We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night only. The hotel is 2 min from V&A Waterfront and in comfortable walking distance to the central parts of Cape Town.
I got upgraded to a business room at check in and the fluffy towels and amenities provided were good. Rom clean, well planned/furbished and bathroom had space to put ones things in. No noise from any neighbours (probably linked to the fact that it used to be a prison).
Did not have breakfast as there are nice morning places to choose from at the Waterfront. Would definitely stay again.

The hotel had a washing machine/tumble drier area which is an added bonus.

The Aquarium and Double Decker Bus tour of the city is just across the road from the hotel. The latter is highly recommended for a fast 1,5 hour basic introduction to the city.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarieMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MarieMalmo,

Thank you for the time taken to inform us of your stay at our hotel.

The Waterfront is one of the great attractions of Cape Town, not only for our international GUESTS but also for the locals. It is also close to most of the tourist attractions in and around Cape Town.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you found our rooms clean, well planned/furnished with a bathroom spacious to accommodate your personal belongings. Our Restaurant has spectacular views of Table Mountain and Table Bay harbour, so while you are enjoying our delicious breakfast the spectacular views will enhance your breakfast experience.

Thank you once again for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel when you next visit Cape Town.

Yours in Hospitality,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1 089 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is fabulous as its within easy walking distance to the Waterfront. However thats where most of the positives of this hotel stop.

The rooms are tiny, not small, but tiny. No where to store luggage and you need to be some sort of contortionist to successfully manage the doors into the toilet/bathroom.

For a hotel that is attached to a hospitality institute, they certainly have no knowledge of vegetarianism for dare i say Veganism, despite numerous attempts, we were melted with the same blank look and told there were many options at the breakfast counter - which incidentally was ladened with meat options that never changed for the 5 days we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clivethegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Clivethegreat,

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to read that you found our rooms small. Our hotel comprises of 7 different room types, and should you be dissatisfied with your room upon arrival, you are most welcome to request an upgrade from our Front Office Team, and if availability allows, they will gladly accommodate your request.

Please accept our apologies regarding your breakfast encounter. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will discuss this with my TEAM and look into the various options available to accommodate our Vegan GUESTS.

Once again thank you for your review.

Yours in Hospitality,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is really in the perfect location for exploring Cape Town. We walked to the V&A waterfront every day, but also used it as a base for driving to other locations. The rooms are also nice and clean, and a great size for the price. The hotel layout is a little confusing/maze like, but I guess that makes sense since it is a former prison. The staff was friendly and the parking was convenient and seemed safe.

We did not get the breakfast with our room, in part because I had read that you have to walk through the business school to get to it, but we did check it out one day. It's not the worst breakfast buffett, but also not the best. I wouldn't recommend it, since there are plenty of cute restaurants within walking distance nearby that are better, but if you're a person who likes to eat early every morning, you may want to get it. Many of the other places don't open until 10 a.m.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jifbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jifbug,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.

Our location is one our major attractions, as the Waterfront is not only attracts the locals but also the international guest. The Waterfront offers our GUESTS many opportunities to shop, browse and spend quality time with loved ones. As you mentioned, we are in walking distance tot the Waterfront which makes it easier for our GUESTS to enjoy themselves without the worry of driving back to the hotels especially if you return late at night.

Our GUEST'S comfort is important to us, and reading that you found our rooms nice, clean and great in size confirms that we are on the right path.

We are delighted to read that you found our STAFF friendly and the parking convenient and safe.

You are correct in saying that there are plenty of restaurants in the area, but with a stunning view of Table Mountain and the harbour while enjoying our delicious fare, would be a perfect start to a busy day.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our friendly city.

Yours in hospitality,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The hotel is walking distance from the waterfront and you can see the aquarium from the hotel balcony. Rooms are clean and modern and there are excellent dining options in various price ranges that are within a few minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel has an interesting history in that it once was a former prison. Although, fortunately, you wouldn't know it by looking at it. Our room was very comfortable and afforded all the amenities one would expect from a Marriott. We had breakfast everyday in their restaurant and it was always an amazing spread with an amazing omelette station. Everyone working at the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. The one minor downside about the hotel is that the wi-if is very spotty. Not sure if this is dependent on what room you are in. What we'll in common areas but intermittent in our room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

: Dear PatriciaT917,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria ...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 617 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wha...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
364 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 858 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 603 - R 3 391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing