We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique and personal wishing walking distance to great restaurants and bars”
Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Milner
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We are were traveling with two very young kids and arrived very early off an 11 hours flight. The staff and the service here were fantastics, more than helpful every time and very accommodating - children feel cherished rather than an annoyance.

Room Tip: Not sure as we stayed two nights
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear KEC70

What a fantastic review and we appreciate the time that you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback.

I am thrilled that your family felt welcome and looked after at The CApe Milner.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Cape Milner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017

A perfect place to stay at, really kind and friendly atmosphere. Nice location in Cape Town. A lot of restaurants and bars nearby and with a good view of the Table Mountain. Will revisit any time! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annjoh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear annjoh2017

I am delighted to read the wonderful comments you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding The Cape Milner. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is a great establishment situated in a beautiful part of the mother city. The glass lounge is unique and a great place to grab a cocktail, albeit a bit warm on a hot Cape Town day. The pool setting is great and the view from the pool is world class. Our room was comfy although the bed could have been bigger...The only issue we had with this establishment is the kitchen. It really offers a rather 'tired' breakfast and the food does not look very appetizing or fresh...we had a couple of interactions with the kitchen during our 6 day stay and we were left with the lasting impression that this great establishment is let down hugely by the kitchen..both food service and food quality need work and would go a long way in ensuring patrons leave this establishment with a desire to return. We really enjoyed our stay at the Cape Milner but the kitchen situation left a bad taste in our collective mouths~

Stayed: December 2016
Thank garyh51904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear garyh51904

We welcome your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Cape Milner.

Your concerns about the kitchen are most certainly not the standard which we strive for. Please accept my sincere apologies and I can assure you that this has been addressed with the Team. I would very much like to address these concerns with you personally please can you make contact with me on gm@capemilner.com or alternatively 021 426 1101.

Your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I am Capetonian by birth, but have been living in Johannesburg for the last twenty years. Most of my holidays and business trips are International. I do however try to get back to my hometown two to three times a year. When visiting the Cape in the past, it has usually been at a high end hotel offering. It was a refreshing experience to have top quality service at a very reasonable rate over the peak holiday season at a very discreet hotel. I would describe it as hidden gem!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Jeanine B

I am delighted to read the wonderful comments you have posted on TripAdvisor regarding The Cape Milner. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you.

I am concerned though that you rated us average on the score, are there any areas where we let you down?

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Stayed here for four nights on a visit to Cape Town and won't return there on my next Cape Town visit. The view from my room was of Table mountain but that was the only positive for me. The hotel is situated on a very main road and there is traffic on that road from early morning until late at night. The curtains in the room let the light in, so between the road noise and the early morning sunshine, getting a nights sleep was almost impossible. It is a 4 star hotel, yet there was no conditioner in the bathroom and if you have long hair, you can't wash you hair without the use of conditioner. I asked on Wed for conditioner & got it on Sat!! Also the wait for food in the restaurant in the evening was excessive, 45 mins wait for a main course for one person and the restaurant wasn't busy, so not sure how the food could take so long.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear Maura D

We welcome your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Cape Milner.

Your concerns about your experience are most certainly not the standard which we strive for. Please accept my sincere apologies and I can assure you that this has been addressed with the Team.

We are fortunate to have such incredible views of Cape Town and are pleased that they helped to start your day on a positive note.

Please kindly contact me on gm@capemilner.com as I would like to investigate certain of your issues further.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 111 in Cape Town Central
234 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 111 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 111 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 271 - R3 787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing