We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$975
US$949
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 757)
Filter reviews
1 757 results
Traveller rating
1 453
222
59
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 453
222
59
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplanet restauranthigh teaoasis restaurantpink ladyfamous afternoon teachef's tabletennis courtscolonial hotelgrand damegrand old ladytable mountainmain buildingjunior suitecompany gardensoystersconcierge deskwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 1 757 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

A family story led us to have lunch in the conservatory at the Belmond Mount Nelson, which in turn prompted our decision to eat in the Planet restaurant that evening. We were not disappointed and would happily dine there regularly if only we lived in Cape Town. A totally lovely room with well spaced tables and very charming service was enhanced by the very enjoyable and never intrusive live piano music.

I have yet to mention the food which is obviously the main event and did not disappoint. Great choices, followed up with appetising presentation and delicious food. Thank you Mount Nelson for living up to all our expectations

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DSP0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your dinner in Planet Restaurant. We are delighted that you loved the food, the charming service and Henry Dike's live piano music. We too wish you lived in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is great it's in the centre of everything. It has limited guests beautiful food and a lovely pool. The staff are great at English and are incredibly polite and welcoming. Not great for long stays but maybe three or so days and it's great. The rooms are huge.
Overall it's a beautiful hotel with beautiful people.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Torroreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your beautiful"" review. We do agree that the location is hard to beat and we are so pleased to hear that you think this is a beautiful hotel with beautiful people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Stayed in a Garden Cottage for 4 nights in mid June. Everything about it was what you would expect from a legendary hotel. We arrived from LA after 25 hours of flying at 9:30 at night. Our driver was right there, waiting for us and took us to the hotel. Our suite was perfect with a lovely living room, a great bathroom and a terrific bed. Lots of room. The grounds are beautiful, breakfast is wonderful, oysters for breakfast!
Most importantly, the staff is always prepared to help. I especially would like to mention the concierge, Mandisi, who went way above and beyond to solve a problem (completely unrelated to the Mount Nelson) with our luggage.
A great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you loved your Garden Cottage Suite, as well as oysters for breakfast. Mostly, we are so happy to hear how helpful you found our staff and we will be sure to pass on your compliment to Mandisi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We took afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson on our honeymoon. The food and warm snacks served were lovely. The cakes table had so much to choose from! Our waitress was so good and attentive and gave us a lovely little plate of extra sweets to take home as it was our honeymoon. The hotel grounds were beautiful as well. It's worth the indulgent visit!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Courtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

What a lovely post, thank you so much for your compliments on our sweet and savoury treats as well as your waitress and our beautiful gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Very comfortable hotel with a beautiful setting. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are 5 star. I think we had a standard room but it still had a huge bathroom, with large bath, separate toilet, heaps of bench space with double sink. The buffet breakfast was comprehensive and very good. The gym is small, but good. I had read previous reviews before I went about staff being rude. We had no problems at all. Staff were very polite and great to deal with. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabrielle_palmer, Public Relations Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you found our hotel setting to be so beautiful, the bathrooms so big, the breakfast buffet so delicious and the staff so great to deal with. We do hope we will have the pleasure of another visit from you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews