We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Derri Horton

It’s the staff that make this place special

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Aug 2023
My mother and I recently spent 12 days at the garden court. I can honestly say it was a fantastic stay and it was made by the extra special by the staff.
The hotel itself is fairly standard, the room was clean and comfortable with everything you could need. The beds were comfortable and i particularly liked the pillows. They were cleaned well and I felt safe that if things were left out they wouldn’t be touched. Of course it’s wise to use the safe provided for valuables, which was very easy to use. My only issue would be the placement of the hardwired hairdryer, it was in a draw and you had to lean over a desk to see in the mirror which was awkward. And they could consider the lighting for a woman doing her makeup. But these as very minuscule issues.
The food was nice, not mind blowing but reasonably priced and very tasty. This said their curry special was very nice and i particularly enjoyed the breakfast, especially the different daily treats (try the chicken) and the eggs were made to order as to your taste.
The main treasure to this hotel are the people that work there! They are all incredibly friendly and helpful. In particular Noni who went above and beyond on more than one occasion helping me to get my hair braided, making the appointment and calling the lady personally and insuring I wasn’t taken advantage of. This lady is a true treasure to this hotel. Gabriella on the front desk also went above and beyond, helping us to book various day trip specifically the shark diving experience I’d always dreamed of. Herself and the other desk staff always ensured we were safe and secured taxis to and from anywhere we wanted to go even during the terrible strike that was going on at the time.
MT makes the most excellent cosmopolitans and always catered to our needs. The young lads such as zolisa and fortune to name a few looked after us very well and Robert oversaw it all so well, ensuring everything ran smoothly.
The pool is a hi light, for the few days we could get out there due to renovations, but it had everything you’d need and very nice facilities. Could do with cleaning due to natural debris (seeds from trees and leaves) but it really was nothing bad, I was still happy to get in even tho it was freezing lol! But it was their winter time.

Overall my mother and I was so happy with our stay and would happily go back and recommend this hotel to anyone. It’s really nicely located and walking distance from the waterfront and the conference centre where we were each day for the Netball World Cup. And the Spar just down the road which was fantastic.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicol Stevenson, Owner at Garden Court Victoria Junction, responded to this review
Responded 13 Aug 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Garden Court Victoria Junction
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at our property and we will pass on your comments and suggestions to the team. We hope that on your next trip to Cape Town, we would be fortunate enough to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Nicol Stevenson
Duty Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 143
R 2 662
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 120
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 120
  • Priceline
    R 2 851
1.1 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 375
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 375
  • eDreams
    R 4 332
  • Trip.com
    R 5 374
1.3 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 842
  • Priceline
    R 1 522
  • Vio.com
    R 1 479
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 763
0.5 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 909
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 479
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 489
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 478
1.3 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Pool
R 7 791
R 6 716
  • Booking.com
    R 6 716
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 720
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 716
1.6 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Pool
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
  • Vio.com
    R 3 079
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 080
2.5 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 860
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 796
  • Agoda.com
    R 739
  • Expedia.com
    R 773
1.1 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Pool
Restaurant
R 900
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 810
  • Hotels.com
    R 810
1.7 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 8 500
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 056
  • Official Site
    R 7 500
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 049
0.9 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
R 7 740
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 559
  • Priceline
    R 7 150
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 559
1.2 km from Garden Court Victoria Junction
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
285
380
127
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
285
380
127
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room protea hotel within walking distance breakfast buffet water front the hotel is clean business trip easy access comfortable rooms waterfront desk spar stadium uber sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2023

Friendly staff, the lofts feels like home away from home. You dont even have to queue for iron, you have one in your room, kitchen has everything from coffee machine to ice buckets, champagne and wine glasses, microwave etc

Best service, I would recommend😊

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZonkeZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Pringle, Owner at Garden Court Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2023

Dear Zonke

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review.

The team and I are delighted to receive your feedback, where the staff are mentioned for being friendly we take pride in our hotel staff that deliver friendly service. the loft is very comfortable, thank you for mentioning that is made you feel like you were at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Robert Pringle
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2023

We went on a trip to Cape Town from the United States. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly, helpful and gracious. Food in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel accommodations were comfortable and well done. Security is readily available on location. There are a number of easily navigated place to visit around the hotel, and if needed the hotel will provide a shuttle to specific locations. Hop On Hop Off tours are a quick 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. A must do in order to get an idea of what to see and do in Cape Town. The hotel is a great place to stay and we will be back.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2WingWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Pringle, Owner at Garden Court Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

Dear 2WingWorldTravelers

Thank you so much for providing us with your review.

The team and I are delighted that you chose our hotel as a point of stay, we are pleased to note that you found your room comfortable and our food offering excellent. The hotel is a close walk to many attractions and activities we are pleased to know that the team could assist with the location of the Hop On Hop Off bus.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Robert Pringle
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2023

Great staff.. absolutely helpful and friendly, checking frequently if we required anything. Breakfast was excellent.Room was very comfortable and clean. Hotel is centrally located with easy access to the Waterfront.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kasthurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Pringle, Owner at Garden Court Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Dear Kasthurieg

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us with your review.

The team and I are delighted to see that you had a great stay with us. The Housekeeping team take pride in the cleaning of the rooms so that all our guests have a comfortable stay home away from home. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast was excellent i know that Chef and his team will be happy to know they delivered nothing but an excellent breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Robert Pringle
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

The staff is wonderful and attentive. Unfortunately the location of the hotel isn’t great; especially for a single woman. There’s a homeless men’s shelter behind the hotel. One can not safely walk to the waterfront. Must take a taxi or Uber just to go one block.

Room tip: Walking alone ; especially at night should be avoided at all costs!
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 693melissaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Pringle, Owner at Garden Court Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2023

Dear Melissaf

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

The team and I are delighted to know that the staff are wonderful and attentive. We are aware of the homeless shelter under the bridge near the hotel, Cape Town Government are in the process of replacements of shelters with in the surroundings of Cape Town. The hotel is closely situated to the V&A Waterfront and the Cape Town DHL Stadium and is an easy walk along the fan walk to both attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Robert Pringle
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2023 via mobile

Every time we have business in the center of Cape Town we pop in at this hotel for breakfast. The staff are always attentive and friendly, the food is excellent and the variety of dishes are great. Although we have not stayed at the hotel, if the dining room and staff are considered, it would be my first choice if I had the need.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 964AnneM964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Pringle, Owner at Garden Court Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2023

Dear Anne M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is our pleasure to assist you while on business or on holiday, thank you for supporting our restaurant the team will be delighted to know your preferred breakfast in Cape Town is at Victoria Junction.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Robert Pringle
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews