We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Table Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$223
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$762
US$742
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$149
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2 524)
Filter reviews
2 524 results
Traveller rating
1 831
492
129
37
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 831
492
129
37
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable mountaindirect accesshigh teabreakfast buffetoystersbeautiful hotelrose petalsnougatvictoria wharfstar hotelrobben islandturn down serviceduty managerlarge hotelwaterfront areaconcierge deskwater front
Filter
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 2 524 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This is a large hotel right on the V&A waterfront. It is attached to a mall. Good workout room and spa area on first floor. Had a nice massage. There are many good restaurants in the area and it is a fun area to shop and walk around particularly on Saturdays. The afternoon tea was very nice. It was traditional with a twist; many of the sandwiches had a Indian-Malay influence. There were courses of different teas and all the desserts you could wish. The breakfast buffet was very large; it included homemade Belgian waffles, there were Japanese dishes, South African dishes as well as various juices. The hotel is business oriented so if you want quaint, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBFnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We spent six nights at the Table Bay Hotel and were very pleased with the luxurious accommodation, beautiful furnishings, upscale feel, attentive staff and great location. As was true at most of the hotels and restaurants we visited on our Southern Africa tour, there were more staff available at the hotel than probably necessary but all were happy to be helpful. We did not have a Table Mountain view but our view of the sea was lovely as well. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was very large with both a tub and shower.

The breakfast buffet that was included in the rate was delicious, plentiful and served in a lovely dining room. Our only 'complaint' with the hotel was that the breakfast wait staff did not seem to always know who was responsible for which table so there could be long waits for coffee, toast, etc. And on the first morning, no one told us that we could order items from the kitchen until after we had gone through the buffet. Not tragic but it was a bit odd given that there are a million servers, hostesses, etc. at the breakfast buffet.

The staff at the hotel bar were friendly and efficient so we usually had a night cap there.

We loved being on the V&A waterfront so that we could grab last minute dinners or lunches after our long days of touring beautiful Cape Town.

And we did book a couples massage before arriving as we anticipated needing one after the long flight from the U.S. Great decision! The spa was luxurious and the masseuses were very good and the price was cheap (thanks to a strong dollar). There was a bit of upselling of products at the end of the session but they didn't push it once we said no.

We would highly recommend Table Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We did not stay here, we only popped in for their Afternoon High Tea. It was an exceptional experience from start to finish, and I can highly recommend this.
I must admit I did have some reservations about going before hand, and was in 2 minds about going here or going to the Mount Nelson (been there twice and both times had a fantastic experience). The Table Bay is a more modern version yet equally as good as the Mount Nelson, although I did find the service better at the Table Bay. Tea is served is a beautiful room , and to top it off , it has unobstructed views of Table Mountain. There are 2 fireplaces , for winter i assume, which would be lovely and cosy.
Tea is served in 3 courses, and each course has a list of suggested teas to match. And yes, you can each get an individual pot of tea with each course !
No cucumber sandwiches , instead savouries inspired by local taste/ flavours. Scones came with jam and delicious lemon curd. And the buffet of amazing cakes and sweets, each individually covered by a glass dome, was overwhelming .... so many choices !
When making the booking on the phone they asked is we were celebrating anything, I mentioned that 2 ladies in our group of 6 were celebrating a belated birthday. Towards the end of our visit the pianist started playing "happy birthday" and a group of staff came up to our table carrying 2 beautiful individual cakes , topped with a candle, and singing Happy Birthday ! What a lovely surprise. They then offered to box the cakes up for us to take away with us - lovely touch, and a lovely end to our long leisurely visit.
I have had Afternoon Tea at many of top hotels around the world , and this was exceptional value and a superb experience.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SeaDream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Fabulous hotel ! Although a large and imposing vision at the Waterfront district of Cape Town, you are treated on a very personal basis by the very attentive staff, and each and every person we encountered, seemed to want to please no matter how large or small our request. The rooms were a traditional style of a high standard and great amount of space, with the bathroom being extremely well proportioned too. Our request to have a Table Mountain view was also upheld, so overall, this hotel with its location to the Waterfront and all this area has to offer, is the perfect base for any traveller on an adventure to Cape Town.

Room Tip: A room with a view of Table Mountain is a great vision to wake up to every morning
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

We recently spent four nights at the Table Bay Hotel, chosen mainly for its superb location on the V&A Waterfront. The room was very nice with a very comfortable bed and luxurious bed linen, plenty of hanging and drawer space and a fantastic view of Table Mountain. However, the carpet had obviously not been vacuumed as there were crumbs and bits of paper on the floor which remained there for the duration of our stay, even though we reported it to reception. Also, we found empty biscuit wrappers in the drawers and on the cistern in the bathroom. The complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits were not replaced.

The service on reception was hit and miss, sometimes we spoke to someone who was really helpful, and at other times we spoke to staff who did not seem to know what they were doing there. On the first two mornings breakfast was served in the restaurant, with inside or outside seating, and it was very good. On the third morning we were told that breakfast was being served in the Atlantic Grill only, but it was full and there was a long queue and we would have to wait some time to get in. As we were being picked up for a day tour within the hour, we walked away. No one even cared about or questioned this.

The hotel is saved by its location, splendid decor and comfortable rooms, but the service is poor at times and, in general, the Table Bay really is not as good as it thinks it is. A great pity but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews