We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room, terrible shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

the room was perfect, but with the water shortage in cape town, water pressure in the showers is slowed to a trickle. it was difficult to feel clean, and i felt like i had to take a longer shower than usual. it wasn’t important to me, but the water shortage also meant the pool was closed. wifi was pretty slow, and capped (though i didn’t hit the limit). i chose this hotel because i’m marriott elite, but there were no perks. price was reasonable and i felt safe walking around at night. there are great restaurants nearby as you head towards green point.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Dane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Dane D,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us!

While it was a pleasure having you here as our GUEST, we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities. We will be sure to review your concerns regarding the Wi-Fi and shower water pressure with the relevant departments and make every effort to improve on these going forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Stayed 4 nights here last December and it was great. When I checked in on Sunday night after over 24 hours of traveling I was greeted by a very personable member of staff, helping ease some of the stress.

My room was on the 3 floor, sizable and just right. Unfortunate situation was the drought Cape Town was going through which meant being conscious of water usage.

Breakfast was a buffet that was awesome and cost about $15. There are lots of other eating options around within walking distance as well as the V & A waterfront.

Loved it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olumuyiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Olumuyiwa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you found our rooms, friendly service and location ideal for your travel needs. Positive feedback like yours helps boost STAFF morale so we have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with our TEAM.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Nice location. One block from de waterkant and less than 10 minutes from the outstanding brand new Zeitz MOCAA.
Breakfast is worth. Rooms are very clean. To recommend.
Hotel restaurant makes the job done.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank campecampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear campecampe,

Thank you very much for writing a review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the activities our surrounding area have to offer. I will be sure to share your encouraging feedback with the rest of the TEAM.

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Rooms are ok, but lower floors are quite noisy, difficult to sleep with traffic noise. The shower was very disappointing, I understand that water pressure will be lower due to water restrictions during the summer, however it was quite challenging to wash my long hair.
The mattress is firm and really comfortable.
The staff at reception was ok but quite slow for check in, for check out they were really good, though. Free Wi-Fi at the hotel and at a reasonable speed.
The hotel has an excellent location to visit V&A waterfront and there are nice restaurants within five minutes walking distance.
Breakfast is buffet style, very good options, except for the fruit with limited choice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank narnia0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction with us.

While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities. With aspiration to always exceed GUEST expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your visit. We will be sure to review your concerns with regards to the shower pressure as well as the check in procedure with the relevant departments and make every effort to improve on these going forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Kind Regards
Candice Jansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Rooms not ready upon check-in which was slightly frustrating bearing in mind we'd been travelling for 24 hours. Didn't have to wait more than a few hours and when we went to room, it was clean tidy and decent decor. Bathroom a bit tired but good variety of toiletries and clean thick towels.

The bed and pillows were probably the best we've ever slept on/in.

Noisy outside so my earplugs were handy. Aircon was on the loud side though so if that was on at night, it blocked out a lot of the beeping horns and shouting from outside.

It was safe to walk down to the Waterfront from the hotel, but we were advised by the cafe owner nearby, not to walk anywhere after 5pm as "all the weirdos come out" (his words)!

It took about 10/12 mins to walk down to the Waterfront from the hotel.

Staff at hotel were friendly. Concierge were helpful on the day our plans fell through to visit Boulders Beach and a guided tour was soon arranged for us.

Breakfast was really good. Plenty of choice - something for everyone.

Western Cape in a drought right now but we were still able to shower daily. We chose not to have our towels laundered though to try and help a bit.

Very easy to get around from this hotel as reasonably situated.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jo210968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear jo210968,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us!
Your compliments regarding our ideal location, clean rooms and delicious breakfast are hugely appreciated. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the TEAM to continue to motivate and inspire them to deliver exceptional GUEST service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Cape Town!

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wha...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
363 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Cast...
#89 of 112 in Cape Town Central
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#83 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction

Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#55 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 539 - R 2 844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing