We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel with modern amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This classic hotel provided us with a spacious room and grand marble bathroom, an attentive staff, and a great selection of food for breakfast and high tea. We had lovely views of the fountains and gardens. The grounds were impressive and the swimming pools well kept. The hotel grounds were quiet and a good respite from the activities on the waterfront. There is a shuttle to and from the town. The staff was warm and welcoming and responded quickly to our requests. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others looking for a place that will provide great service and a peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Had a corner suite with a lot of sunlight and very quiet...with only a peaceful fountain to entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brie4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review on your stay at our hotel. We are so pleased that you loved your room, that the staff were so warm and attentive and that you enjoyed the cuisine on offer. We are also delighted that you found the grounds and the gardens to be so beautiful and tranquil, away from the busy'ness of the Waterfront and town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1 603 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Truly excellent experience throughout. The room was really nicely appointed, just perfect. Very kind staff.

We were there for my girlfriend's birthday, and the hotel comped a bottle of champagne and flowers.

We also enjoyed the on-site spa - that was more "ok", than excellent.

The on-site restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you loved your room, the staff as well as the restaurant, and we are very happy to have enhanced your experience with the gift of bubbles and flowers for your girlfriend's birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Every single staff member was alert, friendly, smart and well trained. I would stay in this hotel all time! Stunning environment, breakfast was early and lots of food. Bell staff was exceptional, concierge as well. I would stay here at a moments notice.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BestFriendsForever14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this review, we are happiest when we receive such positive compliments about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I recognize this is a "classic" hotel with a long history. However , for the price point , I felt my room was poorly maintained. The curtains are filthy , the headboard for the bed is gross and stained , numberous things like tile are broken , paint is chipped everywhere. My room had a box at the foot of the bed where a tv would come up and down out of the box when you wanted to watch. Well, the lift was broken. So it was either have the tv up permanently -- staring at you -- or no tv at all but a useless box in the center of the room taking up valuable space. I chose the useless box.
One of the mirror lights in the bathroom was flickering. When I asked for it to be fixed , they made it so the light just doesn't work at all. Not a great solution.
The staff is nice and polite and attentive all around.
The gym and pools are nice.
But really, most of the time at a hotel is spent in the room. And mine left a lot to be desired , especially for this price.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank reb6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Please would you accept our sincere apologies for the fact that your room was so poorly maintained. We alerted our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments immediately upon receiving your review alert so that they could rectify the problems in the room, however alas that was too late to make up for your disappointment whilst you were staying with us. We can only hope that there might be another opportunity for us to welcome you in a true Belmond Mount Nelson style. On a more positive note, we are happy that you found our staff to be polite and attentive and that you enjoyed the pool and gym.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were two couples. At reception we were warmly greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. The checking in process was seamless and efficiently executed. We were warmly greeted my one on the Senior Managers, Mr. Joey Michaels who escorted to our rooms. All staff were well trained in customer service and service came with a smile. We were welcomed by a lovely fruit basket and medium priced champagne.Our rooms 504 and 505 were perfect. The large lounge consisted of two doors leading to the ground floor balcony. The gardens are perfectly manicured and well maintained. The generously sized bed in the bed room and the beautiful bathroom was to make for a great weekend. The breakfast was world class. I enjoyed the decently equipped gym. All in all , a great overall experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeshprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how happy you were with the service from our staff as well as your "perfect" room with the oversized bed and beautiful bathroom. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2.7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2 095 reviews
2.6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 659 reviews
1.0 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 780 reviews
3.3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2 323 reviews
2.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R5 628 - R10 899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel is a timeless and authentic resort hotel located in the heart of Cape Town. With a unique legacy of service excellence based on authentic Cape hospitality, the hotel remains a destination of choice. The hotel's convenient location makes it easy for guests to explore the city centre and its surrounds, and some of South Africa's best beaches. The garden estate setting is an urban sanctuary, complete with two heated swimming pools, rolling lawns, a palm lined avenue and secluded Rose gardens which lend themselves to romance. The abundance of secure wide open space makes families feel at home and encourages children to run free and explore. Several distinctive accommodation wings offer a variety of 198 individually decorated, elegantly appointed rooms and suites. No two rooms are exactly the same, and each annexe offers unique views, mood and style. Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel has played host to countless weddings and milestone celebrations. The glamorous and contemporary Planet Bar and Restaurant offers guests a true South African gastronomic dinner experience, and the newly refurbished Oasis Bistro offers guests a Mediterranean inspired al fresco breakfast and lunch menu overlooking the family pool and gardens. A daily Afternoon Tea served in the hotel lounge is a signature and not to be missed experience. Extending the emphasis on pleasure is Librisa Spa - a destination day spa boasting eight oversized treatment and shower rooms, separate manicure and pedicure rooms, and a sun-splashed conservatory. Treatments are based on the healing power of touch and incorporate products containing local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing