We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms - shame about some aspects of Table Bay hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a three centre holiday in Zambia and South Africa. The third centre was Cape Town. We had a beautiful room looking out over the Waterfront to Table Mountain, but there were aspects of the hotel that I wasn't impressed with. When I arrived, I explained that I was a senior reviewer with Trip Advisor and would appreciate an interview with the General Manager. I was told that Joanne Selby was away for two weeks and I asked that I have an opportunity to speak to a Duty Manager. I was told that this would be done. Nobody ever came back to me!

One day we wanted to sit outside and order a bottle of wine. I asked a waitress for a copy of the wine list. 17 mins later it was brought and then she disappeared, never to be seen again. At this point, we walked the two minutes to the Waterfront and enjoyed a bottle of wine there and simply gave up. Very poor service!

At breakfast, there was no chef cooking eggs to order. When a chef does that, not only are the eggs freshly cooked to your specification, but it adds a bit of theatre to the restaurant. At Table Bay, if you are having a full cooked breakfast, you have to place your order for eggs and this is then put in to a computer for the kitchen. You then have to collect your other items such as sausages, beans, bacon etc and a waitress then rolls up with a plate with your eggs order on it and tips it on to your plate. For heavens sake, it's supposed to be a 5 star hotel!

Having said, there were terrific members of staff. Celeste, a hostess from the Atlantic Restaurant was outstanding, as was Moira, concierge and qualified tour guide among them. Location is great, but it should not qualify as a 5 star after an experience like that!

Room Tip: Be nice to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MalcolmMMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunint, Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Malcolm

Thank you for the valuable feedback received.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the restaurant issues you have experienced whilst staying with us. We will most definitely look into the service issues in order to rectify and enhance our customer experiences.

We are truly sorry that we did not have the opportunity to meet with you in person during your stay.

We are planning some exciting upgrades at the Table Bay hotel which I would gladly share with you soon. May I kindly ask you to contact me on the below email address to do so.

I hope that the issues mentioned would not deter you from staying with us again and we hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nico Myburgh
Hotel Manager
nico.myburgh@suninternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 2 444 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This beautiful hotel sits at Victoria Wharf in Cape Town. There are restaurants and shops (Victoria Waterfront Mall). Rooms are very well appointed with a large bathroom and all amenities. The hotel is connected to the shopping mall with no need to step outside. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank ypgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunint, Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day,

Thank you for sharing your review with us,

You are right; The Table Bay is superbly located. From The Table Bay, guests have convenient access to Cape Town’s business centre and tourist attractions.

It is in these little things, through our attention to detail, that we leave an indelible imprint memory of beautiful moments that guests are later able to recall as one-of-a-kind

Kind regards
Yanga Zito
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for 5 days in the table bay hotel .
the Front desk were not very cooperative during the check-in i waited for long time for the process , i know i came earlier than the check-in time but they promised that they will call me once the room is ready and unfortunately nobody called until i asked again and that told me it was ready for 2 hours but they forgot to call !

- Starting with location , it's very convenient and the harbor area is very beautiful and full of nice restaurants , with direct access to the V A mall from the hotel .

- Breakfast was excellent with good variety of Hot and Cold Choices .

- room was below average with old furniture , i expected better quality giving the very high price .

- Concierge were extremely helpful and professional as they arranged personal trip to cape of good hope as full day trip and some other reservations .

- Hotel is very safe with Security guards everywhere .

I would recommend this hotel for stay in cape town .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunint, Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day,

Thank you for sharing your review with us,

On behalf of Table Bay Management, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience, with regards to your check-in experience. Please rest assured that we will address the above with the front office team.

We are indeed pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our service offering in concierge, and our security department. Indeed, we are very proud of our exquisite location, overlooking the working harbour and one of the natural wonders of the world, Table Mountain.

We wish you pleasant forward journey.

Kind regards
Yanga Zito
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Imagine gazing out the window of your room with Cape town Harbor before you and dolphins entertaining you. In the background is the majestic Table mountain. Rooms are large and comfortable and service is impeccable. There are many fine restaurants only a few steps away. It just doesn’t get any better than this. The Table Bay Hotel made for a very memorable stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LAtraveler36542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunint, Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day,

Thank you for sharing your review with us,

We agree that The Table Bay is a superlative location. From the sanctuary of what is considered one of the most luxurious and secure hotels in South Africa, our guests can enjoy bespoke, interactive experiences which are designed to open their eyes and hearts’ to exploring Cape Town in ways they never expected.

The Table Bay is where the quintessential South African experience is promised and where lasting memories are created. It is wonderful to hear that we helped you to create lasting memories.

We wish you a pleasant onward journey.

Kind regards
Yanga Zito
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an overnight flight room was ready and available at 9am !! Terrific. It had everything, was spacious... really a suite, lovely view, and everything worked. Bang in the middle of the V and A dock area with all the attractions within hopping distance.

Room Tip: Preferred Ocean view to table mountain view... but it would have been as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank President66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunint, Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day,

Thank you for sharing your review with us,

We are pleased to know that we were able to assist you with your early check-in at 09:00; thank you for your acknowledgement in this regard. You are right; The Table Bay is superbly located. From The Table Bay, guests have convenient access to Cape Town’s business centre and tourist attractions.

We wish you a pleasant onward journey.

Kind regards
Yanga Zito
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 617 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 858 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 738 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 3 751 - R 8 664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing