We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
2
7
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
7
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Very convenient to waterfront and shops-easy walking distance. Very clean, good sized rooms and clean bathrooms, very comfy beds and pillows for a hostel. Free wifi, good cooked breakfast reasonably priced.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Jules_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed every minute there! The staff is fantastic, wifi is good, hot water in the shower, clean and a free kitchen to use! 35$ for a double room. The location is perfect- 15 minutes walk from the center and the area is very safe and quite.
We ranted a car and the guarde was checking the car every hour. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinorush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week (only planned a few days) due to how amazing Cape Town was and the fact that the people at the hostel were great. We spent many nights at the bar in the hostel and met some amazing people. Definitely not the fanciest hostel but no complaints whatsoever. Downside for us was that when we were there both the hostel itself and the bar only took cash, not that it was terribly expensive but it would have been nice to use credit for the room cost. All in all I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchmanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

for location price and too meet people this is the place to be. It is a hostel dont forget! I had a private room which was basic and clean. You can have breakfast at this place, they can help out with tours, they have their own bar which is great too meet other people. there is also a tv room. Not too fancy but a nice place. You can cook your own meals as well. Just on the corner there is a stylish restaurant and next to that a little supermarket where you can also get cheap food. 10 minute is a McDonalds. 10 minute walk and you be at waterfront. It is safe to walk this at night as well. to walk to downtown is like 20 minutes. they pick you up from the airport if needed. for the budget traveller a perfect place if you wanna be at Green point and close to waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I were disappointed in our stay at Big Blue Hostel. We had a double room with private bathroom, which was disgustingly moldy and made the entire room stink. And, a cockroach came crawling through our room one evening --gross!
The staff were friendly but not particularly helpful in offering us things to do in Cape Town and up north in Namibia. We had planned to book trips thru the Hostel, but decided against it because we felt like we couldn't get a straight answer from anyone there.
The location is okay. About 10 minute walk to the waterfront and 25 minute walk to the main downtown area.
If I were to go back to Cape Town, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews