We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The PortsWood
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$147
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
285
372
116
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
372
116
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsister hotelfew minutes walkbreakfast was includedwaterfront areatravel deskhop on hop off busrobben islandturn down servicequiet locationtravel agentstayed here for nightsstandard roomcomfortable roomsmall poolwater frontsafe area
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is well located within a couple of 100m of the waterfront and all that has to offer.
Although the hotel was comfortable there are areas that would benefit from updating. The service was good but not too many smiley faces apart from the door staff and a couple of waiting staff.
Breakfast was good and set you up for the day. Due to the water restrictions the pool was unavailable and the A/c in our room was extremely noisy. But overall all a pleasant enough stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights.
The hotel arranged airport transfers for us which was very helpful and booked all our trips.
Breakfast was good.
Comfy, clean rooms.
There was a drought so couldn’t use the hotel pool however we were able to use the pool in another hotel. This was perfect and never too busy! The pool was only open a few hours but this didn’t cause any issues.
All the staff are so friendly and helpful especially the bar staff.
The location is excellent very close to the V&A waterfront. Close and safe to walk.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town
Had an amazing stay
Thank you

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Ports World is located in a great location just a short walk from the Waterfront area. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff was extremely welcoming. On our final day, they arranged to have a packed breakfast as our pick up was before breakfast opened. The WiFi was good and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We even had some laundry done and they were able to have that completed quickly. Would definitely recommend this location for people visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Portswood for 3 nights on our first visit to Cape Town. Location by the V&A was perfect for a first timer to Cape Town and getting around was Easy. I
We moved for our first room as it was on the. 2nd floor right by the entrance so knew from previous reviews it could be noisy. Got a room more to the back which was better still on 2nd floor. However the Air con would have drowned out any noise from outside as it was like a jet engine all night. There were only one double plug socket in the room which was under the desk so plugging in phones ,hairdryers etc was not easy. We was offered a extension lead ! The room was also poorly lit. Staff were where helpful and breakfast buffet was good. We would not stay here again as it was a bit too basic.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ddsmithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest


We have noted your comments which has been raised with the Head of Department/s in order to ensure that corrective and remedial action is implemented.

We hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Regards



Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The hotel is comfortable, nothing special, nut simple and clean. what is amazing is the location, just few steps from the Waterfront!
Breakfast is very good and also room service is quite nice. perfect starting point to visit the city

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leprottinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The PortsWood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later.


Gregory Wilson
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews