We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 819)
Filter reviews
1 819 results
Traveller rating
1 503
232
61
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 503
232
61
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews planet restaurant high tea oasis restaurant pink lady famous afternoon tea chef's table tennis courts colonial hotel finger sandwiches grand dame table mountain grand old lady main building junior suite company gardens this wonderful hotel oysters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1 819 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay at the Mount Nelson. We weren't sure whether to stay here or at one of the top-end hotels on the waterfront, but opted for tradition and weren't disappointed. The staff was very professional and friendly, the grounds and rooms were beautifully maintained, and we'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kriskoziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your four day stay with us and we too are delighted that you chose our hotel for its heritage and tradition (as well as our great location) rather than a Waterfront property. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We were staying nearby and was recommended tea at the Mount Nelson. So our first night in Cape Town we went for the evening High Tea. It is an old colonial hotel and we were seated outside overlooking the beautiful courtyard. We had a bottle of champagne to commence, then a great assortment of teas and savoury snacks. Finally there were lovely desserts. We were completely full with all the food and drink we had. Service was good but a little slow, however there was no rush to finish. A lovely experience at a hotel which made us feel we had stepped back in time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovey review of our hotel and our Evening Tea - we do agree that sitting outside on the expansive terrace overlooking our gardens on a balmy autumn evening is hard to beat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I found the service in the hotel lacking. One doorman who often was not available, A front desk staff that tried to be accommodating, but found it difficult to understand special requests, and two people at the concierge station who could not give good directions to the Jewish Museum which was located about 6 blocks away.

Unlike the Cape Grace, there are no hotel limos. Cabs are available, but it is a step down from the service provided at the Cape Grace. The journey from our room to the building housing the gym was long, convoluted and poorly lit.

We stayed because of the history of the hotel, but would have been better seved elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pages-Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you were very happy with our location as well as the rich heritage of the property. Please would you accept our profuse apologies for the disappointing service you experienced at the front desk and concierge - it most certainly is not indicative of the level of service we aspire to at our hotel. We do have our own on-site chauffeur service which offers a wide variety of vehicles for your transport requirements. We have taken note of your comment about the lighting near the gym, thank you for sharing this with us, and we will be looking at improving it in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The hotel certainly lived up to its reputation. The hotel is beautiful and so well cared for.
We stayed in an annexe room which was well appointed with a lovely garden outside our doors. Bed was extremely comfortable and lovely touches such as pillow spray.
The service at the hotel was fantastic, breakfast exceptional such a wonderful choice.
We were lucky enough to enjoy the afternoon tea which was wonderful, a real treat and we felt good value for money compared to London.
Hotel is in a great position and is an oasis of calm in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisKent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

We are so delighted that we lived up to your high expectations, and that you noticed little touches such as the pillow spray. Even happier are we that you truly felt we lived up to our description as "an oasis of calm in the city".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in Cape Town Central, which is in a great location with beautiful surrounds, which are a bit like Beverly Hills, and with fantastic views. The interior of this hotel is beautiful and clean. The room that we stayed in was lovely, clean, beautifully decorated with first class facilities. The bed was comfortable which resulted in heavenly sleeps. The service was excellent with some lovely, charming and delightful staff. The food was also of a good quality with a varied choice of tasty, fresh and natural food. Our daughter also loved this hotel and had a wonderful stay as well. Overall this was a very calm and relaxing stay at a beautiful hotel in stunning surrounds. We've had an amazing time in beautiful South Africa meeting some wonderful people, learning about different cultures, dining in some great restaurants, visiting some amazing and stunning tourist attractions. In life it is always easy to say hello but very difficult to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 811michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

What a lovely story and a beautifully written review. Thank you so much for your compliments on our fabulous location (we definitely agree with you), our super-comfortable beds and our charming staff. We are delighted that you felt so calm and relaxed and happy whilst staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews