We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 855)
Filter reviews
1 855 results
Traveller rating
1 530
238
63
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 530
238
63
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews planet restaurant high tea oasis restaurant pink lady chef's table tennis courts colonial hotel grand dame grand old lady table mountain main building junior suite company gardens oysters concierge desk wonderful hotel south africa
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 1 855 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed at the Mount Nelson for our 15th wedding anniversary in 2013 and it exceeded all expectations. The luxurious room, setting, and staff were outstanding. Beautiful property, beautiful views. Also had the tasting menu with wine pairing at the Planet Restaurant which was amazing. The sommelier was hugely entertaining. Am so looking forward to going back.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlisonJoyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely memories - we do hope that we will even surpass them on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Order in advance - say a week, and you'll enjoy a really outstanding wheat free high tea - the best I've ever had. It was like a lunch, only better, as there were so many different small things. The green tea was also excellent and my friend loved the sparkling wine.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank KateCraneBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are delighted that you loved your gluten free high tea so much, and especially that you knew to order it at least a day in advance. We hope to see you here enjoying another one soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We did the evening high tea at the hotel. Absolutely stunning and delicious array of sweet things. The scones were awesomely fresh and tasted bliss. And last but not the least the tea was great. We tried the house blend and the orange spice. Both were extremely refreshing. Also the hotel staff is extremely polite and take care of you for the entire time you are there. The experience was great and completely worth each dime.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 897ravit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review of our Evening Tea service and we are so happy that you enjoyed the selection of teas as well as all the sweet and savoury treats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

If you like to have a Queen Elizabeth moment, this is for you! And I have to say I enjoyed it. Location and facilities are awesome. The garden in the middle of the city offers a relaxing time. The High Tea experience is a must. The rooms are at international standards.... personnally I would have liked something more south african, but nothing to complain about.

If you can afford it, go for it!

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank donotfeedthebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your review, in fact yes Queen Elizabeth did celebrate her 21st birthday here with a cocktail reception in the Sherwood Room (then Jubilee Room) before going to the ball at the City Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I came here for their afternoon high tea. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Absolutely amazing and a great deal (when converted into USD). The hotel grounds are beautiful. Absolutely worth it!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RMNH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews