We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$129
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$209
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
US$24
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
38
110
59
22
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
110
59
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssofa bedroad facingsmall kitchenettevictoria junctionparking garagestudio roomtable mountainbig balconyminute walkbit outdatedan older hotelwifi worksself cateringbus servicepublic areas areshower curtainwalking distance to waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location being walking distance to waterfront and has great views of table Mountain. They also were very accommodating with our group. However the hotel is quite run down and in need of some repairs. They had electrical problems and the elevators frequently didn’t work. If you’re looking for an affordable fairly clean place close to waterfront this is a good choice, just be aware it needs some work.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I am sorry to say that this was a typical, "get to the room and discover that the view promised is not quite the view expected". Yes, I technically had a view of Table Rock Mountain, if I positioned myself in a very uncomfortable stance.

However, the view was a minor point. I did have some views of the local topography. The location is pretty good in that it is convenient to places to eat. The parking garage is also very convenient.

The hotel room, itself, is basic. It was clean and well functioning, but basic.

The public areas are somewhat limited. There is a restaurant, but it really did not have a bar and was not, by any means, a gathering place other than for breakfast. There is a small pool, which no one seemed to use.

I would recommend staying here. It is clean, friendly and the room was spacious and contained everything I needed.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank POSHtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear POSHtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that our facilities met your requirements for your visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards

ConradJ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Although this place was further away from the V&A than anticipated it was still a very convenient location and saved us some über trips. The room had a kitchenette with a fridge which was useful. Unfortunately they had some construction work going on and the street side entrance of the hotel was very unwelcoming and unfriendly.
It would have been nice to meet a doorman or something rather than a caged grid gate.
Front desk staff could also do with a refresher on customer care.
All in all it was a safe and convenient place to stay and since we spent no more than an hour awake there it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frieda6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Frida6325,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you found our amenities in the room and location convenient for your stay in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

ConradJ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

On busy road a short walk from Victoria and Albert Waterfront. Suite rooms with large lounge/kitchen area and very uncomfortable furniture. Tiny attached bedroom with comfortable bed but unable to fully open bathroom door off bedroom. Hallways narrow and twisting with stained carpet. Breakfast buffet few choices. Staff friendly and helpful.
Main entrance through a locked gate and up steep stairs or through the underground car park does not give good first impression!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have shared your feedback with the rest of the team in effort to enhance our guest experience. We trust you had a wonderful time in Cape Town and that the city will welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
ConradJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel located in Greenpoint, a 5 minute walk away from the V&A. The guest room was comfortable and had all the conveniences we could need with a fantastic view of the waterfront and stadium. Wifi is free and reliable. The parking is a bit tight for a large vehicle, but we managed with a 4×4. We enjoyed the breakfast as they offered a large selection that catered to all of our tastes. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank AshiraRheeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews