We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in the land the time forgot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at the Planet bar in Mount Nelson for lunch. The whole place oozes old world charm from the moment the doormen in bowler hats take your car keys and show you into the lobby.
Everything was perfect. Food, given it was the bar we were eating in, was excellent, accompanied with friendly and efficient service. We ended up spending nearly 3 hours enjoying the food and strolling in the gardens. A proper "Out of Africa" -setting in every way. If you love modern and funky, stay away :-) if you value good old fashioned service, charming surroundings and good food, this place is a must! With the usual caveat, not cheap!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We love your review, thank you so much, and we are delighted that you found everything to be so charming and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1 682 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel without a reservation,the very courteous doorman managed to get us a table,the ambience of the hotel was outstanding,the choice of tea was very impressive,the food was superb,there was also a vast buffet of desserts etc which you could help yourself to,the staff were very accommodating ,courteous and cheerful,at one point I did comment the overall presentation and food was far superior to Cunard afternoon tea,The grounds are immaculate ,it would be a wonderful place to stay

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean Innes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a lovely review of our hotel and Afternoon Tea service, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Chef's table, Wow what an experience, such passionate chef's presenting beautiful food, that was not only delicious , but exciting.
The junior sommelier was knowledgable funny and friendly, I have not spent an evening with so many pleasant surprises.
Well done Mount Nelson chef's,
Can not wait to go back....
Carole Muncaster. Somerset West.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your Chef's Table experience - we are delighted that you had such an exciting experience full of pleasant surprises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Reception Staff are welcoming. The Hotel is is located about 15 minutes ride from the Waterfront. One lacks the seaview and the walk long the seafront but they offer a car service to the Waterfront, This is offset by a beautiful large garden with lovely swimming pool and they serve good food at poolside and one can eat at the Buffet next to the pool if preferred. One has a good view of Table Mountain and Lion's Head from the Hotel.The air conditioned room I had was large and very comfortable. There was a lot of drawer space and I also had as requested a Nespresso machine in the room.The Wifi worked very well and there is Wifi at the pool and everywhere in the hotel. The lighting in the room was good which is important to me and all lights can be controlled from the bed.They have a famous Tea in the afternoon with a wonderful selection of assorted pastries. Staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: The Cottages are really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review on your stay at our hotel, and your compliments on your room, the cuisine, the views and the service from the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for the jazz brunch and not dissapointed,service was brilliant food was excellent and the jazz superb,if you want a leisurely Sunday afternoon this is the place,and an added bonus was seeing the horse racing legend Lester Piggott.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank peter_felsing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted that you so enjoyed the Jazzy Sunday Lunch at the Oasis Bistro and ... you just never know who you might spot here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
2,6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 737 reviews
3,3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
3,6 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
3,6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 5 431 - R 10 171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing