We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
123
268
101
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
268
101
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction workminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomsbuffet breakfastsecure parkingrobben islandtable mountainwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

The location is about 10mins walking from the waterfront and about 20mins to the centre but using a uber taxi will cost you about 27R and very good service. The staff were always with a smile and also left us some sweets since it was our honeymoon. The breakfast had a big choice. There is a pool area but no pool. I think a pool here would be nice to relax.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us Deborah. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

This was a great find for us: literally at the edge of the Waterfront less than a five-minute walk to the heart of all the bustle but quietly tucked away from the throngs. Service is wonderful, all staff magnificently helpful, fantastic public spaces (great dining room, bar, business center, pool, outside deck, gym) and beautifully equipped rooms with all you'd need. Also, with lower rates than hotels on the Waterfront, the value is extraordinary. This will be where we stay in Cape Town from now on!

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NadineHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us Nadine. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our facilities; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves on! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Quite close to Waterfront - 10 minutes walking distance. At the same time, close to major cross roads making it easy to leave the place in case going outside the city or vice versa going back to hotel by car.
Hotel rooms are very basic, furniture are not the fresh one, but in good condition, tea amenities available, safe locker as well. Since Cape town experience a shortage of water - only shower is available, bath is not appreciate.
Breakfast is rather good even though service for coffee is slow, but it is common for SA.
Hotel has big parking space in the hotel yard.
At the moment there are construction works going opposite to back side, so it is quite noisy from 7 am till 6 pm.
For dinner i would recommend to spent some time and go to Waterfront. Staff at the reception is quite helpful and can give you good recommendation as well as book the table for you.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Cktgjq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a exhibition and seminar at the Cape Town convention center. The Monday night we decided to eat at the hotel as we had to put up our exhibit, apart from not having some items on the menu the hamburgers and so called chips (crisps were served) rated as one of the worst I have ever ever eaten. The rooms are small but neat, but expensive for what you get. Nearby guest houses seem to be a better option. The location is convenient if attending a conference at the Cape Town convention centre.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dennisvh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We’re happy that you liked the location of our hotel and found your room to be neat and tidy. We are sorry to hear about your negative #Café dining experience - we will look into improving this and can share that hot chips are currently being introduced to our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Excellently priced hotel situated 15 mins from the bustling V&A Waterfront. Friendly welcoming staff always on hand to offer advice, good travel desk. No pool despite having a pool area? Very good breakfast. Rooms and spacious and well equipped and clean. Overall a very nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andrewbG6433JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews