We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$93
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$65
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$125
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$44/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$82
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$32
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
121
266
100
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
266
100
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontpleasant stayeasy accessstar hotelcomfortable roomsbuffet breakfastsecure parkingrobben island
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Went to this hotel on a business trip. Unfortunately there was drought in Cape Town and there were water restrictions, but this did not have too much impact on the guests. The hotel is rather basic with limited amenities.

However the hotel is located close to V&A Waterfront, walking distance, which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regular6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water restrictions. We are glad, however, that you did find the location convenient. We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We had a three night stay. All the staff we dealt with were very courteous and helpful. The bar/restaurant area was a great place to relax after a busy day. Good value too. We loved the waterfront area a short walk away.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review, it is hugely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We spent the night at the City lodge outside the entrance to the V &A waterfront which is in easy walking distance to the waterfront and cape town city area. Access to the hotel is easy and central to Hotel has everything you need with out breaking the bank with friendly staff too. Quick 10min drive to Claremont, Sea Point, staduim or Camps Bay also on major bus route and walking distance to Cape Town Convention Centre. Reasonably quite considering at major road intersection. Ask for rooms facing back car park it you want a quiet room. No Seaview so no need to get the front facing rooms

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MoccaJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks so much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the City Lodge in both Pretoria and Cape Town, South Africa. The staff were professional and businesslike. The wait and cleaning staff were very friendly. Everyone did a good job for us. Cape Town location is near the waterfront activity and shopping area and in walking distance to what seemed to be the heart of the city: small restaurants, farmers and craft markets, small shops.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank moonkqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip from Australia. Nice easy walk to the waterfront area, close to cafes and restaurants. Safe. Good breakfast and comfortable rooms. Free wifi. I recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again. Hotel cars and drivers are very nice and helpful - nothing flashy or fancy, but very good. Staff are all helpful and gave us a late checkout.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for the great review, Robert, we are glad you had a good stay with us. It's great to hear you enjoyed the hotels location, breakfast spread and the service was up to scratch. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews