We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FB

Very good hotel. Excellent location. Poor breakfast service.

Review of The Table Bay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2022
Very good hotel. Excellent location. Carry bags of patience along to breakfast.

Personal welcome email to accommodate any requests including an offer to go the extra mile for special dietary requirements. This was a nice touch.

APPEARANCE: Impressive. Classic style, well maintained. Blends in perfectly with surrounding area.

LOCATION: At the V&A Waterfront. Lives up to the claim of best address in Cape Town.

ROOM (Stayed in Superior Luxury Family Mountain Facing Room):
One of the best views in Cape Town
Decor: Classic style complements the rest of the hotel. Well maintained. Neat. Shower could do with some refurbishment.
Size: Comfortable for 2 adults + 2 small kids. Large and spacious.
Amenities: Par for 5-star. Nothing special.
Cleanliness: Excellent
Quality of sleep: Excellent

SERVICE: Outstanding throughout the hotel EXCEPT breakfast buffet.

DINING:
Breakfast buffet: Overall below par. Food quality, variety and presentation was excellent. Service however was abit of a jackpot but appalling in general. Excellent on day 1 then spiralled downwards from there. Chaos during busier times! Long queues. Cramped. Empty platters not replenished timeously. Poor attention to detail of staff - varied from not taking a hot beverage order to taking an order but just not delivering, with staff seemingly trained to avoid eye contact when in need of assistance. They appeared to be adequately staffed though, just more of a case of quantity rather than quality, which contributes to the chaos. I've enjoyed a few 5-star hotel/resort buffets in 2022 - this was not 5-star. Perhaps a need to go back to the drawing board here.
Room service: Efficient and high quality.

FACILITIES/ACTIVITIES: Decent pool deck and wellness centre. Proximity to an abundance of surrounding restaurants/activities is the biggest drawcard.

MY BOOKING AGENT: Direct on hotel website. Slightly better rate as MVG member.

WILL I RECOMMEND/STAY THERE AGAIN: Yes definitely. I'll consider a bed-only option, with breakfast at the V&A Waterfront.
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kallyn Mulder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Table Bay, responded to this review
Responded 09 Jan 2023
Dear Mobile 435420

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review about your recent stay with us. We are overjoyed with your beautiful comments on our offerings and facilities and pleased to have shared a great experience with you. The Table Bay Hotel is certainly blessed with this amazing location, with the most beautiful surroundings and very much safe for our guests. We also note that our services at breakfast were not to your satisfaction and the standard we pride ourselves in. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We always strive for improved guest experience and customer service, and appreciate all constructive feedback. Your mentions are well noted and has been escalated to the relevant managers to review and action accordingly. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we wish for many more beautiful stays. Have a blessed 2023 and all of the best to you and your family.

Guest Relations Manager
Vanessa Oliphant

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 170
R 2 662
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 118
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 120
  • Priceline
    R 2 851
1.7 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 378
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 375
  • Priceline
    R 4 022
  • Trip.com
    R 5 364
2.4 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 864
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 762
  • Priceline
    R 1 522
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 763
1.2 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 6 724
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 6 716
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
R 3 891
R 3 479
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
  • Vio.com
    R 3 079
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 080
3.7 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Long Street Hotel Bath
R 820
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 593
  • Agoda.com
    R 561
  • Expedia.com
    R 830
2.7 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 860
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 796
  • Agoda.com
    R 739
  • Expedia.com
    R 788
2.2 km from The Table Bay
Pool
Restaurant
R 900
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 722
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 8 500
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 049
  • Official Site
    R 7 500
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 049
2.0 km from The Table Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (3 307)
Filter reviews
3 308 results
Traveller rating
2 344
633
191
67
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 344
633
191
67
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table mountain direct access high tea breakfast buffet oysters beautiful hotel victoria wharf rose petals robben island star hotel waterfront mall concierge desk turn down service perfect location duty manager large hotel mountain view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 3 308 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2022 via mobile

The location cannot be better. Great view of the ocean and the mountain. Best location of hotel in the V&A. Great breakfast and in room dining. However, in room dining was a bit pricy and although good, walking to the mall would give better choice. However, the service I found was good, but not exceptional. I found the rooms good, but bathrooms old and simple things such as shower heads and mixers should be standard in a luxury hotel. A struggle to get the right water flow and temperature.
Location right next to the mall is a major advantage.
If it was for the location, I think they may struggle to get return visitors as the service and rooms were good, but not excellent. There are many hotels across the peninsula with better rooms and service. But, location is unrivalled in the V&A.

Room tip: Get a sea facing room as high up as possible. The mountain you can enjoy at breakfast on the deck.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gr1970Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kallyn Mulder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Table Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2023

Dear Gr1970Gr

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are truly blessed with the most amazing location and pleased to have shared it with you. We are all about improved customer services and guest experience thus appreciate all constructive feedback. Your detailed feedback are well noted and will be reviewed and actioned accordingly. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish to welcome you back in future.

Guest Relations Manager
Vanessa Oliphant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2022

Great hotel at the perfect location in Cape Town; luxurious but affordable. Personable reception, bar, and dining room staff. Remarkable breakfast buffet with something for everyone to love, and all of it well done.

Room tip: Short walk to all the waterfront district restaurants and shopping
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RichB1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kallyn Mulder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Table Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2022

Dear RichB1128

Thank you for the excellent rating and feedback. We are overjoyed to have shared this great experience with you. Please do not stay away from the Best Address in Cape Town.

Guest Relations Manager
Vanessa Oliphant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2022

Lately I had a wonderful service at the hotel. Especially breakfast room was amazing. The staff Lauren and Sardeequa were very sympathetic and helpful. Always smiling and trying to make happy all the guests. I think they are very good examples how a staff must be.. Lindsay, their chef is very professional and taking care of their staff.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank fatiha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kallyn Mulder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Table Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2022

Dear Fatiha

Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We love hearing from our guests. Thank you for recognizing our staff's efforts to create great experiences for our guests. We are overjoyed to have shared our lovely hotel and services with you. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we wish for many more in future.

Guest Relations Manager
Vanessa Oliphant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2022

We were there for 3 nights through an International Agency. Owing to traveling with family and kids, disappointed that our booking of 2 linked junior suites plus extra room were not "linked" but located at opposite end of the building. The Front Desk manager on shift kept putting the blame on our Agency but did not take further steps to pacify his guests. He suggested that we downgrade but he would not compromise on the agreed room rates we paid. We refused this offer of course. No passion nor compassion were exercised nor exhibited in the entire process; he is not cut for service and hospitality industry, not to mention is a 5-star hotel we were putting up.
Hostess by name of BIANCA was hostile and removed our belongings at the adjoining table while we waited for the rest of our family to come down for breakfast. In fact we already placed order for coffee and tea for our family. Half of our family was already seated and having our meals. The restaurant was not even packed and this lady insisted 2 other guests to take over the table when they also refused to be seated there as it is a tight corner we reserved for our family members with kids. It was a very hostile and unfriendly gesture, totally unacceptable and unprofessional. Her behavior is like working in military camp, taking the guests as her subordinates, throwing her weight around. Terrible experience!!!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Juniorchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kallyn Mulder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Table Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2023

Dear Curious36086917975

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are disappointed to note that your stay was not up to the standard and values we pride ourselves in. All mentions has been investigated and actioned accordingly by the relevant managers. We hope to get the opportunity to host you again to give you the 5-star service you deserve and we can be proud of. Thank you again for staying with us and we wish to welcome you back in future.

Guest Relations Manager
Vanessa Oliphant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2022 via mobile

We stayed at Table Bay 15 years ago for a four day break and the service & standard was the same this time as it was then.. simply fantastic!! We booked a 9 night stay and the hotel is immaculate, clean, room serviced each day, sheets changed every two days, breakfast choices were excellent and chefs on hand to make any requests such as poached/boiled eggs. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, Chelsea on the concierge desk was excellent in advising us on activities, Kenneth was also very helpful. The location is simply perfect. Some of the reviewers saying it’s dated & tired are simply wrong.. it’s styled on a colonial setting and the decor, furnishings etc are perfect. There is a figure of a golden seal at the rear near the breakfast area which has plaques naming all the famous well known people who have stayed there.. the list is amazing. We will be back next year for a minimum of 10 days.. a really lovely place !!

Room tip: Try and get junior suite 824 as the views of table mountain & the waterfront are amazing.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kallyn Mulder, Guest Services / Front Office at The Table Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2022

Dear Terry D

Thank you for the beautiful rating and feedback. We are pleased to have shared a great experience with you. Your feedback is the best reward to what we wish to achieve and we are proud to note that our staff members live up to the values and standard we pride ourselves in. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we wish for many more to come. Please do not stay away from the Best Address in Cape Town.

Guest Relations Manager
Vanessa Oliphant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews