We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$66
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$83
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$151
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$191
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 159)
Filter reviews
1 159 results
Traveller rating
275
572
210
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
572
210
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness schoolgreat locationuniversity campusconverted prisonfamily roominteresting hoteltwo oceans aquariumfrosted glassrooms are smalltable mountainfive minute walkdouble bedhop on hop off buswalking distancewater frontbreakfast roommain building
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1 159 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The hotel is walking distance from the waterfront and you can see the aquarium from the hotel balcony. Rooms are clean and modern and there are excellent dining options in various price ranges that are within a few minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel has an interesting history in that it once was a former prison. Although, fortunately, you wouldn't know it by looking at it. Our room was very comfortable and afforded all the amenities one would expect from a Marriott. We had breakfast everyday in their restaurant and it was always an amazing spread with an amazing omelette station. Everyone working at the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. The one minor downside about the hotel is that the wi-if is very spotty. Not sure if this is dependent on what room you are in. What we'll in common areas but intermittent in our room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PatriciaT917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

: Dear PatriciaT917,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Centrally located hotel with good rooms, good for groups with great prices. I had a group of five friends and we stayed at this hotel for a week. It is also located right next door to the waterfront which includes some of the best restaurants in Cape Town. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrcus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear mrcus50,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge with us.

Your valuable feedback helps identify areas of opportunity for us to improve the guest experience. While I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, I am curious to know if there were any elements of your visit we could have enhanced.

The hotel team is committed to delivering an exceptional experience and are always brainstorming creative ways to exceed the expectations of our VALUED GUEST, such as yourself. At your convenience, feel free to share any additional feedback on how we can elevate your experience whenever your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Sincerely,
EUGENE HENDRICKS
Front Office Manager
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
eugene@bwl.co.za
0214061077

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The Protea Hotel by Marriot Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge was really enjoyable for 4 nights. The 2 rooms that we were promised upon arrival were not quite what we expected. But the staff did everything to remedy the situation on the final 3 nights. The staff was very kind. The rooms were clean and modern. My favorite was the breakfasts. The hotel is shared by a college, so this was sort of odd; but truly the vibe was great. Our room had a view of Table Mountain so we could see for ourselves the weather conditions. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We have stayed her twice now. It is strange with the mix of college and hotel especially in the part of the hotel with the breakfast room but it really is not a problem. We had a deluxe room overlooking the waterfont area where the red tourist bus leaves from.The room had a king size bed with very fresh bedding, and was comfortably larger than the standard room we had first time. There was a bath and shower, although with the water shortage, baths are not recommended. The breakfast buffet has a good selection. It suits us for our first few nights in South Africa, before we hit the road. For early arrivals the reception team do attempt to get you in earlier than the 1400 check-in time, which is greatly appreciated. The location could not be better for walking to the Waterfront and Green point.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lignum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews