We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 27/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
115
264
98
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
264
98
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel deskwalking distanceconstruction worknon smoking roomminute walkclose proximityfree wifibusiness tripwater frontstar hotelbuffet breakfastpleasant stayeasy accesscomfortable roomssecure parkingrobben island
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Rooms are clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable. Due to the construction of a parking garage at the back of the building there was noise until late in the evening. This should however be temporary. Breakfast is great!! Really good variety more like a 4 star hotel. Very central so easy to get to all the tourist spots. For business the hotel has good access to main roads and highways.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Heike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us Heike. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This hotel is in between the International Convention Center and the Waterfront so it's great in order to spend the day working at the ICC and later go for dinner to the Waterfront were are almost the most important activities in town specially for outsiders.
Service is great. People are really very nice at the front desk, the restaurant and the tourism services.
They offer a wonderful complimentary homemade lemonade. Really great taste every day.
Room is very nice. Not luxury but most tan convenient. WiFi works really well in the room and is free.

Room Tip: Due to some constructions neraby ask for a room with City view. There's no noise there, not at all.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us Sandra. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Average hotel at an average price about 1km's walk from the V&A Waterfront. Currently there are construction sites surrounding the hotel so it can be noisy and many of the room windows face the sites. Good choice if you want to live close to the Waterfront but are limited by a budget.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Ernes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

This is rated as a 3 star hotel but is nicer than some we've stayed in before. Great location, good value, and friendly staff, 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront, a desk to call a taxi for you, and free Wi-Fi - fab, would definitely stay here again

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Angieinlove05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This is my 7th return visit for business to this hotel and is always excellent. I had requested a non-smoking room at the time of booking but this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. When I arrived and checked in I was pleasantly surprised that my request had been granted, which was really awesome and I felt they had really gone the extra mile to grant this request.
As always the staff are so friendly, efficient and professional. I will always stay here on business and I don't even bother to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

It is always our pleasure to welcome back guests to the hotel and we are proud to say that this is happening with increasing regularity. The whole team here really do love using the words "Welcome back"! It is always lovely to read great reviews from guests who visit us time and time again and please accept our most sincere thanks for your continued patronage of the City Lodge Hotel Group. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon, Diedre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews