We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mining Indaba.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hello Cape Town, Again you dont dissapoint but for the critical water shortage your having. The VA Waterfront gets better with age. Westin Hotel is a fine hotel that is suited to those that have business or conventions at the Cape Town convention center. Its very close as in 50 meters away...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Geoff P,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at The Westin Cape Town. It is always a special and inspired moment to learn that our guests enjoyed our facilities. Providing our guests with excellent service and creating a positive experience that won’t be forgotten is what we constantly strive towards.
Feedback from our guests allow us to continually improve services offered and is noted. We hope that you will return soon to let us showcase our high standards of service once again!

Warm regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 2 347 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed Cape town - Hotel only fair - Rooms fine large and well equipped but be careful of room position - lower floors have poor view but higher floors have fabulous views. Breakfast fair for a buffett but service poor ask a member of staff for something she then goes off and forgets and have to ask and ask again.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and overlooked conference centre roof but understand from others higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Bob889,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences during your stay with us.

We try our best to offer the best service for our guest and for this reason rest ensured that all your feedback has been communicated to the concerned departments.

It is feedback from our valued guests that enables us to improve our service and facilities, we truly appreciate your comments and for bringing your experiences to our attention as we can use this to evaluate and rectify where we’ve gone wrong.

We sincerely hope that you would consider staying with us again in future to showcase our commitment to continuous improvement of our customer service.

Be Well, Be Westin,

Leon Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just checked out after severe gastro for 3 days. Informed manager that sickness was caused by Buffett breakfast as I didn’t eat outside hotel within 24hrs. He disagreed with me but would look at some sort of compensation. On checking out I met with the food and beverage manager. I told him how serious gastro is and how many deaths have occurred in Capetown. He didn’t even apologise and offered zero compo when his manager previously offered it.... staff generally are rude, unhelpful and I got the feeling everything was just too hard.
The Westin has such a powerful brand globally and this is by far the worst 5 star hotel I have stayed in. Avoid at all cost.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Luke K,

We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience.

Together with my Food & Beverage Team I can assure you we take matters such as this very seriously and as a result have followed through with all precautionary measures in order to ensure our food safety and hygiene standards remain as high as possible.



Kind regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Requested a table for two to have coffee with a colleague during Indaba conference. When I received the bill, I noticed that in addition to the coffee they charged me ZAR100 for renting the table for an hour. They had not informed me of this charge prior to me requesting the table.
When I spoke to the manager he advised me that they have signs and also that they placed a small slip on the table so I should have known. I felt completely ripped off and cheated.
The manager then proceeded to lecture me on how some people occupy tables for the whole day and that's why they charge (I was there for an hour).
The way they treated me and the fact that they argued with me shows they have utter disdain for their customers. Avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Marty1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marty1510,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit. I understand that your time with us was not all you hoped it would be.

Please send me an email at Leon.Meyer@westin.com so I can respond directly to you after I have had the opportunity to further investigate your concerns. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We are committed to providing exceptional guest experiences.

Be Well Be Westin,
Leon Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Large, modern rooms, with cozy beds and modern baths. Helpful, pleasant staff. The hotel provided a complementary shuttle to the V&A waterfront area. Great stay at a reasonable price. There is a stunning restaurant on the 19 th floor .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Danymed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Danymed,

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived. We value your feedback about our ON19 restaurant and our Heavenly beds.
Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Warm regards,

Leon Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 861 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 831 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 439 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#52 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 809 - R 5 525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing