We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$129
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$209
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$142
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
US$24
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
214
326
114
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
326
114
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgate tourloft roomsspar supermarketwithin walking distancebreakfast buffetmodern hotelwater frontminute walkper dayfree internetwaterfront arealocation is greatbusiness tripafter darkstayed here for nightshotel restaurantbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Stayed 4 nights here last December and it was great. When I checked in on Sunday night after over 24 hours of traveling I was greeted by a very personable member of staff, helping ease some of the stress.

My room was on the 3 floor, sizable and just right. Unfortunate situation was the drought Cape Town was going through which meant being conscious of water usage.

Breakfast was a buffet that was awesome and cost about $15. There are lots of other eating options around within walking distance as well as the V & A waterfront.

Loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olumuyiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Olumuyiwa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you found our rooms, friendly service and location ideal for your travel needs. Positive feedback like yours helps boost STAFF morale so we have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with our TEAM.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Nice location. One block from de waterkant and less than 10 minutes from the outstanding brand new Zeitz MOCAA.
Breakfast is worth. Rooms are very clean. To recommend.
Hotel restaurant makes the job done.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank campecampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear campecampe,

Thank you very much for writing a review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the activities our surrounding area have to offer. I will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the rest of the TEAM.

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Rooms are ok, but lower floors are quite noisy, difficult to sleep with traffic noise. The shower was very disappointing, I understand that water pressure will be lower due to water restrictions during the summer, however it was quite challenging to wash my long hair.
The mattress is firm and really comfortable.
The staff at reception was ok but quite slow for check in, for check out they were really good, though. Free Wi-Fi at the hotel and at a reasonable speed.
The hotel has an excellent location to visit V&A waterfront and there are nice restaurants within five minutes walking distance.
Breakfast is buffet style, very good options, except for the fruit with limited choice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank narnia0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction with us.

While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities. With aspiration to always exceed GUEST expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your visit. We will be sure to review your concerns with regards to the shower pressure as well as the check in procedure with the relevant departments and make every effort to improve on these going forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Candice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Rooms not ready upon check-in which was slightly frustrating bearing in mind we'd been travelling for 24 hours. Didn't have to wait more than a few hours and when we went to room, it was clean tidy and decent decor. Bathroom a bit tired but good variety of toiletries and clean thick towels.

The bed and pillows were probably the best we've ever slept on/in.

Noisy outside so my earplugs were handy. Aircon was on the loud side though so if that was on at night, it blocked out a lot of the beeping horns and shouting from outside.

It was safe to walk down to the Waterfront from the hotel, but we were advised by the cafe owner nearby, not to walk anywhere after 5pm as "all the weirdos come out" (his words)!

It took about 10/12 mins to walk down to the Waterfront from the hotel.

Staff at hotel were friendly. Concierge were helpful on the day our plans fell through to visit Boulders Beach and a guided tour was soon arranged for us.

Breakfast was really good. Plenty of choice - something for everyone.

Western Cape in a drought right now but we were still able to shower daily. We chose not to have our towels laundered though to try and help a bit.

Very easy to get around from this hotel as reasonably situated.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jo210968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear jo210968,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us!
Your compliments regarding our ideal location, clean rooms and delicious breakfast are hugely appreciated. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the TEAM to continue to motivate and inspire them to deliver exceptional GUEST service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Cape Town!

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Booked for 3 nights here. The room was ok, a little small, but not too bad. After a night of jet lag we looked forward to having a nice hot shower in the morning. Not to be. Our room had only cold water. I spoke with the desk and they sent a maintenance man up to check it out. After 5 minutes of running the water (in a severe drought period) we got a little hot water. I was told it was because the morning had a lot of people showering at that time. We went out for the day and returned at 4pm and tried to shower again. No hot water. A trip to the front desk was necessary to request a room change. They did accommodate us but it was not without some added stress to this otherwise great trip. Other issues included no change available at the front desk, couldn’t break a 100 and note. Entry into the hotel from the street is via 5 (?) stairs. With a lot of heavy luggage this can be difficult. Local shuttle service is available for a small fee. Drinking water for the room is available upon request.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction with us.

While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback regarding the service our team provided caught my attention.
As a Marriott Rewards Silver MEMBER, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated your Intent to Recommend an “3”; however, we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities. With aspiration to always exceed GUEST expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your visit. We will be sure to review your concerns with the relevant departments and make every effort to improve on these going forward.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Regards
Candice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews