We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Cadogan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
More Quarters Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ikhaya Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Town Hollow(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 727)
Filter reviews
1 727 results
Traveller rating
1 423
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 423
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1 727 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

I love it.
Enjoy your time on the terrace with great food serviced with so many different fantastic teas.
Cucumber, egg and salmon sandwiches, scones, pastry, cookies... I want to get more! We booked it again:-)
Real British style in the sun of Cape Town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank wallmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your review on our Morning Tea service and we are delighted that you have booked again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

The tea and setting cannot be surpassed. Our waiter was more than kind, knowledgeable, welcoming and professional. The setting is absolutely lovely. You feel as though you are in another century. Really worth a visit to this beautiful historical hotel. The gardens are lovely

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you sensed the rich heritage of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Really great hotel. Beautiful grounds and pools, comfy spacious rooms, very clean, great food and drinks selection. Staff are welcoming and attentive. Well located next to lots of great bars and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank KateLG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much, we are delighted that you had such a good time at our hotel and that you appreciated our location next many of the city's great restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Love this hotel! Super nice in every touch point. Nice comfortable room. Brilliant pool side breakfast with champagne and famous high tea! Nice ambience it was like going back in time 50 years and Audrey will walk in the cafe any min.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sing Hee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and we are delighted that it conjured such pleasantly nostalgic moments for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

I lived in that hotel from 7th till 19th december - its just fantastic - from the conditions in room through breakfast and entire hotel service - loved it! And the best thing about this place is that its placed close to the famous restaruant Nellsons Steak Eye !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank mendrysteadicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandBManagerJB, Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed all we had on offer.
Best regards,
Johann L. Badenhorst
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews