We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Spend a couple of night here recently while on business in the area. Neat, clean, great speed internet access, room service really good, excellent breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location near the waterfront and highways. Perfect for a short business trip!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank PatBar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear PatBar2

Thank you for your words of appreciation and giving us your feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF their exemplary service.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction again soon.

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 277 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2015

We stayed in several Protea Hotels during our South African tour and this was the only one that fell short of my expectations. One of our biggest issues was that we had a second floor room close to the intersection of two main streets. The windows were only single pain and could be opened to outside. That would be fine except that it meant the room was not only not well soundproofed, but we could clearly make out the conversations being held by people waiting for the lights to change at the intersection - with the windows closed. The traffic noise and horns made sleeping a challenge. Earplugs did not shut the noise out. We were there for several days and there was no storage that would permit unpacking. They stuck a small metal rack in the closet which was of little value. There was a mirror in the main room which would have been ideal for putting on make-up etc. but it was on a wall with a desk affixed to it, lengthwise, rendering it totally useless unless you wanted to sit cross-legged on the desk. The full length mirror in another corner had no lighting nearby. The first afternoon, our telephone rang twice, one ring, with nobody at the other end. We reported it but nothing was done. Then it happened during the first night, twice and the front desk told us to take the phone off the hook; tricky when you are expecting a wake-up call in the morning. When it happened again the second night, twice between 12 and 2 AM, we had to go to the front desk and make a serious complaint. Location was ideal though, with access to the waterfront area so close by.

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can and away from the main intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sheila020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Sheila020

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about the shortcomings you experienced certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Victoria Junction is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your comments have been followed up and remedial action has been taken to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in this way again.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong! Thank you for assisting us to strive for service excellence.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction again soon.

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Loved this modern hotel for its huge rooms, huge bed, and prompt service. Great value for money. Location is suberb. Well appointed rooms, excellent breakfast buffet and room service food was also good.

Room Tip: Some rooms are far from elevator so if you don't want a long walk tell them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear BarbaraJoubert

Thank you for your words of appreciation and giving us your feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction and to hearing from you again!

Kind regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I travel frequently to Cape Town on business and the Protea Hotel VJ Waterfront is conveniently situated within walking distance of my companies head office. It is difficult to describe the service I receive from the staff at this hotel. I am greeted by name every time I walk in, upgraded to one of the loft style apartments located on the 5th floor - EVERYTIME...... and the staff have even contacted my personal assistant in Johannesburg to find out what my favorite things are.... Which happens to be sugar free Red Bull..... So I find a supply of these in my suite as a complimentary gift EVERYTIME. Now if I was staying at the One and Only..... That may not be remarkable..... But I am not and this just blows me away. The VJ has become my home away from home..... and I will unreservedly recommend this hotel to clients and colleagues alike. I would like to specifically mention Gareth who works the front desk..... This young man is a real asset to Protea Hotels and I hope his dedication and professionalism is recognized. Danie Smit and his team need to be congratulated for constantly striving for client satisfaction.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Andrew S

Thank you for your words of appreciation after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction and to hearing from you again!

Kind regards,

Danie Smit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is located close to Victoria Wharf where we got to spend some time due to the weather conditions- to shop and eat.

The room is clean but missing some touches that I expected and Im not sure if this is how 4 star properties are (no room slippers, robes, fridge and just a bottle of complimentary water for 2 ppl staying in the room.

The staff are friendly and helpful- from the reception, checkin and the free shuttle service.

Its just that there was a mix up with the taxi request we made. We made the request directly with the front desk the night before as we have an early checkout the next day. early morning came and the front desk manager wasnt made aware of such request. And it was 3 am and luckily it was easy to find a cab at that time otherwise we will [might] miss our flight. The staff was polite, courteous and apologetic but coordination between the staff can be improved.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear Kathleen A

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction again soon.

Kind Regards,

Danie Smit
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#89 of 112 in Cape Town Central
219 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 032 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 683 - R3 219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing