We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 740)
Filter reviews
1 740 results
Traveller rating
1 437
221
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 437
221
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 1 740 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed at the Mount Nelson for our 15th wedding anniversary in 2013 and it exceeded all expectations. The luxurious room, setting, and staff were outstanding. Beautiful property, beautiful views. Also had the tasting menu with wine pairing at the Planet Restaurant which was amazing. The sommelier was hugely entertaining. Am so looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlisonJoyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely memories - we do hope that we will even surpass them on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Order in advance - say a week, and you'll enjoy a really outstanding wheat free high tea - the best I've ever had. It was like a lunch, only better, as there were so many different small things. The green tea was also excellent and my friend loved the sparkling wine.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank KateCraneBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We are delighted that you loved your gluten free high tea so much, and especially that you knew to order it at least a day in advance. We hope to see you here enjoying another one soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We did the evening high tea at the hotel. Absolutely stunning and delicious array of sweet things. The scones were awesomely fresh and tasted bliss. And last but not the least the tea was great. We tried the house blend and the orange spice. Both were extremely refreshing. Also the hotel staff is extremely polite and take care of you for the entire time you are there. The experience was great and completely worth each dime.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 897ravit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for this lovely review of our Evening Tea service and we are so happy that you enjoyed the selection of teas as well as all the sweet and savoury treats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

If you like to have a Queen Elizabeth moment, this is for you! And I have to say I enjoyed it. Location and facilities are awesome. The garden in the middle of the city offers a relaxing time. The High Tea experience is a must. The rooms are at international standards.... personnally I would have liked something more south african, but nothing to complain about.

If you can afford it, go for it!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank donotfeedthebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for your review, in fact yes Queen Elizabeth did celebrate her 21st birthday here with a cocktail reception in the Sherwood Room (then Jubilee Room) before going to the ball at the City Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I came here for their afternoon high tea. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Absolutely amazing and a great deal (when converted into USD). The hotel grounds are beautiful. Absolutely worth it!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RMNH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews