We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Cape Town”
Review of Cape Town Hollow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Town Hollow
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Probably the best value for money 4 star hotel in Cape Town. I have tried them all, being in Cape Town often for business. Excellent service, great breakfast, well kept establishment + perfect loctation. Well done to the staff

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LyloJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Hello there Lyle

We are so chuffed to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. Hopefully we see you back again very soon! Jess and the Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Great breakfast and rooms, however wifi limited, and no shuttle to the waterfront,,.location is close if take a cab, not walkable nor safe to walk around at night if you are looking to get to the waterfront...it's close to long street but thats mostly clubs and bars, some restaurants in area but suggest that for during the day not at night when the characters come out to play..!... I would recommend this hotel if you have a car or don't mind cabbing it ....would have been nice if they had a free shuttle to the waterfront like other hotels....overall nice stay but prefer something closer to waterfront since it has lots of security and best area for shops and eats

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sead0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Good food, nice rooms.. My only ask is that they offer a free shuttle to Victoria waterfront area which is ideal for nighttime festivities.. Very safe area.. This hotel is near long street which isn't recommended for night time travels.. I prefer to be in the Victoria waterfront area.. Or at least a free shuttle.. Oh and wifi doesn't work well at all..

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for submitting your feedback over your stay with us. We are happy to advise that we have been doing major upgrades to the WiFi and have had no complaints since then. Your feedback was definitely taken into consideration in order to better this service, so thank you!
Transfers to and from the Waterfront are fortunately not expensive but your recommendation to offer it as a free service has been noted. Please do visit us again soon!
Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Arrive 8 May, Depart. 12 May
The Hotel started their first class service by helping us when our pre-booked ride from the airport did not show up! They were able to contact the agency (Thompsons) and straighten things out for us!
The rooms were superb and the"hop on hop off" bus stopped right across the street. We ate three breakfasts, a lunch, and two dinners in their restaurant and were extremely pleased with everything.
The only reason they did not get 5 stars was maintenance issues: the water supply to our toilet stopped working and we had to change rooms, plus one of the elevators would not stop at our floor for some reason.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, General Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our service, food, location and beautiful property. Maintenance is always an ongoing thing at any property and we will keep doing our best to make sure everything is 100% at all times.

We are looking forward to hosting your next Cape Town stay in the very near future.

Regards
Willem & the CTH team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We enjoyed our 4 night stay very much! Rooms were comfortable, everything was very clean and breakfast was delicious with a great variety of choices. WiFi was also reliable and the staff was very helpful with some business needs that arose during our vacation. Great location, and easy walking distance to many things, including Long Street (without the noise of Long Street), Parliament, and Kloof Street for some great restaurants. Company Gardens across the street are also enjoyable to walk through. Despite easy walking distance, we typically took a cab back to the hotel at night, as the area around the hotel is very dark at night and as female travelers, we did not feel comfortable walking back in the dark. Not a problem at all, as cabs are plentiful and reasonable. We would stay again at Cape Town Hollow Boutique Hotel. Tip: Taxis didn't often know where the hotel is located based on the address, so tell them it's across the street from the Planetarium by the Company Gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Wow! What lovely, kind words! Thank you so much for the positive comments, we are so happy that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed what our beautiful city has to offer. We sincerely hope you come back and visit us soon. Keep in touch!

Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
233 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Hollow

Address: 88 Queen Victoria Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 365 - R3 123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel offers stylish, serene accommodation with spectacular views over the Dutch East India Company Gardens, Table Mountain and Lion's Head. Enjoy relaxed dining at our on-site Restaurant, Eighty-Ate, with a street cafe flair. Relax next to the swimming pool or chat to loved ones via our internet in our informal lounge. The ideal position of Cape Town Hollow entices guests to explore a myriad of attractions in the city and surrounds - from the vibrant nightlife and trendy downtown restaurants and bars; to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the breathtaking Peninsula and legendary Cape winelands. Our accomplished in-house concierge is poised to assist with advice, directions and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Town Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hollow Hotel Cape Town Central
Hollow Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing