We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nick K

Great hotel with great tennis!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Had a fantastic stay at the Mt. Nelson. Amazing property. Amazing rooms. Amazing breakfast and bar scene. Also the tennis program is fabulous. Courts are beautiful and Barkie is one of the best pros I’ve ever hit with. He’s a fantastic guy and a top notch instructor. Thanks Barkie! Made my stay.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nick K,
Thank you for your warm review. I'm delighted you had a fantastic stay at the Nellie and enjoyed our services! You're absolutely right; Barkie is a shining star, and his tennis lessons are top-class. We can't wait to welcome you back, and we hope you'll consider revisiting us soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 020
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 340
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 054
2.2 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 629
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 605
  • Vio.com
    R 3 044
  • Priceline
    R 3 285
2.9 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 475
  • Priceline
    R 2 565
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 248
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 218
2.3 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 815
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 644
  • Priceline
    R 2 877
0.9 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 080
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 080
0.6 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 6 003
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 043
  • Priceline
    R 5 528
3.4 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 013
  • Radissonhotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 3 009
3.6 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (2 653)
Filter reviews
2 654 results
Traveller rating
2 237
296
82
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 237
296
82
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea planet bar oasis restaurant pink lady tennis courts famous afternoon tea main building beautiful hotel junior suite oysters company gardens concierge desk luxury hotel south africa kloof street our honeymoon ellie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2 654 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely a 5 star experience. After arriving in South Africa in the dark, what a joy it was to wake up in our comfortable room, look out from the balcony, and see Table Mountain for the first time towering over the Nellie's perfectly pink rooftops. Service was impeccable; the front desk and breakfast staff were particularly professional and welcoming. The decor is so thoughtfully curated and steeped in history, it was delightful just to wander around. Afternoon tea is, of course, a must. Thank you for having us and for handling our American Express Fine Hotels & Resort booking with so much understanding!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dollies,
Thank you so much for your incredibly kind review! I'm delighted you had such a great time at the Nellie, and that the team looked after you. Please do revisit us soon.

Kind regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay. Excellent rooms and dining but the staff make it special.
Anwar in parking walked us to and from our restaurant one evening, just for his concern for our safety.
The concierge desk including Wellington, Andria, Kimberly, and Nawaal worked a couple of days to get a particular dinner reservation for our large party while we were unavailable sight-seeing.
All the staff were excellent. We would look forward to staying there again.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris S,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Nellie, and that our team provided excellent care during your stay.
We have shared your compliments with Anwar, Wellington, Andria, Kimberly, and Nawaal. We appreciate your visits and look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.

Best regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff makes you feel at home. Each employee is a perfect ambassador of service, efficiency and great tradition of hospitality. Perfection without being pretentious.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eitan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eitan S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for embracing our hotel's tradition. I am delighted that our team made you feel comfortable during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for another unpretentious and perfect experience.

Warm regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Outstanding in every way. The best way to begin a holiday in SA. I would recommend this to all of my friends and acquaitances.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dzechman332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear dzechman332,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had a great stay at Mount Nelson. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is exceptional in every way. The attention to detail in all aspects of cleanliness. The grounds were spectacular- only wish we had more time to explore the property. But the standout of all is the staff & their attentiveness to their guests from start to finish.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juliep00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear juliep00l,

Thank you for your kind review and feedback. I am delighted you had a wonderful time at the Nellie and appreciate your words of appreciation.
We look forward to serving you with the same level of hospitality on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews