We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Ranked #66 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We had a lovely stay at the City Lodge V&A Waterfront. Because it is situated walking distance from the V&A Waterfront, it is the most convenient place to stay. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable with ample free parking. Because of the construction work next to the building, it is a little bit noisy now, but soon that will be over. I love the free muffins on the front desk when you check out. This hotel has a very homely feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us Charlotte. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location. We look upon our hotel as a ‘home from home’ for all of our guests and strive to create an atmosphere to match this, so for us to read that you found this to be the case is truly rewarding feedback for us. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable. Due to the construction of a parking garage at the back of the building there was noise until late in the evening. This should however be temporary. Breakfast is great!! Really good variety more like a 4 star hotel. Very central so easy to get to all the tourist spots. For business the hotel has good access to main roads and highways.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Heike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us Heike. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This hotel is in between the International Convention Center and the Waterfront so it's great in order to spend the day working at the ICC and later go for dinner to the Waterfront were are almost the most important activities in town specially for outsiders.
Service is great. People are really very nice at the front desk, the restaurant and the tourism services.
They offer a wonderful complimentary homemade lemonade. Really great taste every day.
Room is very nice. Not luxury but most tan convenient. WiFi works really well in the room and is free.

Room Tip: Due to some constructions neraby ask for a room with City view. There's no noise there, not at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us Sandra. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Average hotel at an average price about 1km's walk from the V&A Waterfront. Currently there are construction sites surrounding the hotel so it can be noisy and many of the room windows face the sites. Good choice if you want to live close to the Waterfront but are limited by a budget.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Ernes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

This is rated as a 3 star hotel but is nicer than some we've stayed in before. Great location, good value, and friendly staff, 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront, a desk to call a taxi for you, and free Wi-Fi - fab, would definitely stay here again

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Angieinlove05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,9 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 087 reviews
1,1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
858 reviews
0,8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
671 reviews
0,2 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 163 reviews
1,2 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 550 - R 2 145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing