We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is top notch, the setting is stunning, the views stunning! We were so totally enchanted by this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We have a corner suite with a view of the ocean on one side and Table Mountain on the other. It was like a fairy tale! The service at the hotel was fantastic, the spa was fantastic, the food was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: Don't choose an ocean front room, the view of Table Mountain and the port is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 924 of 2 441 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2015

This is a large hotel right on the V&A waterfront. It is attached to a mall. Good workout room and spa area on first floor. Had a nice massage. There are many good restaurants in the area and it is a fun area to shop and walk around particularly on Saturdays. The afternoon tea was very nice. It was traditional with a twist; many of the sandwiches had a Indian-Malay influence. There were courses of different teas and all the desserts you could wish. The breakfast buffet was very large; it included homemade Belgian waffles, there were Japanese dishes, South African dishes as well as various juices. The hotel is business oriented so if you want quaint, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBFnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We spent six nights at the Table Bay Hotel and were very pleased with the luxurious accommodation, beautiful furnishings, upscale feel, attentive staff and great location. As was true at most of the hotels and restaurants we visited on our Southern Africa tour, there were more staff available at the hotel than probably necessary but all were happy to be helpful. We did not have a Table Mountain view but our view of the sea was lovely as well. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was very large with both a tub and shower.

The breakfast buffet that was included in the rate was delicious, plentiful and served in a lovely dining room. Our only 'complaint' with the hotel was that the breakfast wait staff did not seem to always know who was responsible for which table so there could be long waits for coffee, toast, etc. And on the first morning, no one told us that we could order items from the kitchen until after we had gone through the buffet. Not tragic but it was a bit odd given that there are a million servers, hostesses, etc. at the breakfast buffet.

The staff at the hotel bar were friendly and efficient so we usually had a night cap there.

We loved being on the V&A waterfront so that we could grab last minute dinners or lunches after our long days of touring beautiful Cape Town.

And we did book a couples massage before arriving as we anticipated needing one after the long flight from the U.S. Great decision! The spa was luxurious and the masseuses were very good and the price was cheap (thanks to a strong dollar). There was a bit of upselling of products at the end of the session but they didn't push it once we said no.

We would highly recommend Table Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We did not stay here, we only popped in for their Afternoon High Tea. It was an exceptional experience from start to finish, and I can highly recommend this.
I must admit I did have some reservations about going before hand, and was in 2 minds about going here or going to the Mount Nelson (been there twice and both times had a fantastic experience). The Table Bay is a more modern version yet equally as good as the Mount Nelson, although I did find the service better at the Table Bay. Tea is served is a beautiful room , and to top it off , it has unobstructed views of Table Mountain. There are 2 fireplaces , for winter i assume, which would be lovely and cosy.
Tea is served in 3 courses, and each course has a list of suggested teas to match. And yes, you can each get an individual pot of tea with each course !
No cucumber sandwiches , instead savouries inspired by local taste/ flavours. Scones came with jam and delicious lemon curd. And the buffet of amazing cakes and sweets, each individually covered by a glass dome, was overwhelming .... so many choices !
When making the booking on the phone they asked is we were celebrating anything, I mentioned that 2 ladies in our group of 6 were celebrating a belated birthday. Towards the end of our visit the pianist started playing "happy birthday" and a group of staff came up to our table carrying 2 beautiful individual cakes , topped with a candle, and singing Happy Birthday ! What a lovely surprise. They then offered to box the cakes up for us to take away with us - lovely touch, and a lovely end to our long leisurely visit.
I have had Afternoon Tea at many of top hotels around the world , and this was exceptional value and a superb experience.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SeaDream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Fabulous hotel ! Although a large and imposing vision at the Waterfront district of Cape Town, you are treated on a very personal basis by the very attentive staff, and each and every person we encountered, seemed to want to please no matter how large or small our request. The rooms were a traditional style of a high standard and great amount of space, with the bathroom being extremely well proportioned too. Our request to have a Table Mountain view was also upheld, so overall, this hotel with its location to the Waterfront and all this area has to offer, is the perfect base for any traveller on an adventure to Cape Town.

Room Tip: A room with a view of Table Mountain is a great vision to wake up to every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 737 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: | Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 3 780 - R 8 684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Table Bay offers the ultimate in 5-star luxury hotel accommodation in Cape Town. One of the Leading Hotels of the World, this sophisticated Sun International property was opened in May 1997 by iconic former South African president, Nelson Mandela. As part of the Sunlux Collection, The Table Bay continues to set its own standards in international service, cuisine and luxury. Situated on the historic Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, The Table Bay hotel is perfectly positioned against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean and provides easy access to the top places to visit in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing