We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mary B
Dublin, Ireland

Stress free.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2024
This was the perfect place to stay while we got to know Caprtown.
Lovely rooms, overlooking the pool. Loved the pool. I could look out the window to see when no-one was in and hop down. I would suggest getting the breakfast a la carte. I would go down and choose something simple- poached egg and spinach, a cup of tea and a glass of orange juice/piece of fruit. Wonderful to taste fresh mangos . So nicer than what we get in our supermarkets. The Spa was spotless, again,not crowded. Hop into the steam room or sauna. The staff are wonderful, especially the Reception staff.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Think I would add a couple of days here to your trip if you want to relax.
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiago Moraes Sarmento, General Manager at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this review
Responded 20 Apr 2024
Thank you for your review marybW8195WM and we would love to welcome you back anytime!

Indeed, the Oasis wing is a special location to check out the pool and assess the movement!

Wish you an extraordinary 2024

Best regards

t

Tiago Sarmento
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 624
R 1 902
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 917
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 917
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 917
2.2 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 240
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 780
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 043
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 780
2.3 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 812
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 678
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 805
2.3 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
R 5 536
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 536
  • Destinia.com
    R 5 128
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 536
3.4 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 3 291
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 971
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 077
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 971
2.9 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 5 299
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 730
  • Destinia.com
    R 5 137
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 730
3.0 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 304
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 531
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 146
0.9 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Radissonhotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 449
  • Booking.com
    R 7 614
3.6 km from Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (2 641)
Filter reviews
2 641 results
Traveller rating
2 224
296
82
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 224
296
82
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea planet bar oasis restaurant pink lady tennis courts famous afternoon tea main building beautiful hotel junior suite oysters company gardens concierge desk luxury hotel south africa kloof street our honeymoon ellie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2 641 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2024

This is the most wonderful hotel with superb staff, we had the most incredible time. The food was lovely and the afternoon tea was sensational ,well worth booking it. The pools were lovely and gardens were a delight. The little extra treats in the bedroom at night were a lovely touch. It was simply a first class stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nantwichbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Dear Nantwichbug,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us! We are thrilled you had a first class stay at the Nellie. Your kind words of appreciation mean a lot to us, and we sincerely appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

I wasn't sure if the value would be worth the price because we had so many plans to be outside the hotel- but we decided to give one day to downtime and were blown away by the awesome workout room, great pool, billiard room and food! The breakfast buffett is incredible. I can't think of what else they could add and the setting is classic and beatiful. Our beds and rooms were connected and very clean. They love giving the extras- like pillow spray, a glasses cleaner, a plant in our room, etc! Great attention to details! Would definitely return and stay there.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theconciergemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear theconciergemom,

I wanted to say a huge thank you for sharing your beautiful experience with us! It's so wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Nellie and appreciated our service and amenities.
Your kind words have truly made our day, and we can't wait to welcome you back soon for another unforgettable visit!

Warmest regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in this very beautiful hotel. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world but have never had this level of service and attention to detail as much as we received at the 'Nellie' . All the little extras such as the champagne on arrival and pink gin in our room with ice, at the ready, were very much appreciated. Every member of staff was so welcoming and genuinely concerned that we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. We can honestly say that the service was exceptional in every interaction! Thank you.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joanp628
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Dear Joan P,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel. Our team always strives to provide a warm and professional service to all our guests, and I'm delighted to know that we succeeded in doing so for you.
Your kind words of appreciation mean a lot to us. We look forward to your next stay.
Warm regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Excellent experience here! This hotel is absolutely faultless . From the moment i stepped into the establishment i was met by very welcoming and very professional staff. They were very helpful and made the experience even more pleasant. The piano guy in the lobby amazing! The staff in the lounge or lobby amazing and not to mention the staff at Oasis. The way they received us was so beautiful. The cocktails served by the barman and the food served by the chief was too good! By far my best hotel experience in Cape Town!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigate28941095737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Dear Navigate28941095737,
Thanks for sharing your amazing experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our team strives to provide a warm and professional welcome to all our guests, and I'm glad we did that for you.

It's great to know you enjoyed the live piano music in the lobby and the service you received at Oasis. Our barman and chef will be happy to hear you enjoyed their cocktails and food.

Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another fantastic stay!

Warm regards,

Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2024

The Mount Nelson is without doubt our favorite hotel in Africa. From the friendliness of the staff, to the facilities to the cleanliness and style of the rooms. The beds are large, the towels are fluffy and the room lighting just right.

This is why we stay at least six times a year, for the past 19 years, not only in summer, but also in winter, when despite the cooler weather the hotel has a warmth and cosiness to it. I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel over all the other hotels in Cape Town.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus Kallweit, Other at Mount Nelson, A Belmond Hotel, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Dear LuganoPirate,
Thank you for your kind review and your loyalty to our Nellie.
We hope to welcome you back for many, many years to come!

Best regards,
Klaus Kallweit
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews