We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for business travel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Relatively expensive, but is certainly worth the price. Awesome view of the Table Bay mountain, great restaurant and mall close by. You could find nice bars by the waterfront which is walking distance.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Lavanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 592 of 2 393 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Modern hotel with the bygone elegance of yester year. Suited bell boys greet you and can't do enough for you. Opulent reception atrium and first class desk service. Well appointed rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a class hotel. Great breakfast over 250 items!! Decent ym and spa area, nice but small pool and jacuzzi area.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGoodFoodBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We decided to stay over in the City after my wife had an afternoon function close by. The price was most certainly among the 3 most expensive hotels in the City.

We opted for the more expensive room facing the bay and the mountain and our room was magnificent. Comfortable with spacious bathroom, shower and separate toilet.

The room was fitted with a room fridge that apparently was stocked but to my disappointment, this was locked? I thought it weird for a five star hotel.

We had great service from reception and asked for a dinner reservation and this was confirmed soon after we arrived.

We had pre-dinner cocktails and then went for a meal in the restaurant. I was shocked by the location of the restaurant. The dinner tables are situated in an area that was obviously an old passage or foyer or something. I have to mention that we had a meal here before and previously the dinner was offered in the dining area where breakfast is served now.

Our table was a round coffee shop style table and no table cloth. It was situated in the middle of this walkway squeezed up against a glass sliding door that was unbearable cold as it was in the middle of winter. One of the colder Cape Town days.

When i mentioned that to the maître d, I could not ask for a better response to try and facilitate us. The manager was also great and although we had to wait another 30 minutes or so, we were allocated a decent table for dinner.

The food was a little disappointing and not worth the culinary experience for a hotel that is rated amongst the top hotels in Cape Town.

Breakfast was included in our package and i ordered eggs Benedict. Once again the service staff was great and faultless. My breakfast was served promptly but what was served was not traditional Eggs benedict. The hollandaise sauce was a type of melted butter sauce with a squeeze of lemon juice as an afterthought and not really edible.

To finalise this report I would like to once again mention the staff at the Table Bay hotel.
• Reception Staff – unbelievable
• Room condition and neatness – top notch
• Support staff in the restaurants – faultless
• Barmen in the Union Bar – Amazing

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-Lynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Even I stayed only one night – twenty years after my last stay – , I enjoyed the Table Bay very much. I was especially grateful that I was given a room that perfectly matched my (announced) preferences: upper level, non smoking, table mountain view. Staff was very helpful and also very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

From the valet staff saying "welcome home" when we arrived to the professional and efficient reception staff, the hotel offers well trained and corteous staff throughout the hotel.
The room was most comforatble with every amenity on hand.
Our stay was specifically over the weekend of my husband's birthday and the staff went out of their way to make it a memorable exprience. We received complimentary champagne and a birthday cake which made the stay very special.
The buffet breakfast is stupendous!
The location is excellent for visiting the Cape Town sights and the hotel has direct access into the shopping mall.
The views are excellent from all rooms but my favourite are the mountain views.
Truly a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room over the V&A Waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JourneytimeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 820 reviews
0,4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 599 reviews
0,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,9 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 707 reviews
2,4 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
1,1 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R4 062 - R8 319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing