We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #68 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Quite close to Waterfront - 10 minutes walking distance. At the same time, close to major cross roads making it easy to leave the place in case going outside the city or vice versa going back to hotel by car.
Hotel rooms are very basic, furniture are not the fresh one, but in good condition, tea amenities available, safe locker as well. Since Cape town experience a shortage of water - only shower is available, bath is not appreciate.
Breakfast is rather good even though service for coffee is slow, but it is common for SA.
Hotel has big parking space in the hotel yard.
At the moment there are construction works going opposite to back side, so it is quite noisy from 7 am till 6 pm.
For dinner i would recommend to spent some time and go to Waterfront. Staff at the reception is quite helpful and can give you good recommendation as well as book the table for you.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Cktgjq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here while attending a exhibition and seminar at the Cape Town convention center. The Monday night we decided to eat at the hotel as we had to put up our exhibit, apart from not having some items on the menu the hamburgers and so called chips (crisps were served) rated as one of the worst I have ever ever eaten. The rooms are small but neat, but expensive for what you get. Nearby guest houses seem to be a better option. The location is convenient if attending a conference at the Cape Town convention centre.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dennisvh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us. We’re happy that you liked the location of our hotel and found your room to be neat and tidy. We are sorry to hear about your negative #Café dining experience - we will look into improving this and can share that hot chips are currently being introduced to our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Excellently priced hotel situated 15 mins from the bustling V&A Waterfront. Friendly welcoming staff always on hand to offer advice, good travel desk. No pool despite having a pool area? Very good breakfast. Rooms and spacious and well equipped and clean. Overall a very nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andrewbG6433JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The hotel is in walking distance to the water front (about 10-15mins away) and certainly the best option when you're on a budget. Rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet (there was some construction going on during the day when I was there but that's not their fault). The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet is affordable and has a good selection. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: the road in front of the hotel is rather busy, rooms facing the mountains might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hermann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Went to this hotel on a business trip. Unfortunately there was drought in Cape Town and there were water restrictions, but this did not have too much impact on the guests. The hotel is rather basic with limited amenities.

However the hotel is located close to V&A Waterfront, walking distance, which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water restrictions. We are glad, however, that you did find the location convenient. We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
1,1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
847 reviews
1,5 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
0,8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 599 reviews
0,6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 573 - R2 286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing