We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Town Hollow
Nearby Hotels
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$190
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$49
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$969
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
139
114
33
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
114
33
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompany gardensboutique hotellong streetsouth african museumafrican pride hoteltable mountaindirectly across the streetcompany's gardenstayed here for nightscity sightseeingfree shuttleshuttle service to the waterfrontmountain viewqueen victoriawithin walking distancethe hotel staffhop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Great breakfast and rooms, however wifi limited, and no shuttle to the waterfront,,.location is close if take a cab, not walkable nor safe to walk around at night if you are looking to get to the waterfront...it's close to long street but thats mostly clubs and bars, some restaurants in area but suggest that for during the day not at night when the characters come out to play..!... I would recommend this hotel if you have a car or don't mind cabbing it ....would have been nice if they had a free shuttle to the waterfront like other hotels....overall nice stay but prefer something closer to waterfront since it has lots of security and best area for shops and eats

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sead0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Good food, nice rooms.. My only ask is that they offer a free shuttle to Victoria waterfront area which is ideal for nighttime festivities.. Very safe area.. This hotel is near long street which isn't recommended for night time travels.. I prefer to be in the Victoria waterfront area.. Or at least a free shuttle.. Oh and wifi doesn't work well at all..

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for submitting your feedback over your stay with us. We are happy to advise that we have been doing major upgrades to the WiFi and have had no complaints since then. Your feedback was definitely taken into consideration in order to better this service, so thank you!
Transfers to and from the Waterfront are fortunately not expensive but your recommendation to offer it as a free service has been noted. Please do visit us again soon!
Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Arrive 8 May, Depart. 12 May
The Hotel started their first class service by helping us when our pre-booked ride from the airport did not show up! They were able to contact the agency (Thompsons) and straighten things out for us!
The rooms were superb and the"hop on hop off" bus stopped right across the street. We ate three breakfasts, a lunch, and two dinners in their restaurant and were extremely pleased with everything.
The only reason they did not get 5 stars was maintenance issues: the water supply to our toilet stopped working and we had to change rooms, plus one of the elevators would not stop at our floor for some reason.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, General Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our service, food, location and beautiful property. Maintenance is always an ongoing thing at any property and we will keep doing our best to make sure everything is 100% at all times.

We are looking forward to hosting your next Cape Town stay in the very near future.

Regards
Willem & the CTH team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We enjoyed our 4 night stay very much! Rooms were comfortable, everything was very clean and breakfast was delicious with a great variety of choices. WiFi was also reliable and the staff was very helpful with some business needs that arose during our vacation. Great location, and easy walking distance to many things, including Long Street (without the noise of Long Street), Parliament, and Kloof Street for some great restaurants. Company Gardens across the street are also enjoyable to walk through. Despite easy walking distance, we typically took a cab back to the hotel at night, as the area around the hotel is very dark at night and as female travelers, we did not feel comfortable walking back in the dark. Not a problem at all, as cabs are plentiful and reasonable. We would stay again at Cape Town Hollow Boutique Hotel. Tip: Taxis didn't often know where the hotel is located based on the address, so tell them it's across the street from the Planetarium by the Company Gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Wow! What lovely, kind words! Thank you so much for the positive comments, we are so happy that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed what our beautiful city has to offer. We sincerely hope you come back and visit us soon. Keep in touch!

Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

very nice Boutique hotel in a good location near to everything and with a fantastic view of Table Mountain from the front. The rooms were big clean and well appointed. the beds very comfortable and the shower powerful. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the big red bus leaves from across the street! it was very windy when we were there and the wind was blowing into the face of the hotel, I found it odd that there was no double glazing but apparently that is fairly standard in South Africa! breakfast was fine, nothing too special.
The internet was a bit hard to connect to and the parking was paid in another hotel across the street. All in all a good priced hotel in a good location and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Hello there!

A big thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are holding thumbs that we see you again very soon!

Warm regards
Jess and the Hollow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews