We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We booked three executive suite rooms and I wasn't disappointed.

Everything worked well and the room was spotless.

There is complimentary water from the reception, but you can only order two at a time.

The foyer is a bit congested so just be a little patient when checking in if you are in a large group.

If you need to bear near the Waterfront it is within walking distance and we felt safe.

The hotel is attached to the Graduate School of Business one of South Africa's which hosts the most prestigious MBA programme. A walk through the restored prison (GSB) should inspire you to pick up your books again.

Our family enjoyed the lounges at the end of the passage where we would congregate before leaving for the day.

The wifi was free but not great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Markie-Post
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Markie-Post,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you were not disappointed in your stay at our property.

We are working on ways to resolve the congestion in our Reception area, especially the wait upon arrival.

Our Hotel is situated on the Waterfront, which is one of the prime locations in and around Cape Town. As you already know, the Waterfront is within walking distance, a place that offers many interesting Restaurants and shops and places of entertainment. It is also central to most of the Tourist attractions in and around Cape Town.

We are affiliated to UCT's Graduate School of Business, a school that offers the most prestigious MBA programme as mentioned by you. We also have a history which dates back to 1859, when the prison was originally established. We are certain that you saw some of the old cells while walking along the corridors.

The Lounges offers our GUESTS a place of rest and relaxation, while enjoying a superb view of Table Mountain and the Harbour, it is great to read that you enjoyed the lounges.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 1 076 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

One of the biggest things the Breakwater Lodge has got going for it is the location and the affordable price-tag that comes with it. Being in the waterfront is a massive advantage to any visitor - whether for business or pleasure.

The room rate excluded breakfast and the one morning that we had breakfast there they charged us a fortune for it. On arrival they gave us a twin room (a double was clearly booked and too their credit our room was swiftly changed) and some staff were more helpful than others. Bathrooms are a little too exposed for my taste.

That said, it's definitely not he worst hotel in Cape Town and if you're looking for a good deal in the V&A then it its recommended. CT is not kind of place where you'll be sitting in your room all-day long and if the Breakwater promises you a comfortable bed in a safe area from where its easy to explore then it will deliver exactly that.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Conrad C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

We believe that the location plays a vital role when selecting your holiday destination, thus we are delighted to read that you found our location great together with the affordable rates. Our location is one of the major attractions, not only to our international GUESTS but also to our local folk. The Waterfront offers a variety of shops, whether it is just to browse or to shop for the souvenir or even to purchase a gift for your loved ones back home. There are restaurants aplenty, so should you not wish to partake of the fare we offer, you are most welcome to try the culinary delights on offer at the Wharf.

Thank you for your recommendation. Cape Town is indeed a place filled with many exciting places, from Table Mountain, to the many beaches, to the Cable Way, to Robben Island, to the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus, and as you mentioned, you will definitely not be sitting in your room when there are so many options available.

Thanks again for giving us a pat on the back.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

A/C on the second floor is loud. Shutting off the A/C in the room does not reduce the noise level and the mechanic couldn't be help either. He said it has to do with the "ejectors running all over the place". A design flaw? Fortunately I still had the ear plugs from the plane

Rooms are clean, but basic. Location is great. Wifi is terrible.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Steven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Steven v,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel.

Thank you for bringing the problematic air-conditioning unit to our attention. We will definitely look into this as this is not the service we provide to our GUESTS. Our aim is to ensure that all our GUESTS experiences a comfortable stay at our establishment and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge comprises of 7 different room types, and if you are unhappy with the room allocation, you are most welcome to request an upgrade from our Front Desk TEAM, and if availability allows, we will gladly accommodate your request.

Our location is what makes us one of the most popular hotels in Cape Town. The Waterfront is a popular attraction to both the local and international set. The Waterfront boasts many shops and interesting Restaurants, as well as some interesting places of entertainment.

Wi-Fi is important when away from home and family, as one would like to stay in constant communication with your loved ones. Our internet connectivity was problematic at one stage, but this has now been resolved.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Our family of 3 stayed in inter-leading rooms - bedrooms were minute, but served the purpose of accommodation close to the waterfront and a base for daily exploration of Cape Town. Wifi was good, however our airconditioner did not work, and although we reported it on day 2 of 5, it was not fixed during our stay. Fortunately it was winter, so we opened the window to let in some cool air.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Catherine396,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at our Hotel.

Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge comprises of 7 different room types. Should you be unhappy with the room allocated to you upon check-in, you are most welcome to request an upgrade from our Front Desk, and should availability allow, they will gladly accommodate your request.

The Waterfront is one of the major tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We are very fortunate to be located in such a wonderful and scenic location which offers not only great Restaurants, but also fantastic shops, where you may either browse or purchase souvenirs of your stay in our friendly city.

Thank you for informing us of the faulty air-conditioning unit, we will have one of our Maintenance TEAM look into it as well as the reason why the unit was not repaired when reported.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Yours in Hospitality,
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Tiny is an understatement, very cramped and stuffy.
Great water pressure but not reliable for hot water.
Variable service between the different staff members maybe 2/10 are willing to help with information or be friendly.
Only stay there for the location.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Nifa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Nifa9,

Thank you for your review.

We are sad to read that you found our rooms tiny, cramped and stuffy. Our Hotel consists of 7 different Room types. If upon check-in you are unhappy with the room allocated to you, you are most welcome to request an upgrade from our Reception Team, and should availability allow, we will gladly accommodate your request.

Please accept our apologies for the service received from our TEAM. My leadership TEAM is trying to identify why this happened and we will resolve this in a way that ensures superior GUEST satisfaction now and going forward.

We can't fix the past but you have my personal commitment to find ways to improve the way our staff services each and every GUEST as it is our intention to make our Hotel your second home.

Our location cannot be faulted, as we are situated in one of the best locations in Cape Town, namely the V & A Waterfront. The Waterfront, as we locals call it, is within walking distance, offers 24 hour security, has many interesting shops, whether you want to purchase souvenirs or just browse as well as many Restaurants which offers plenty of culinary delights.

We wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Colin Naiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 819 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 654 - R3 801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance modern comfort and and experience soaking in the rich history of Cape Town with a stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge. Our hotel in Cape Town, South Africa sits right next to the city's fantastic V&A Waterfront, a minute from restaurants, shops and theatres. We're perfectly poised to give you a feel for the heart of the Waterfront area, just 25 km from Cape Town International Airport. Enjoy easy access to beaches, mountains and city hotspots from our accommodations, as well as convenience getting to Cape Town International Convention Center and Cape Town Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing