We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$366
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$241
US$155
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$1 069
US$611
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$705
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$464
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 727)
Filter reviews
1 727 results
Traveller rating
1 423
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 423
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1 727 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

While the Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a lovely property with very good service, the room was rather lacking. In order to have a television and yet not (apparently) make it gauche, there is a large box in the middle of the floor at the foot of the bed out of which the television rises. It took up so much space and was such a detraction from the room, that I gave the hotel and average rating. I would have much preferred to either not have a TV or simply have had it mounted on the wall. Even having the TV in a cabinet on the wall would have been a better choice. One could have pretended the TV wasn't there by simply keeping the cabinet doors closed, if that in face was the goal.

It is well situated, and overall a lovely place, but I found the "box" to be quite off-putting.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cbg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, its location and gardens and the good service from the staff. We apologise for the off-putting television box at the foot of the bed. Not all of the rooms have this configuration and we can understand how it might not be to everyone's taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Had a great experience at The Chefs Table at The Mount Nelson

Starting with a martini on the veranda which was lovely

Loved being in the kitchen and seeing all the chefs in action

We had 8 different courses all prepared,presented and explained by the young chefs including the only girl in the team. They showed lots of passion for their food and were great ambassadors for the hotel abd Exec Chef

Dishes included oysters,trout, sorbet,salad,chicken,lamb and a lovely chocolate & peanut dessert

Wine list is great

Service was professional and friendly

We enjoyed the whole experience - which was 4.5 hours and thought overall very good value for such an experience

Worth a visit if in Cape Town

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

We are delighted that you too are a fan of our Chef's Table restaurant in the heart of the hotel kitchens. It is indeed quite special to be invited "behind the scenes" of a busy working kitchen, meet the chefs, and enjoy exquisite cuisine.Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed one of the best afternoon teas ever at iconic Capetown hotel. The selection of savouries was served to table and then a buffet style serving of an amazing selection of cakes. The building itself is colonial in style, beautifully maintained and with gorgeous surrounding gardens.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you so much for your compliments on our Afternoon Tea and our beautiful gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This was our first stop on a 2-week tour of southern Africa--and a much-appreciated quiet and cool retreat from the January heat and from jet-lag. Wonderful food, beautiful gardens, and the most helpful staff I've ever seen!
The concierge was always good at finding restaurant reservations--or the closest ATM.
And the bar service was top-notch.
Luckily, we were there before the city runs out of water!

Room Tip: Wonderful view of the city at dawn from the 4th floor, facing the gardens and fountain.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluegrassGuy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Luckily, it seems that the city is no longer predicted to run out of water, so please do visit us again. Thank you so much for the lovely compliments on your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

After a long queue at passport control it was great to get back to one of the world's great hotels.
Josey checked me in and although my usual room was not available I had a beautiful 1 bedroom suite with a lovely seating area.
Marlene is a gem,she unpacked while I was lying by the pool!If there is a better unpacker and re-packer anywhere they must be truly outstanding.
After a nap by the pool I had another snooze as Kelly got rid of all the knots from the long flights with a beautiful relaxing massage!
After a short shower as we are conscious that the city is short of water it was time to visit Benny Ricardo and Chantel in the bar.The hotel has reightly taken the plugs from the baths for the time being.Of course,if you have medical reasons for needing a bath I am sure they will restore it.I used bottled water to brush my teeth wash my hands and rinse the sink in the room.
At present these minor adjustments do not impinge on the stay.Back to the bar, this is always great fun,a bon mot and a joke with Benny is always great fun.
The champagne flutes are chilled and the nibbles are fresh.
After a dinner in town it is great to retire a really comfy bed.This is the most important requirement of any hotel,as this is where you refresh.The only problem is that it makes it hard to get up and get to the gym in the morning!!!
The gym is spacious and the equipment is excellent,it also affords beautiful views of the mountain and the grounds.
Breakfast is a highlight here sitting on the terrace is a real joy.Margaret who is sadly retiring this year makes sure croissants are warm,tea and juices are brought.There is nothing that they will not make for you here!
An hour or longer over breakfast is a real treat in normally busy lives.
The concierge is finally settling down after a lot of changes of the last 2 years,
Keith,Mandesi,Nicole ,Vass, Sasha and of course the humorous Megan are getting it right.Anyone who knows me will know that Jo-anne,Althea and Melissa will be tough acts to follow.#The good news is they are precise,efficient and really friendly.
Of course a well run hotel always has good people at the top Xavier and Joey are a great team.Joey is hard working and always around to tease about some sporting defeat by England!!!
They have added an excellent new operations manager who is friendly,and happy to find out your views.
This is is a brilliant place to stay,I am so lucky,
Thank you all!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of just how happy you are staying with us and for mentioning by name those staff who really stand out for you, and who make your visit that much more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews