We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$149
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$244
US$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$973
US$670
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
US$266
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 727)
Filter reviews
1 727 results
Traveller rating
1 423
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 423
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1 727 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

During our sightseeing tour on New Year’s Day, we wanted to experience the hotel as we have heard so much about it. So we came to the Oasis restaurant for breakfast.
Seeing several hotel staff with different uniforms on, I asked the first employee with name tag (Black and white uniform) if they serve buffet and A La Carte. “Sorry I don’t know” was the reply. I asked a lady in green and brown uniform and was told “ let me get u someone”. Really, no staff working in restaurant knows what is being served? Remove their name tags then.
Kylie then finally recognized we were lost and needed guidance so offered us a table and we ordered our drinks and a la carte breakfast.

Needless to say, 45 min wen by and we only got coffee and orange juice. Asking several employees where was our breakfast, we were told, you need to ask Margaret. We never met Margaret while we waited the entire hour. No one asked us if we were ok. Every person we asked, didn’t know what to ask. Your employees with the suits on in the restaurants (I assume management) should stop standing around with their arms folded and start looking after your customers.
We left with out eating and went to the High Tea Lounge and ordered coffee and breakfast. Again, 35 min later we received our breakfast.
For a 5 star hotel, your customer service is pathetic. We thought of looking at your hotel for a wedding destination as we visited many other hotels and vineyards for our big day. Anyhow, your employees with name tags who knows nothing about the services you offer, made our choice easier. We will definitely not recommend your restaurants. I trust you will work on fixing your customer service in your restaurants. It seriously needs work.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DB0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the very disappointing first impression and experience that you have encountered. During this time of the year and especially on New Years day, with an excess of 400 guests at the hotel we generally limit our breakfast service in Oasis Bistro to in-house guests only. On this morning we also experience an early rain shower that created more pressures with the volume of in-house guests that also arrived and limited seating capacities.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel as we do wish for an opportunity for us to rectify on your first experience.

Best regards,
Johann L. Badenhorst
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Booked accommodation really late in the year and the mount Nelson was the last available 5 star hotel so I was a little worried. Well my high expectations were exceeded. Newly renovation superior room was as big as some suites in other cities. Fabulous breakfast and high tea. Room service was reasonable and above average. Lovely staff. Only suggestion is to revamp the planet restaurant...a little out of place stylistically. Chef and staff still great though.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for letting us know that your high expectations were exceeded and we are delighted that you loved the new rooms that have recently been redecorated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

I love it.
Enjoy your time on the terrace with great food serviced with so many different fantastic teas.
Cucumber, egg and salmon sandwiches, scones, pastry, cookies... I want to get more! We booked it again:-)
Real British style in the sun of Cape Town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank wallmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your review on our Morning Tea service and we are delighted that you have booked again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

The tea and setting cannot be surpassed. Our waiter was more than kind, knowledgeable, welcoming and professional. The setting is absolutely lovely. You feel as though you are in another century. Really worth a visit to this beautiful historical hotel. The gardens are lovely

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you sensed the rich heritage of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Really great hotel. Beautiful grounds and pools, comfy spacious rooms, very clean, great food and drinks selection. Staff are welcoming and attentive. Well located next to lots of great bars and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank KateLG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much, we are delighted that you had such a good time at our hotel and that you appreciated our location next many of the city's great restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews