We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Milner
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$107
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
245
225
56
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
225
56
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountainkloof streetluxury roompool areabusiness tripbusy roadvery nice hotelcomfortable stayreception staffenjoyed our stayhotel is situateda great staybars and restaurantsrooms are spaciousstayed nightscamps baywaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here through Intrepid tours in Sept. 2016. Was her for about 5 nights. Very upscale place, very clean and comfortable. Service and food was great and the people very so very friendly and willing to help you with anything you needed. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear Deb249

I am delighted to read the wonderful comments you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding The Cape Milner. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The hotel is a bit dated and has some odd attributes.

The pros - all the staff we met were helpful and could not do enough to make our stay good. I will mention two in particular Jeremiah who always was cheerful and wanting to help and Desiree the F&B manager who looked after us so well in the restaurant. As I have said the location is excellent in the City Bowl in a mainly residential area but still close to Kloof Street with its restaurants. It has a good car park under the hotel and only changes ZAR 50 per day to park (just over £3). It has great views of Table Mountain but NOT from many of there bedrooms!

The cons - we booked a Luxury room as the hotel web site said these were larger than the standard ones, which was true. BUT the web site did not say they were in an annex not connected to the main hotel with external doors and people walking past the windows. You had to cross the open pool area and go up lots of steps to get to your room, which would not have been fun if the weather was not as good as we had. The Luxury rooms are also very dark, even the ones on the second floor with trees close to the windows and certainly do not have any view at all, they look over a side street. Certainly no views of Table Mountain except from the front passageway that runs outside the rooms.
The other disappointing thing was the lack of consistent standards, an example being that there were no face clothes in our room and although being told that they should be in the bedrooms, we had to ask for them nearly every day of our 10 night stay for some. We were told the the General Manager was extremely particular and had high standards but there was little evidence of this.

Although we enjoyed our stay despite the comments made above, would we go back? Probably not, which is a shame as the staff we met were great.

Room Tip: The standard rooms which look towards Table Mountain if you want a view.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear John B

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that the Staff were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Desiree and Jeremia in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in our Lux Suites as they are very popular. I am very pleased to announce in the next 3 months we are upgrading this suites.

I do hope we can welcome you back to make up for the shortfalls of this stay.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Really nice place to stay in Cape Town, just a shame we couldnt stay longer.

The food and drinks were excellent and so cheap. The hotel staff were great and were able to help with everything we asked.

Only downside (and its very minor) was that we could hear the street noise from the room.

Overall great stay, and we would happily re-visit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamieOliver1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear JamieOliver1986

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent service offered and I will congratulate our Team for doing a good job!

This year we will be double glazing our 1st and 2nd floor which will definitely help block out the noise from the road.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The Hotel was nice and relaxing. Could use a Business Center in the lobby and a bigger pool area. The food was excellent and very good room service. The Hotel Staff were very nice and were able to address all of your needs.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnWilson4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear JohnWilson4560

Thank you for all of your positive words about your recent stay. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Cape Milner again soon.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. it is small and intimate. The staff are all very friendly and helpfull. The rooms on the roadside are quite noisy if you are a light sleeper. Would suggest requesting an inside room.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A6047UXstuartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear A6047UXstuart

Thank you for your favourable feedback that you shared with us on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an enjoyable stay and it is wonderful to hear that you found our staff friendly. Please note should you request a room off the street please kindly get in touch with us prior to your arrival.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews