We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb and Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Milner
Ranked #25 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb and Elegant”
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I was not meant to stay at the Cape Milner but because of late booking our agent booked us at this hotel. I have travelled across South Africa and this place is the best. The accommodation, the bed, the bathroom, the bed and the size of the rooms are excellent. Top floor rooms have the views of Central Cape town and Table mountain. Their rooms' size is three times larger than your normal hotel. I ordered dinner from the restaurant and the price was good and the food was op quality. Breakfast was also top notch. The staff think ahead and understand and anticipate your needs. They are also very kind and always available. If you want to stay in central Cape town this is the place to be. The price is very affordable.

Room Tip: Book upper floor rooms they have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Dear Steve M

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback after your recent stay with us. It most certainly seems like you had a wonderful stay and that is what we aim to achieve for every Guest.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to The Cape Milner again soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    180
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
45
154
47
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Good hotel : location, design, service, staff, food... but rioms are noisy (auto trafic) due to poor isolation from windows/wall. Avoir rooms beat the main road.
Bathroom in room 507 strange for a luxurious room.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank francoisg397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Dear francoisg397

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay and would like to apologise for the noise issues in your room.

We hope to welcome you back to make up for the shortfalls of your cerement stay with us.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We (3 couples) stayed at this hotel during our visit to Cape Town at the end of a two-week safari tour. We lucked out when we picked the Cape Milner hotel after doing what seemed like hours of on-line searching months before our stay. Tucked away in a neighborhood area, this hotel makes up for being a ways from downtown and the harbor with a stunning view of Table Mountain, responsive shuttle service, stellar staff and delightful accommodations. After two weeks with modest water pressure, the shower in the hotel was heavenly!. It was the wrong season to take advantage of the pool, but it looked nice.

We were happy that we opted to get the breakfast with the room reservation as the choices were plentiful. We learned on day two that made-to-order eggs were available. Getting decaf coffee was a little problematic when the dining room was busy as they make it on request.

Although all of our interactions with staff were pleasant, Tyler at the front desk provided us with exceptional service including booking tours, making dining reservations and arranging transportation. Patrick and Aladdin also added to our overall excellent experience with their suggestions, advice and humor. Although we don't remember his name, our waiter on the last night's dinner in the hotel was superb. We really appreciated his handling an on-the-spot request for a candle in a dessert to celebrate a birthday.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pgranger1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 7 November 2016
Dear pgranger1976

What a fantastic review and we appreciate the time that you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback. The Staff are committed to providing the best Guest service and your feedback affirms their efforts, which I will definitely pass on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel..

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

On a hillside with views of Table mountain, friendly effortless check in, spacious room, big bathroom with the luxury of a lovely deep modern bathtub. Just off Kloof St where there are many restaurants within walking distance. We chose to dine in the hotel restaurant more than once as it was excellent.
Breakfast was included in our room, there are many choices of hot and continental food items. The staff welcome you on arrival and are friendly and smiling. Great comfortable bar area with a glass roof to give an outdoor appeal. There is free guest wifi and the rooms have an array of charger points which was very much appreciated.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AsianItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 7 November 2016
Dear AsianItalian

What a fantastic review and we appreciate the time that you have taken to provide us with valuable feedback.

I am thrilled that that you highly recommend The Cape Milner and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Natasha Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanston, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I was on a conference at this hotel. On arrival I ordered a Sprite Zero. They didn't have any. I took a Tab. Service was excellent. The venue stunning and the conference rooms great. We did have an electrical issue but they put extension leads in place. And the came the bill for my drink. R28 for a Tab? And R50 for a beer afterwards. Ridiculous! Spoiled the conference and still leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank leonards954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBCapeTown, General Manager at Cape Milner, responded to this review, 7 November 2016
Dear leonards954

Thank you for your review about The Cape Milner.

I would like to apologise for the electrical issue experienced and I am glad there was minimal disruption to your conference. Our beverage pricing is very much in line with our competitor hotels however we are unable to compete with restaurant pricing.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and that we can make up for the shortcomings of this experience.

Kind regards

Natasha Powell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
406 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
336 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1 352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Property: Cape Milner
Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): R1 579 - R2 987
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing