We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LGBT Families Welcome - Above & Beyond Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

My partner and I booked a safari trip to South Africa and of course added a stop in Cape Town for a few days. We wanted to choose a place that was not only family friendly and also welcoming to the LGBT community. We received our standard welcome drink upon arrival and immediately felt welcomed. No odd looks or stares. We were thrilled to find his & his robes, slippers and a welcome envelope attached to our champagne bottle addressed to Mr Michael & Ryan when we checked into our room. These types of details are really what sets the Mount Nelson apart from from the rest. We settled in and headed down to afternoon tea - one of the most famous in the world... and we found out why (see pics). We were also treated to the most spectacular buffet breakfast each morning. The property has a beautiful main pool as well as an adults only pool. Their kids club is one of the best I've seen as well.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms in the main building are the best. They also have incredible family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CuratedGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you so much for this glowing review and we are delighted that you felt so welcome here. Thanks also for your compliments on our Afternoon Tea and our breakfast - it is so lovely to enjoy it al fresco overlooking the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 1 645 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

A family story led us to have lunch in the conservatory at the Belmond Mount Nelson, which in turn prompted our decision to eat in the Planet restaurant that evening. We were not disappointed and would happily dine there regularly if only we lived in Cape Town. A totally lovely room with well spaced tables and very charming service was enhanced by the very enjoyable and never intrusive live piano music.

I have yet to mention the food which is obviously the main event and did not disappoint. Great choices, followed up with appetising presentation and delicious food. Thank you Mount Nelson for living up to all our expectations

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DSP0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your dinner in Planet Restaurant. We are delighted that you loved the food, the charming service and Henry Dike's live piano music. We too wish you lived in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is great it's in the centre of everything. It has limited guests beautiful food and a lovely pool. The staff are great at English and are incredibly polite and welcoming. Not great for long stays but maybe three or so days and it's great. The rooms are huge.
Overall it's a beautiful hotel with beautiful people.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Torroreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your beautiful"" review. We do agree that the location is hard to beat and we are so pleased to hear that you think this is a beautiful hotel with beautiful people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Stayed in a Garden Cottage for 4 nights in mid June. Everything about it was what you would expect from a legendary hotel. We arrived from LA after 25 hours of flying at 9:30 at night. Our driver was right there, waiting for us and took us to the hotel. Our suite was perfect with a lovely living room, a great bathroom and a terrific bed. Lots of room. The grounds are beautiful, breakfast is wonderful, oysters for breakfast!
Most importantly, the staff is always prepared to help. I especially would like to mention the concierge, Mandisi, who went way above and beyond to solve a problem (completely unrelated to the Mount Nelson) with our luggage.
A great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you loved your Garden Cottage Suite, as well as oysters for breakfast. Mostly, we are so happy to hear how helpful you found our staff and we will be sure to pass on your compliment to Mandisi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We took afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson on our honeymoon. The food and warm snacks served were lovely. The cakes table had so much to choose from! Our waitress was so good and attentive and gave us a lovely little plate of extra sweets to take home as it was our honeymoon. The hotel grounds were beautiful as well. It's worth the indulgent visit!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Courtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

What a lovely post, thank you so much for your compliments on our sweet and savoury treats as well as your waitress and our beautiful gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
2,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
2,6 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 704 reviews
1 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,3 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 392 reviews
3,6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 819 reviews
2,5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R5 652 - R10 218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, in Cape Town’s buzzing heart. We invite you to relax in our iconic pink buildings, airy rooms and dreamy gardens. Enjoy imaginative local cuisine, nourishing spa treatments and eye-catching artworks. Captivating visitors since 1899, Cape Town’s iconic resort hotel is a tranquil hideaway just moments from the city’s buzzing heart. Our 198 individually designed rooms and suites and a host of fabulous facilities appeal equally to romantic couples, families or adventurous groups. Stroll through our expansive gardens, take a tree tour or browse the outdoor sculpture exhibition. Discover the hotel’s history, art and culture on self-guided tours. Enjoy imaginative cuisine in our restaurants and soothing bliss at the spa. Just beyond our gates lies the pulsating city, with stunning beaches and historic hotspots moments away. Forever watching over the hotel is Table Mountain, another wondrous Cape Town landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing