We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in the heart of the V&A Waterfront!”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of hosting a group at the Portswood Hotel prior to boarding a cruise out of Cape Town. The staff are very welcoming and highly efficient. The rooms were very nicely appointed and one’s every need was catered for.
They also have a traditional Cape Malay buffet that I found very tasty, although those who do not like spicy food should order from their ala carte menu. The hotel is a few paces from the wonderful world of dining, shopping and entertainment and it gets a definate thumbs up from me!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is well located within a couple of 100m of the waterfront and all that has to offer.
Although the hotel was comfortable there are areas that would benefit from updating. The service was good but not too many smiley faces apart from the door staff and a couple of waiting staff.
Breakfast was good and set you up for the day. Due to the water restrictions the pool was unavailable and the A/c in our room was extremely noisy. But overall all a pleasant enough stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights.
The hotel arranged airport transfers for us which was very helpful and booked all our trips.
Breakfast was good.
Comfy, clean rooms.
There was a drought so couldn’t use the hotel pool however we were able to use the pool in another hotel. This was perfect and never too busy! The pool was only open a few hours but this didn’t cause any issues.
All the staff are so friendly and helpful especially the bar staff.
The location is excellent very close to the V&A waterfront. Close and safe to walk.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town
Had an amazing stay
Thank you

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ports World is located in a great location just a short walk from the Waterfront area. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff was extremely welcoming. On our final day, they arranged to have a packed breakfast as our pick up was before breakfast opened. The WiFi was good and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We even had some laundry done and they were able to have that completed quickly. Would definitely recommend this location for people visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Portswood for 3 nights on our first visit to Cape Town. Location by the V&A was perfect for a first timer to Cape Town and getting around was Easy. I
We moved for our first room as it was on the. 2nd floor right by the entrance so knew from previous reviews it could be noisy. Got a room more to the back which was better still on 2nd floor. However the Air con would have drowned out any noise from outside as it was like a jet engine all night. There were only one double plug socket in the room which was under the desk so plugging in phones ,hairdryers etc was not easy. We was offered a extension lead ! The room was also poorly lit. Staff were where helpful and breakfast buffet was good. We would not stay here again as it was a bit too basic.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ddsmithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest


We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Regards



Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,1 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 384 reviews
0,2 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 616 reviews
0,1 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,2 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 088 reviews
0,6 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 577 reviews
1,3 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 630 - R 4 371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing