We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position close to V and A Waterfront”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights at the start of our tour of South Africa. Staff friendly and helpful. Room comfortable with tea and coffee facilities and cosmetics. Breakfast was very good, we tried two meals at the sister hotel The Commodore but they were of similar quality on both sites. We also ate in the hotel each evening as we were too tired from exploring to venture far and the quality was again very good, also one could have a snack or a full meal in the restaurant. The swimming pool was small and covered for part of the day because of the drought issues but we didn't actually use it.

Room Tip: I don't think there are many rooms with views
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BiscuitHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.

Muneeb Eksteen
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found myself staying in Cape Town when my husband had a stroke and we were therefore not able to take our booked cruise. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at the hotel as they knew my circumstances and went out of their way to make me feel welcome, safe and were very caring without being intrusive. For the rest of my life I will remember their collective kindness to me. I believe people make a difference to every business and certainly The Portswood Hotel has great staff i.e. from the staff at the front door, reception staff, dining room/kitchen staff, bar staff and the ladies who looked after my room. The food whether your are talking about breakfast, lunch or dinner is simply excellent (and there is a lot of it - probably too much). Unfortunately I have a food allergy (sulphates) which means I am not able to eat a lot of things without getting violently ill. The chefs were fantastic; they would cook my meal without the things which I cannot eat. The food tasted and looked great. My room was certainly large enough for me and was very well maintained. I had a separate bathroom and overlooked the swimming pool. Whilst it was a short, safe walk to the V & A Waterfront Area the surrounds of the immediate hotel were so peaceful with good outdoor areas to sit quietly. When my husband was discharged from hospital he also stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and fully supports my view. We provided a review direct to the hotel which named specific staff members who went out of their way to be helpful and supportive to me. The Portswood Hotel is a real gem. I don't make this statement lightly as my husband and I have been travelling the world regularly since 1978 and have stayed in many hotels across a wide variety of countries.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Evron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of hosting a group at the Portswood Hotel prior to boarding a cruise out of Cape Town. The staff are very welcoming and highly efficient. The rooms were very nicely appointed and one’s every need was catered for.
They also have a traditional Cape Malay buffet that I found very tasty, although those who do not like spicy food should order from their ala carte menu. The hotel is a few paces from the wonderful world of dining, shopping and entertainment and it gets a definate thumbs up from me!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is well located within a couple of 100m of the waterfront and all that has to offer.
Although the hotel was comfortable there are areas that would benefit from updating. The service was good but not too many smiley faces apart from the door staff and a couple of waiting staff.
Breakfast was good and set you up for the day. Due to the water restrictions the pool was unavailable and the A/c in our room was extremely noisy. But overall all a pleasant enough stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights.
The hotel arranged airport transfers for us which was very helpful and booked all our trips.
Breakfast was good.
Comfy, clean rooms.
There was a drought so couldn’t use the hotel pool however we were able to use the pool in another hotel. This was perfect and never too busy! The pool was only open a few hours but this didn’t cause any issues.
All the staff are so friendly and helpful especially the bar staff.
The location is excellent very close to the V&A waterfront. Close and safe to walk.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town
Had an amazing stay
Thank you

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,1 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 384 reviews
0,2 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 617 reviews
0,1 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,2 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 089 reviews
0,6 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#54 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 577 reviews
1,3 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 625 - R 4 355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing