We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Milner
Ranked #27 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
2 reviews
“Very nice Hotel in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2017

Love this hotel! Very nice staff and service.
Are working in Production and this hotel work very good for that.
Nice breakfast and has a pool.
Close to Kloofstreet and nice restaurants.
Recommend to stay at ,-)

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mariehelenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mariehelenam

Thank you for your review and for staying at The Cape Milner.

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    181
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
45
155
47
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed here through Intrepid tours in Sept. 2016. Was her for about 5 nights. Very upscale place, very clean and comfortable. Service and food was great and the people very so very friendly and willing to help you with anything you needed. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Deb249

I am delighted to read the wonderful comments you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding The Cape Milner. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2017

The hotel is a bit dated and has some odd attributes.

The pros - all the staff we met were helpful and could not do enough to make our stay good. I will mention two in particular Jeremiah who always was cheerful and wanting to help and Desiree the F&B manager who looked after us so well in the restaurant. As I have said the location is excellent in the City Bowl in a mainly residential area but still close to Kloof Street with its restaurants. It has a good car park under the hotel and only changes ZAR 50 per day to park (just over £3). It has great views of Table Mountain but NOT from many of there bedrooms!

The cons - we booked a Luxury room as the hotel web site said these were larger than the standard ones, which was true. BUT the web site did not say they were in an annex not connected to the main hotel with external doors and people walking past the windows. You had to cross the open pool area and go up lots of steps to get to your room, which would not have been fun if the weather was not as good as we had. The Luxury rooms are also very dark, even the ones on the second floor with trees close to the windows and certainly do not have any view at all, they look over a side street. Certainly no views of Table Mountain except from the front passageway that runs outside the rooms.
The other disappointing thing was the lack of consistent standards, an example being that there were no face clothes in our room and although being told that they should be in the bedrooms, we had to ask for them nearly every day of our 10 night stay for some. We were told the the General Manager was extremely particular and had high standards but there was little evidence of this.

Although we enjoyed our stay despite the comments made above, would we go back? Probably not, which is a shame as the staff we met were great.

Room Tip: The standard rooms which look towards Table Mountain if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear John B

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that the Staff were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of Desiree and Jeremia in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience in our Lux Suites as they are very popular. I am very pleased to announce in the next 3 months we are upgrading this suites.

I do hope we can welcome you back to make up for the shortfalls of this stay.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2017

Really nice place to stay in Cape Town, just a shame we couldnt stay longer.

The food and drinks were excellent and so cheap. The hotel staff were great and were able to help with everything we asked.

Only downside (and its very minor) was that we could hear the street noise from the room.

Overall great stay, and we would happily re-visit.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieOliver1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JamieOliver1986

We are delighted to receive your commendations about the excellent service offered and I will congratulate our Team for doing a good job!

This year we will be double glazing our 1st and 2nd floor which will definitely help block out the noise from the road.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2017

The Hotel was nice and relaxing. Could use a Business Center in the lobby and a bigger pool area. The food was excellent and very good room service. The Hotel Staff were very nice and were able to address all of your needs.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnWilson4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 15 March 2017
Dear JohnWilson4560

Thank you for all of your positive words about your recent stay. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Cape Milner again soon.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 355 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1 002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Property: Cape Milner
Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R1 554 - R3 029
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing