We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Convenient but Disappointing for a Marriott ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #89 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would not stay here again. I am a lifetime Marriott Premier with over 1200 Marriott nights and this was one of their worst properties. Internet required multiple log in attempts and kept cutting out. TV was terrible with no international channels like BBC and CNN. Room 66 was cramped and difficult to even get to the bathroom-had to squeeze by closet and bed and only if closet doors were shut. Kitchen was not fully equipped-no pots or pans. No throw pillows on couch. One elevator stopped working and the other was broken through our 4 day stay. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Not up to Marriott standards!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RedMonkey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel has a nice location being walking distance to waterfront and has great views of table Mountain. They also were very accommodating with our group. However the hotel is quite run down and in need of some repairs. They had electrical problems and the elevators frequently didn’t work. If you’re looking for an affordable fairly clean place close to waterfront this is a good choice, just be aware it needs some work.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am sorry to say that this was a typical, "get to the room and discover that the view promised is not quite the view expected". Yes, I technically had a view of Table Rock Mountain, if I positioned myself in a very uncomfortable stance.

However, the view was a minor point. I did have some views of the local topography. The location is pretty good in that it is convenient to places to eat. The parking garage is also very convenient.

The hotel room, itself, is basic. It was clean and well functioning, but basic.

The public areas are somewhat limited. There is a restaurant, but it really did not have a bar and was not, by any means, a gathering place other than for breakfast. There is a small pool, which no one seemed to use.

I would recommend staying here. It is clean, friendly and the room was spacious and contained everything I needed.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank POSHtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear POSHtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that our facilities met your requirements for your visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards

ConradJ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Although this place was further away from the V&A than anticipated it was still a very convenient location and saved us some über trips. The room had a kitchenette with a fridge which was useful. Unfortunately they had some construction work going on and the street side entrance of the hotel was very unwelcoming and unfriendly.
It would have been nice to meet a doorman or something rather than a caged grid gate.
Front desk staff could also do with a refresher on customer care.
All in all it was a safe and convenient place to stay and since we spent no more than an hour awake there it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frieda6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Frida6325,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you found our amenities in the room and location convenient for your stay in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

ConradJ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

On busy road a short walk from Victoria and Albert Waterfront. Suite rooms with large lounge/kitchen area and very uncomfortable furniture. Tiny attached bedroom with comfortable bed but unable to fully open bathroom door off bedroom. Hallways narrow and twisting with stained carpet. Breakfast buffet few choices. Staff friendly and helpful.
Main entrance through a locked gate and up steep stairs or through the underground car park does not give good first impression!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We have shared your feedback with the rest of the team in effort to enhance our guest experience. We trust you had a wonderful time in Cape Town and that the city will welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
ConradJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#51 of 112 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray
#79 of 112 in Cape Town Central
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 248 - R 2 567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing