We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The hotel is in walking distance to the water front (about 10-15mins away) and certainly the best option when you're on a budget. Rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet (there was some construction going on during the day when I was there but that's not their fault). The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet is affordable and has a good selection. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: the road in front of the hotel is rather busy, rooms facing the mountains might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hermann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

Went to this hotel on a business trip. Unfortunately there was drought in Cape Town and there were water restrictions, but this did not have too much impact on the guests. The hotel is rather basic with limited amenities.

However the hotel is located close to V&A Waterfront, walking distance, which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water restrictions. We are glad, however, that you did find the location convenient. We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We had a three night stay. All the staff we dealt with were very courteous and helpful. The bar/restaurant area was a great place to relax after a busy day. Good value too. We loved the waterfront area a short walk away.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review, it is hugely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We spent the night at the City lodge outside the entrance to the V &A waterfront which is in easy walking distance to the waterfront and cape town city area. Access to the hotel is easy and central to Hotel has everything you need with out breaking the bank with friendly staff too. Quick 10min drive to Claremont, Sea Point, staduim or Camps Bay also on major bus route and walking distance to Cape Town Convention Centre. Reasonably quite considering at major road intersection. Ask for rooms facing back car park it you want a quiet room. No Seaview so no need to get the front facing rooms

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the City Lodge in both Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa. The staff were professional and businesslike. The wait and cleaning staff were very friendly. Everyone did a good job for us. Cape Town location is near the waterfront activity and shopping area and in walking distance to what seemed to be the heart of the city: small restaurants, farmers and craft markets, small shops.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank moonkqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 076 reviews
1,1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
849 reviews
1,5 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
0,8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#23 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 600 reviews
0,6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 570 - R2 276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing