We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Superb luxurious hotel in Cape Town with staff as pleasant and friendly as I have ever come across . From the door staff,to reception to bar to breakfast staff, all excellent . Food excellent and the bedrooms beautifully finished and beds so comfortable.

Joey Michael the guest relations manager went out of his way to organise everything and his recommendations were all superb from golf courses to restaurants , what an asset he is to this hotel.

The welcome the staff gave obviously comes from the top, as the hotel manager Xavier was always there with a smile on his face and time to speak to his guests.

Will definitely be back and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank hmp518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

What a lovely review and we would particularly like to thank you for all the compliments on our staff, it truly means a great deal to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 1 679 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed at the Mount Nelson for our 15th wedding anniversary in 2013 and it exceeded all expectations. The luxurious room, setting, and staff were outstanding. Beautiful property, beautiful views. Also had the tasting menu with wine pairing at the Planet Restaurant which was amazing. The sommelier was hugely entertaining. Am so looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlisonJoyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely memories - we do hope that we will even surpass them on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Order in advance - say a week, and you'll enjoy a really outstanding wheat free high tea - the best I've ever had. It was like a lunch, only better, as there were so many different small things. The green tea was also excellent and my friend loved the sparkling wine.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank KateCraneBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are delighted that you loved your gluten free high tea so much, and especially that you knew to order it at least a day in advance. We hope to see you here enjoying another one soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We did the evening high tea at the hotel. Absolutely stunning and delicious array of sweet things. The scones were awesomely fresh and tasted bliss. And last but not the least the tea was great. We tried the house blend and the orange spice. Both were extremely refreshing. Also the hotel staff is extremely polite and take care of you for the entire time you are there. The experience was great and completely worth each dime.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 897ravit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review of our Evening Tea service and we are so happy that you enjoyed the selection of teas as well as all the sweet and savoury treats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

If you like to have a Queen Elizabeth moment, this is for you! And I have to say I enjoyed it. Location and facilities are awesome. The garden in the middle of the city offers a relaxing time. The High Tea experience is a must. The rooms are at international standards.... personnally I would have liked something more south african, but nothing to complain about.

If you can afford it, go for it!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank donotfeedthebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your review, in fact yes Queen Elizabeth did celebrate her 21st birthday here with a cocktail reception in the Sherwood Room (then Jubilee Room) before going to the ball at the City Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
2,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 146 reviews
2,6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 733 reviews
3,3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 861 reviews
3,6 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
3,6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 5 339 - R 10 387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing