We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always Fantastic to return to Mount Nelson.
It always feels like our Home away from Home.
The daily chat with the gardeners who makes the
amazing job of looking after this garden year after year
is a part of the day during our stay. Excellent staff all over !
The atmosphere, the cleanless - no need to leave the
Hotel during the stay - just bee there and relaxe !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We do agree with you that one doesn't need to leave the hotel to enjoy a relaxing holiday in Cape Town, especially as it is so tranquil in the beautiful gardens, however it is also nice to know that should you take a few steps out of the property, you will find yourself in a very vibrant and attractive part of Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1 648 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

During our sightseeing tour on New Year’s Day, we wanted to experience the hotel as we have heard so much about it. So we came to the Oasis restaurant for breakfast.
Seeing several hotel staff with different uniforms on, I asked the first employee with name tag (Black and white uniform) if they serve buffet and A La Carte. “Sorry I don’t know” was the reply. I asked a lady in green and brown uniform and was told “ let me get u someone”. Really, no staff working in restaurant knows what is being served? Remove their name tags then.
Kylie then finally recognized we were lost and needed guidance so offered us a table and we ordered our drinks and a la carte breakfast.

Needless to say, 45 min wen by and we only got coffee and orange juice. Asking several employees where was our breakfast, we were told, you need to ask Margaret. We never met Margaret while we waited the entire hour. No one asked us if we were ok. Every person we asked, didn’t know what to ask. Your employees with the suits on in the restaurants (I assume management) should stop standing around with their arms folded and start looking after your customers.
We left with out eating and went to the High Tea Lounge and ordered coffee and breakfast. Again, 35 min later we received our breakfast.
For a 5 star hotel, your customer service is pathetic. We thought of looking at your hotel for a wedding destination as we visited many other hotels and vineyards for our big day. Anyhow, your employees with name tags who knows nothing about the services you offer, made our choice easier. We will definitely not recommend your restaurants. I trust you will work on fixing your customer service in your restaurants. It seriously needs work.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DB0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the very disappointing first impression and experience that you have encountered. During this time of the year and especially on New Years day, with an excess of 400 guests at the hotel we generally limit our breakfast service in Oasis Bistro to in-house guests only. On this morning we also experience an early rain shower that created more pressures with the volume of in-house guests that also arrived and limited seating capacities.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel as we do wish for an opportunity for us to rectify on your first experience.

Best regards,
Johann L. Badenhorst
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked accommodation really late in the year and the mount Nelson was the last available 5 star hotel so I was a little worried. Well my high expectations were exceeded. Newly renovation superior room was as big as some suites in other cities. Fabulous breakfast and high tea. Room service was reasonable and above average. Lovely staff. Only suggestion is to revamp the planet restaurant...a little out of place stylistically. Chef and staff still great though.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for letting us know that your high expectations were exceeded and we are delighted that you loved the new rooms that have recently been redecorated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love it.
Enjoy your time on the terrace with great food serviced with so many different fantastic teas.
Cucumber, egg and salmon sandwiches, scones, pastry, cookies... I want to get more! We booked it again:-)
Real British style in the sun of Cape Town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank wallmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review on our Morning Tea service and we are delighted that you have booked again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The tea and setting cannot be surpassed. Our waiter was more than kind, knowledgeable, welcoming and professional. The setting is absolutely lovely. You feel as though you are in another century. Really worth a visit to this beautiful historical hotel. The gardens are lovely

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you sensed the rich heritage of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
2,6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 708 reviews
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 394 reviews
3,6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 823 reviews
2,5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R5 587 - R10 089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing