We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 817)
Filter reviews
1 817 results
Traveller rating
1 501
232
61
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 501
232
61
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews planet restaurant high tea oasis restaurant pink lady famous afternoon tea chef's table tennis courts colonial hotel finger sandwiches grand dame table mountain grand old lady main building junior suite company gardens this wonderful hotel oysters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1 817 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stopped at the Planet bar in Mount Nelson for lunch. The whole place oozes old world charm from the moment the doormen in bowler hats take your car keys and show you into the lobby.
Everything was perfect. Food, given it was the bar we were eating in, was excellent, accompanied with friendly and efficient service. We ended up spending nearly 3 hours enjoying the food and strolling in the gardens. A proper "Out of Africa" -setting in every way. If you love modern and funky, stay away :-) if you value good old fashioned service, charming surroundings and good food, this place is a must! With the usual caveat, not cheap!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We love your review, thank you so much, and we are delighted that you found everything to be so charming and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We arrived at the hotel without a reservation,the very courteous doorman managed to get us a table,the ambience of the hotel was outstanding,the choice of tea was very impressive,the food was superb,there was also a vast buffet of desserts etc which you could help yourself to,the staff were very accommodating ,courteous and cheerful,at one point I did comment the overall presentation and food was far superior to Cunard afternoon tea,The grounds are immaculate ,it would be a wonderful place to stay

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JeanInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

What a lovely review of our hotel and Afternoon Tea service, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

The Chef's table, Wow what an experience, such passionate chef's presenting beautiful food, that was not only delicious , but exciting.
The junior sommelier was knowledgable funny and friendly, I have not spent an evening with so many pleasant surprises.
Well done Mount Nelson chef's,
Can not wait to go back....
Carole Muncaster. Somerset West.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your Chef's Table experience - we are delighted that you had such an exciting experience full of pleasant surprises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

The Reception Staff are welcoming. The Hotel is is located about 15 minutes ride from the Waterfront. One lacks the seaview and the walk long the seafront but they offer a car service to the Waterfront, This is offset by a beautiful large garden with lovely swimming pool and they serve good food at poolside and one can eat at the Buffet next to the pool if preferred. One has a good view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head from the Hotel.The air conditioned room I had was large and very comfortable. There was a lot of drawer space and I also had as requested a Nespresso machine in the room.The Wifi worked very well and there is Wifi at the pool and everywhere in the hotel. The lighting in the room was good which is important to me and all lights can be controlled from the bed.They have a famous Tea in the afternoon with a wonderful selection of assorted pastries. Staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: The Cottages are really lovely
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review on your stay at our hotel, and your compliments on your room, the cuisine, the views and the service from the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Booked for the jazz brunch and not dissapointed,service was brilliant food was excellent and the jazz superb,if you want a leisurely Sunday afternoon this is the place,and an added bonus was seeing the horse racing legend Lester Piggott.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank peter_felsing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We are delighted that you so enjoyed the Jazzy Sunday Lunch at the Oasis Bistro and ... you just never know who you might spot here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews