We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$93
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$30
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 161)
Filter reviews
1 161 results
Traveller rating
275
574
210
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
574
210
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness schoolgreat locationuniversity campusconverted prisonfamily roominteresting hoteltwo oceans aquariumfrosted glassrooms are smalltable mountainfive minute walkdouble bedhop on hop off buswalking distancewater frontbreakfast roommain building
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1 161 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The location is fabulous as its within easy walking distance to the Waterfront. However thats where most of the positives of this hotel stop.

The rooms are tiny, not small, but tiny. No where to store luggage and you need to be some sort of contortionist to successfully manage the doors into the toilet/bathroom.

For a hotel that is attached to a hospitality institute, they certainly have no knowledge of vegetarianism for dare i say Veganism, despite numerous attempts, we were melted with the same blank look and told there were many options at the breakfast counter - which incidentally was ladened with meat options that never changed for the 5 days we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clivethegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Clivethegreat,

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to read that you found our rooms small. Our hotel comprises of 7 different room types, and should you be dissatisfied with your room upon arrival, you are most welcome to request an upgrade from our Front Office Team, and if availability allows, they will gladly accommodate your request.

Please accept our apologies regarding your breakfast encounter. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will discuss this with my TEAM and look into the various options available to accommodate our Vegan GUESTS.

Once again thank you for your review.

Yours in Hospitality,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This hotel is really in the perfect location for exploring Cape Town. We walked to the V&A waterfront every day, but also used it as a base for driving to other locations. The rooms are also nice and clean, and a great size for the price. The hotel layout is a little confusing/maze like, but I guess that makes sense since it is a former prison. The staff was friendly and the parking was convenient and seemed safe.

We did not get the breakfast with our room, in part because I had read that you have to walk through the business school to get to it, but we did check it out one day. It's not the worst breakfast buffett, but also not the best. I wouldn't recommend it, since there are plenty of cute restaurants within walking distance nearby that are better, but if you're a person who likes to eat early every morning, you may want to get it. Many of the other places don't open until 10 a.m.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jifbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear jifbug,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.

Our location is one our major attractions, as the Waterfront is not only attracts the locals but also the international guest. The Waterfront offers our GUESTS many opportunities to shop, browse and spend quality time with loved ones. As you mentioned, we are in walking distance tot the Waterfront which makes it easier for our GUESTS to enjoy themselves without the worry of driving back to the hotels especially if you return late at night.

Our GUEST'S comfort is important to us, and reading that you found our rooms nice, clean and great in size confirms that we are on the right path.

We are delighted to read that you found our STAFF friendly and the parking convenient and safe.

You are correct in saying that there are plenty of restaurants in the area, but with a stunning view of Table Mountain and the harbour while enjoying our delicious fare, would be a perfect start to a busy day.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our friendly city.

Yours in hospitality,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The hotel is walking distance from the waterfront and you can see the aquarium from the hotel balcony. Rooms are clean and modern and there are excellent dining options in various price ranges that are within a few minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel has an interesting history in that it once was a former prison. Although, fortunately, you wouldn't know it by looking at it. Our room was very comfortable and afforded all the amenities one would expect from a Marriott. We had breakfast everyday in their restaurant and it was always an amazing spread with an amazing omelette station. Everyone working at the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. The one minor downside about the hotel is that the wi-if is very spotty. Not sure if this is dependent on what room you are in. What we'll in common areas but intermittent in our room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

: Dear PatriciaT917,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Centrally located hotel with good rooms, good for groups with great prices. I had a group of five friends and we stayed at this hotel for a week. It is also located right next door to the waterfront which includes some of the best restaurants in Cape Town. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrcus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear mrcus50,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge with us.

Your valuable feedback helps identify areas of opportunity for us to improve the guest experience. While I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, I am curious to know if there were any elements of your visit we could have enhanced.

The hotel team is committed to delivering an exceptional experience and are always brainstorming creative ways to exceed the expectations of our VALUED GUEST, such as yourself. At your convenience, feel free to share any additional feedback on how we can elevate your experience whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews