by Uber. Next, the rooms and toilets are a little cramped and basic. After that, the WiFi is below par, very unstable connection and the management needs to pay attention to it. Finally, the breakfast needs to be a little more elaborate and surely, they need to offer better variety of coffee and tea.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sivaram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
414 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Hollow

Address: 88 Queen Victoria Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 370 - R3 134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel offers stylish, serene accommodation with spectacular views over the Dutch East India Company Gardens, Table Mountain and Lion's Head. Enjoy relaxed dining at our on-site Restaurant, Eighty-Ate, with a street cafe flair. Relax next to the swimming pool or chat to loved ones via our internet in our informal lounge. The ideal position of Cape Town Hollow entices guests to explore a myriad of attractions in the city and surrounds - from the vibrant nightlife and trendy downtown restaurants and bars; to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the breathtaking Peninsula and legendary Cape winelands. Our accomplished in-house concierge is poised to assist with advice, directions and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Town Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hollow Hotel Cape Town Central
Hollow Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing